We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We cannot praise this hotel enough. The perfect location right opposite the beach and right next to the main street whilst being quiet and secluded.

The rooms were fantastic: sitting room, kitchenette with cooker and mini dishwasher, opening to the bedroom and a fabulous bathroom with a double bath. Doors open wide onto a private balcony overlooking 4 mile beach.

The pool area has many features fitting into a small space and with many sun loungers at various levels. An excellent breakfast is served here every morning. The Trade Winds restaurant offers high quality food at a reasonable price.

Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their staff. We booked trips and taxis through them with no trouble, all was simply added to our bill.

We cannot recommend this hotel enough. We would definately use it again.

BTW You must try the Tin Shed for eating whilst in Port Douglas

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear mikegr57,
Thank you for such a complimentary review! So pleased you enjoyed not only the location but the service and facilities we are so proud of. The Hi Tide Restaurant compliments the hotel with its beach and ocean views - definately the hidden gem of Port Douglas. We are often complimented on the high standard of full buffet breakfast we offer daily to all guests of the Hotel - a wide variety that is fresh and a great way to start your Port Douglas day.
Thanks again mikegr57 - we look forward to welcoming you back again to our beautiful part of the world.
The Management and staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    108
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
448
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel is across road from beach and close to main street of town. Fell asleep each night to the sounds of the ocean. Beautiful place to stay. Excellent staff and service. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms. Hear and see the ocean. Great breeze all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Carla C,
When visiting a coastal location on holidays, it is great to stay at a place when you can see, hear and feel the ocean. The open plan suites with the large sliding doors open up so "outside becomes part of inside" - so you can feel the breeze, see the white sands of 4 Mile Beach, gaze over the blue Coral Sea and relax into your beachside holiday. As we are the only Hotel in Port Douglas that can offer you this, we feel particularly pleased to read reviews such as yours that enjoy our location as much as we do. Your positive experience with the service is also appreciated and combined, I do hope it was the holidays that you were dreaming of.
Thanks for visiting us and please be sure to get in touch with us to plan your next beachside holiday
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is across the road from the beach (the only hotel that is) and right at the end of the main street with all the shops and restaurants. It is small so that you are know by name. They have packed a fantastic amount into a small area with pool, waterfall, hot tub and seating areas. The restaurant is good and you can sit out overlooking the sea. The rooms have an open plan feel - even the bathroom seems part of the bedroom - and most rooms overlook the sea. There is a fridge, microwave and dishwasher in the room and washing machine and tumble dryer (free to use with powder provided) in a separate room. Even fresh milk in the fridge every day! This is a great hotel to stay in to relax if you are on tour but it also means you can get to the Great Barrier Reef and the rainforest easily. Will definately go back there when next in Australia.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear swoowar,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the many extras that are standard when you stay with us at Peninsula Boutique Hotel. The hotel is a true Boutique experience - large enough to have all the facilities you expect when on holidays and the high standard of rooms and furnishings but small enough to the staff get to know you and your tastes so they can tailor the perfect holiday for you. Port Douglas is certainly the "launching pad" to enjoy the natural beauty of North Queensland and our little part of this is to endeavour to provide exceptional service and facilities.
We look forward to seeing you back in Australia and thank you for staying with us.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location, very close to centre of town but still very quiet and just across the road from the beach. A very warm welcome which included being shown the various facilities of both the hotel and the suite which was very spacious and well equipped. Restaurant was excellent quality and value. Overall a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Not sure whether all rooms have an ocean view (and the sea is across the road and largely obscured b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Andrew893,
It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed both the hotel and the Hi Tide restaurant. All of our team work so hard to ensure that all parts of your stay with us are memorable and it sounds like we achieved this with your stay.
Unlike other Hotels, one of our staff members personally escorts every guest to their room and not only assists with your luggage if you need it, but tours you through Hotel facilities and the inside of your room with you to ensure you know how to use the television to enjoy the digital and complimentary Cable channels, how to use the inroom safe, the personal stereo system, how to operate the twin bath or spa in your room and all the other features of the hotel and room. We believe this is the personal service that we can offer as a Boutique Hotel that others can't.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the time to sit and review us.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Most wonderful accommodation and experience at the Peninnsula. Had booked the Ultimate Indulgence Package and everything about it was 'Ultimate'. Best transport, food, service, location and tours. All arranged and managed for us by Sheryn and her very competent staff.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the penthouse had balconies on 3 sides. Overlooking the beach or the pool. Could have sun or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Geraldine3134,
So pleased you got to enjoy one of our great packages and the "Ultimate Indulgence Package" is certainly one full of spoils. We offer many packages that include our handpicked tours and indulgences that we organize all for you so you can just arrive and enjoy.
i am sure you would have enjoyed our private balcony table with a bottle of Mumm French Champagne with your handcraft 3 course dinner and private waitstaff for the evening - just one of the inclusions with this package. The Peninsula Suite with the balconies on all 3 sides is a massive room with personal spa, lounges and top floor ocean views - certainly worth the upgrade for a special occasion - anniversary, honeymoon or just a personal spoil!
So pleased Geraldine3134 we could organize the very best our region has to offer with this exclusive package - and so glad to hear you enjoyed it all.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We loved staying here and were sad to leave.

Right on the beach and at the end of the main shopping treat, it is a great location.

Our room ended up being a suite with massive bath, kitchenette, our own balcony and very well kitted out.

We enjoyed having breakfast by the pool, drinks and eats in the bar overlooking the beach and sunning ourselves around the pool. All staff we met were really helpful, cheery and keen to do anything they could to make our stay in Port Douglas enjoyable and hastle free e.g. recommended fabulous tours (in small groups with personal service), arranging for us to have a free late departure with full use of our room and posting our postcards.

We'd definitely return here and highly recommend it - thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite - pool side room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear AlisounTigger,
Its our pleasure to thank you in return for staying with us! Sounds like you had a great balance to your holidays of enjoying the great array of wonderful tours in our area to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest both on our doorsteps (amongst others) and also go to just unwind with a cheeky cocktail around our heated pool, Jazuzzi, submerged grotto or lap pool (all heated or cooled depending on the time of year:) Combined with a great stay should be great food and drinks - all supplied by our Hi Tide Restaurant. We endeavour to combine both "home style" menu items with cutting edge ModOz cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This allows guests who are tired of rich restaurant meals after travelling to enjoy some "comfort food" when away from home or alternatively, enjoy the great, modern talent of our innovative Chefs. The choice is yours!
Thanks again AlisounTigger - please do visit again for some more spoiling again one day.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Boutique Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Beachfront location, contemporary design, on site bar and restaurant, airport transfers from Cairns and hands-on proprietors ready to help with anything - what more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Hello Marion M,
We have so many more plans to implement that we face an exciting 2012 to build upon a Hotel we are already so proud of. All of our members from the Owners down are all "hands on" - the very best way to spoil our guests and make their stay with us memorable and personable. We believe a wonderful holiday is to combine a beautiful, clean and contemporary Hotel and then add staff who are friendly and genuinely interested in going above and beyond with anything they can do to make your stay with us "perfect".
Thank you Marion M- the team will be most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4½ star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise.Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy…All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel.As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink.To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station.Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings.The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 15 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.