We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent backpackers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dougies Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dougies Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Dougies Backpackers Resort
111 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfer!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent backpackers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends camped at Dougies for two nights and have to say we loved it. Clean facilities, pool, hammocks, spacious kitchen and chilled out vibe overall made it a great stop we ended up staying a second night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    45
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
61
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Christmas and really had a great time. We were worn out from camping and were pleasantly surprised by the air-con in the room and how comfortable the beds were. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, so were the showers and bathrooms. The communal kitchen was always cleaned up but many of the guests had a hard time cleaning up after themselves. We used the grill and enjoyed catching a few movies. It was great way to finish up our trip. We ended up staying an extra night! Do check out Dougies!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Dougies for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Even though we were a couple of the oldest staying there we didn't feel uncomfortable. We even met the owner who bought us a drink. the staff were really pleased when we told them how we heard about Dougies here at home in Seattle. The reception service was great and helpful. We'll definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

i went to Dougies for a week and stayed 4 months.... living in the campsite was an amazing experience, The staff are all wonderful, the bar is always fun, the food in Zai cafe next door is cheap and delicious always, the bathrooms are clean and the showers are perfect! There's always a party if you fancy it, or a lazy day in a hammock if that's more your cup of tea. I am literally counting the days til i return, i don't know when but it will happen one day. All i can say is if you're passing by the area... head straight to Dougies bar and get yourself a jaegarbomb, then stay forever if you can!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I arrived in dougies on the 17th of sept and stayed until the 10th of Nov.
I booked a space on the FREE!!! dougies bus (fantastic). The scenic drive from Cairns to Port douglas was beautiful.
When i arrived at dougies and went to the reception to book in, the staff were very welcoming and helpful from the start.
I was shown to my room and a tour of the complex.
i spent close to 2 months at dougies, my time there was truly amazing not only because its located in PARADISE but because everyone is so helpful. I got to know many, many great people and got to know the staff very well who were always up for a laugh :-) (Susan,Mel,Lesley Dan).
The Hostel is set out in a very unique and laid back way it is so easy to relax they have everything you could want all under "one roof"
i spent alot of my time fishing as thats what i was there for, it was awesome! caught lots of species of fish i never seen or knew existed before. Caught sharks, GT's, Spanish Makeral and many more.
Dougies have a whole wall full of leaflets and brochures regarding all of the tours thats on offer throughout Port Douglas.
They have a pool which i spent a lot of time in :-) there is an on site restaurant called Zai. They served real good food and drinks hats off too the chef.
Dougies always had entertainment ranging from Live bands, Pool competitions even had a "Dougies got talent" evening which i just so happend to come joint first :-D
I could go on and on singing their praise!
You have to experience this hostel for your self to understand just how amazing it is.
I thank fellow backpackers and all the staff who made my time at Dougies a truly fantastic and enjoyable one.
I will without doubt be returning next year so watch out :-P
Regards.
Steve "The Fisherman" :-)

Room Tip: I cant really comment other than i stayed in room 2 and there was no problem what so ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reception staff were really friendly and helpful - we arrived late due to a balls up by Peterpan's Travel but the girl at the counter was fine and showed us to our rooms.

We stayed in a private double which had a fridge, tv and air con - ideal for the warm tropical nights. The toilet and shower stalls were clean, though there was the odd beer glass first thing in the morning before the cleaners did the rounds, however these promptly disappeared.

The bar forms the central hub with the kitchen and there was a friendly atmosphere at all times. We only cooked one meal (combination of being out on trips and lazy, lol).

Would definitely recommend - 5 minute walk to four mile beach and only 20 minute walk to town.

Room Tip: Private doubles come with air conditioning and a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at Dougies for 3 weeks before.I moved.into a house and had a ball. The bar is great, the atmosphere is great, the rooms are lovely with good storage and space. It is a little far from the main town area being a twenty minute walk, but its got everything you need there. The only downfall was the kitchen was always dirty, fault only lying within lazy backpackers however it could.be cleaned more often like most other Aussie hostels. The staff were all really friendly and easygoing bar one blonde girl at reception, think her name was Susan. She was constantly unhappy and snappy if you asked her something, never smiled and made the whole experience a little more disappointing considering the other staff are a pleasure to talk to. She was overheard giving out sayin she hated backpackers and dealing with people. Get another.job!!

Otherwise Dougies is a great great hostel and I would reccommend to anyone to stat for a bit...:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dougies Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dougies Backpackers Resort

Address: 111 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dougies is run by a bunch of us who had lots of fun backpacking around places of the world before, so we decided to start a hostel ourselves. We have the pretty relaxed atmosphere, without all of the formal procedures that some hostels have. Our philosophy is 'kick back and relax at Dougies'. We have all of the facilities that a fun loving backpacker could ever need, including a bar, refreshing swimming pool, free bbq facilities, shop (coke, ice-creams, chockies, etc), a huge self-cook kitchen, laundry, internet, satellite TV (really big one), hire bikes, fishing rods, tour desk and of course accommodation (doubles, twins, share rooms, camping, van sites and our own stylish canvas tents). But once you see our tropical gardens and cruisy front lawn you might just want to lay back and relax under a palm tree, kick back in a hammock, by the pool or you may even like to unwind on the grass and soak up some of the Far North's warm tropical sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Dougies Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dougies Backpackers Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dougies Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.