We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port O'Call Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Port O'Call Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Port O'Call Eco Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Cnr Port Street & Craven Close, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hostel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hostel seems like a hotel! It's clean, relaxing, and beautiful. It's a 10 minute walk to town or the marina, 5 minute walk to the beach, and 2 minute walk to the bottle shop ;) The receptionist was extremely friendly and gave us his recommendation for which snorkelling company to go with. There's even a free shuttle to the airport (just be sure to book ahead!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
50
66
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lleida, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have spent some days in August in PortO’Call. It has been the best lodge in Australia for us. The price is really affordable, the rooms have good size, they are basic but they have all we need (coffee machine and are conditioning included) and are opne to a garden which is like a forest, and all places are really clean. The bistrop has good prices and delicious food. The swimming pool is in a beautiful small and quiet garden. The lodge is close to the centre of Port Douglas, to the huge (4 miles) and wonderful beach and to the Marina Dwarf. You can go walking to any place and it is a really save place. It has a free shuttle service to Cairns and the managers give you all type of explanations a bout the landscape, the plants, the region etc (all the staff is friendly and helpful). Port O’Call has free fast wifi which is not common in many places in Australia including high rate hotels in Sydney or Brisbane. The situation of the place is perfect to do trips to the Great Reef barrier, to Mosman, Daintree Forest. As soon as we returned to Australia we will return to this place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I recently stayed in Port O'Call during my trip to Australia and the place didn't disappoint. I booked the accommodation online and prior to arriving, Kiri (the Manager) helped me to arrange excursions; making my life much simpler. I found Port O'Call to be spotlessly clean, comfortable and welcoming. What's more, it is reasonably priced and is within easy reach of Port Douglas Centre. It's not bang in the town centre but it suited my needs perfectly - it was nice, quiet and relaxed. Apart from the nice ambiance in the premise, it also boasts an excellent restaurant. The day I arrived was a Tuesday and that night was the restaurant's Mexican night so I went along to that. I had fajitas and the food was so good that I also decided to eat there the next night, when I had the Thai curry - delicious. Australia is a long way away from home (I live in Ireland) but if I were to go back to Port Douglas then I would be very keen to stay in Port O'Call again and I would have no qualms recommending it to anybody else.

Room Tip: I chose to stay in a single room for the first two nights as I was jet-lagged and didn't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed here twice and would return because of the value for money, comfort, convenience and excellent service we received. Port O'Call is very convenient, about ten minutes walk from the town and about five minutes from the wharf.

We stayed in the colour coordinated deluxe rooms which open on to a lovely garden area where you can relax with a coffee made on the in room espresso machine. There's an on-site bistro which serves enormous meals and on Tuesday there's a Mexican night where all Mexican dishes are only$12 and drinks like Margaritas are $6 and beers are $4 - a real bargain, particularly as there's free wi-fi if you buy a meal We loved relaxing in the pool after a day sight-seeing and we received terrific service from the very helpful staff who assisted us with arranging car hire and organising sight seeing, even contacting the driver of the shuttle bus to Cairns to find out where to send personal items that we had left behind. A great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the bar and restaurant are quieter. We liked the rooms that opened out to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August 2013 with my 17 year old son.This place was so nice that I stayed three nights. The twin rooms were a decent size and had extras like a good TV in the room and even personal shampoos, soaps etc in the bathroom. The pool was very clean and it was great to have a swim and then lie on a sun lounger looking up at the palm trees. The self catering kitchen was the cleanest I came across in Australia and was well equipped. The staff were all well experienced in the hospitality business and gave good advice and arranged our snorkelling trip to Agincourt reef. It is only a fifteen minute walk to the attractive harbour for boats to the reef. There was also a common room area with comfortable sofas and TV as well as a laundry area and clothes drying facilities. It was good to chill out here after a lot of travelling and the lazy spell extended to using the pizza retake away and bottle shop on the corner of the road. Thank you for a nice stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here with family over Christmas. The rooms were bright and clean with all the necessary amenities. There was a great resort-style pool with tropical landscaping which was perfect for relaxing after sight-seeing during the day. There is also a restaurant and bar on the same premises, and we ate there every day. The food was fantastic and the price was very reasonable. I would definitely choose this place again if wanting to see more of the Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Port O Call is a great place to stay in Port Douglas . Well located just a short distance from the centre of town in a quiet location set in tropical gardens with a lovely pool. The rooms are well furnished and very clean. One of the best features is that there is a restaurant and bar on site, serving great food particularly on Tuesday nights when it is Mexican night If you don't feel like eating out you can cook your own food in the very well equipped kitchen. The staff were very friendly and had some good recommendations as far as excursions go. Another great bonus is the free wifi. A great place to relax after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port O'Call Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Eco Lodge

Address: Cnr Port Street & Craven Close, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port O'Call Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with an emphasis on the things that matter - air conditioning, quality beds with the best quality cotton sheets and deep feathered pillows, your own refrigerator, iPod docks, personal safe, 46cm LCD TV with 16 channels and an Award-Winning Bistro.Connectivity to the world is often a must and our free tablets with free wi-fi connection allows you to remain connected to your friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Port O'Call Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port O'Call Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.