We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical escape. Will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Tropical Resort

Save Saved
You added Club Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Club Tropical Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   CNR. WHARF & MACROSSAN STREETS, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
NSW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tropical escape. Will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful resort on macrossin street. In the middle of town with a feeling of being more isolated. Our room didn't look over macrossin street so none of the street noise. The pool gets heaps of sun and feels very tropical. The apartment are comfortable and clean and private. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
25
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
GEELONG
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We first went to Club Tropical 16 years ago and it was state of the art. We have been back 7 times but now unfortunately the old girl is getting a bit run down. It is perfectly located and with a big pool but maintenance has slipped badly in some areas, but we still enjoy it. It is great value, make sure you ring and book direct and ask for one of the renovated rooms which are very good.

Room Tip: Book direct and ask for a renovated room, not one overlooking Marcross St which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed two nights at the apartment in June. Apartment was large compared to other apartments I stayed during my 12-day holiday in Cairns and surroundings. Very clean and modern, homely feel. Well-equipped kitchenette, which suited us as we had planned to do a bit of our own cooking. The apartment is also well located with shops and eateries nearby. Coles was just round the corner and it stocked everything we needed to cook our dinner. My experience there is certainly not like what I see in some of the photographs attached to the reviews given in this web site.
Will use the apartment again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne (Aus)
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Rooms are fine, could do with a bit of a refresh. Staff were friendly, and I had no issues. I have stayed many times in Port Douglas, and have seen better properties, but this one will do for a budget. Hey, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you don't mind doing your own dishes and taking out your own trash, this is a fantastic resort with an even better location. The staff was very friendly and the pool area is lovely. The pool area is surrounded by trees so it's private even though it's right next to the road. The pool itself is awesome! Yes, you can tell it's an older resort but it's been reasonably maintained. The rooms are very well maintained with modern furniture (2 sectionals in our room), balcony with kitchenette (love the fact you can cook outdoors), massive washroom and large flatscreen. The beach and St. Mary's by the Sea is just across the street. The marina is about a 5 minute walk so need to pay extra for shuttles if you want to explore the reef. Bottom line, if you want a hotel with daily maid service and super modern amenities, you won't like it. If you don't mind not having those little extras and want a nice place on a budget, this is a fantastic place to stay! I will be back and will recommend to my family and friends when they visit from overseas.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms on 3rd floor have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great location at the northern end of Macrossan St. Step out to Pubs and restaurants and a short stroll to the Marina for GBR cruising. Attitude of staff can be a little hit and miss which is a shame. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with nice balconies. The resort could do with a makeover but the position makes it an easy choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossman
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at this resort in 1992 for our wedding night. The resort then was just three years old and was a wonderful place to stay with its vibrant themed rooms. Today, 20 years on, it would seem that life has not treated this old lady too kindly. The pool and communal areas appeared tired and old and in need of a really good clean (someone had vomited by the pool and it lay there attracking flies going unnoticed by any of the resort staff),
Our room was like stepping back in time for us with the same furniture and fixtures and fittings as in 1992. The room was clean and tidy with comfortable bed but we were unfortunate to have on our first night some very noisy people in the room above us, who came in late and then stomped around and opened and closed doors very loudly until some ungodly hour of the morning.
Given that we paid a knock down price for our stay we could honestly say it was worth the money we spent and no more. If we had paid the normal advertised nightly rate I think I may have been a little disappointed.

This resort is in need of some serious money spending on it to bring it back to life as a lovely resort in a beautiful location. If you can get your accommodation for a knock down price and know in your head what you will get for your money, then it's position in Port Douglas can not be faulted.

Room Tip: choose a room that looks over the pool, they also have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tropical Resort

Address: CNR. WHARF & MACROSSAN STREETS, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tropical Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Club Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tropical Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.