We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On The Inlet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra On The Inlet to your Saves list
Mantra On The Inlet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

My husband and I spent a week here, we had originally booked a room but on arriving we were offered an upgrade. After viewing the room we decided on the apartment which was wonderful, each morning we sat on the balcony and had breakfast, the hotel is centrally located for all amenities, the reception is only manned during office hours so make sure if requesting information that you do it between 9-5. Definately the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

We had an excellent apartment. We were upgraded to a king bed , full living room and kitchen with laundry facilities and deck. The view was not great but the location was downtown and very convenient to reastaurants and shopping. We stayed 3 nights and would stay again. The staff was helpful arraning trips and with whatever you needed. We booked through Expedia during their slow season and got a good price relative to Australian prices in general.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2005

We stayed here in a one bedroom apartment for 6 nights during a month long holiday to Australia and it was by far the best accommodation we had. It was spotlessly clean and has absolutely everything you could need in a perfect location. It was very spacious and had a modern feel. I agree with the previous reviews that the pool was small but we only really used it to cool down in. Port Douglas is such a great town and has so much more to offer than Cairns.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

My wife and I spent a week here in Aug. 2005. A bit pricy (AUS$256) but worth it. The location could not be better - on the corner of Warf and Macrossan Street - facing the inlet. Across the street from the park (Sunday market here is not to be missed). Easy access to both the marina (for reef trips) and 4-mile beach (5 min. walk). Suggest avoiding the couple of rooms which face right onto Macrossan St. as they may be noisy. Our room was beautiful! We had a one-bedroom. Spotless, tropical motif, fabulous deck, two televisions, in-room jacuzzi, washer/dryer, microwave, refrigerator, etc. Second floor has better views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2004

The location is good and very central. It is very new and well equipped but the hotel room is just too small and the 'Balcony' is actually the corridor.
Either go for the apartment or go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2004

Location wise this hotel was great.. On Macrossan street and easy access to shops, restraunts and the beach.

The room was nicely furnished and quite modern with stainless steel kitchen and decent sized bathroom, our room also had a great balcony (1 bedroom apartment)

The hotel had a pool but honestly it isn't anything special.. just somewhere to cool off if the walk to the beach is too much!

Overall a great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2004

A nice property located in the center of Port Douglas. Rooms (ours was a one bedroom) were spacious and had washer/dryer, a big bed, and a whirlpool bathtub. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On The Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.