We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort

Save Saved
You added Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort
37 Warner Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

By far the best Backpackers I've stayed at. Great location, good vibe, friendly staff, clean rooms. Top points: free wifi and pick up from cairns (when booking more then three nights) and great fruit salad at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    10
    14
    15
See reviews for
1
19
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed two nights here in a double room with a bathroom, for which we paid an extortionate amount.
Good points: a basic free breakfast, nice bar with table tennis, central location, 5 mins to beach, clean pool
Not so great: hugely overpriced, our shower was more like a fine drizzle- I expected more, although our room was cleaned once during our stay there was an old dirty sock under the table when we arrived, the kitchen was fairly well stocked but pretty dirty.

We really liked Port Douglas, its a lovely resort town, but Parrotfish wasnt really worth the money. Having said that, I dont know what the other hostels in PD are like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovelife231, Owner at Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
i find it hard to imagine how any customer who purhase a package of great tours (4 in total )that comes with accommodation included can go onto to claim the accommodation is overpriced. the tour packs we offer are the listed priceavailable through any tour booking agent in port douglas or indeed direct from the supplier and as a way of encouraging these tour sales through our desk we offer a free nights stay with every tour purchase.
i guess a 4 nights in a room is way expensive if the price you paid didn't also include a full day on the reef, another full day on the reef, a visit to the local croc farm and a full day tour of the daintree rainforest... but it did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in a 6 bed dorm in Parrotfish last week.

Pros:
In town - 5 min walk to the beach, shops, marina etc.
Free pick up from cairns ( subject to booking three nights accommodation)
Free bike hire
Cheap, good in house dinners
Free wifi

Cons:
Dirty kitchen with poor cooking facilities -only 3 of 8 hobs functioned while we were there which meant the kitchen was hectic around key times.
Musty room
Only 1 locker out of six in our dorm actually was able to be locked

It's a chilled out hostel and an ok one but not a great one. We moved to another hostel in the area which provided a free drop back to cairns, better kitchen facilities and were happier there.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed there for one night and really enjoyed it. Rooms were clean and spacious, bathrooms were well-equipped with great showers and really enjoyed the pool which was open until late.

Staff were friendly and helpful and provided us with useful advice for our trip to Cape Tribulation and also gave us good advice on where to go out in Port Douglas.

All in all would highly recommend the hostel if you're heading to Port Douglas (which I highly recommend)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

travelled a fair bit through asia and got really used to having free wifi. hit australia and it's really hard to find or at least you have to constantly buy other stuff to get the access. this place has really good speed and lots of areas to chill out and surf away the day.... free.
my dorm was really plain but super clean - the manager cleaned it himself every day i was there (five in total). i had a bathroom in the room but found the common bathrooms better to use as no one else was.... lots of space and nice and clean too.
the hostel is in a great spot just behnd the main street and walking to coffee each day was easy easy.
the staff generally are worth a mention - it's one of the few times in my travels that i really felt relaxed - thanks guys!

Room Tip: 108 is great - i had the bottom bunk near the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in a double. The room and shared bathroom were relatively clean, but the common areas were not clean at all. The pool looked gross, so I didn't go in, which was a tragedy considering how hot it was and how much I love to swim. The free breakfast was kind of a joke, and considering how dirty everything looked, I didn't want to touch it.
The place in general had a run-down feel and staying there sort of put a damper on our time in Port Douglas. After seeing the town of lovely and beautiful resorts, I would imagine you could stay somewhere far nicer for not much more money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrotfish4877, Owner at Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
really sorry to hear of your disappointment. i urge all our customers to remember that we are not competing with the resorts around town. most of our customers do appreciate that for the great budget rates they can access shared or private accommodation, a simple yet fresh and free breakfast and around the clock service by myself, my wife or our staff.... the value is hard to beat. as for cleanliness and tidiness - we enjoy regular compliments from guests, we maintain the cleaning schedules personally and as for the pool - i swim in it every day, it's pristine but for the leaves falling from the trees. so far we haven't come up with an effective way of keeping the leaves on the trees full time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

am really impressed with the feel of this place. i chose it for location and price, well inclusions actually. there is cheaper in town but not with the same value. i'm very satisfied with my decision and recommend this place to any solo traveler. really warm welcome and friendly people on staff and staying there.
location was great, easy walk to evereyhting. still quiet in town but i was looking to relax. the hostel offers cheap meals which saved me the trouble two out of three nights.
big thanks to tod for his tips on the tour.... a great day snorkelling and i appreciate the lend of his camera (what a sweetie).
dorm was pretty standard, shared bathroom and only 6 beds. there were two others in the room so was pretty comfortable. bit of noise by the poolside on my last night so i'd recommend a room away from the pool if possible.
biggest plus was the free wifi - i don't understand why you can't get that everywhere instead of almost nowhere!? it's pretty fast too.
the bike hire is a good idea but the bikes need a bit of love.
all up - a great place to stop, wish i had longer :-(

Room Tip: ask for away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrotfish4877, Owner at Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
thanks for your review - happy to hear your comments. Tod is a great asset as many people have discovered... poolside noise can sometimes be a problem and that's why we maintain no noise policy after 11pm. management do live onsite if things get out of hand but ultimately i guess it comes with the territory when people are enjoying themselves. we are constantly maintaining the bikes but as they're free and extremely popular it's an endless task. we've ordered 10 new beach cruisers and appreciate your feedback.
being travelers ourselves we know the value of free food and free internet - that's why we offer both.... happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort

Address: 37 Warner Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a central spot, easy on the wallet, comfortable and friendly? Parrotfish has single, double and twin rooms and dorms for up to eight people. Rooms have private or shared bathrooms with a FREE breakfast and all linens provided. We're located between the beach and the marina with a 1 minute walk to the main street in the town centre. Only a 5 minute walk to Four Mile Beach - what more could you ask for? FREE wifi and internet computers for all customers is our way of keeping you connected. Free breakfast helps get you energised for the day ahead. The bar is a local secret for live music, chillout tunes, Saturday night DJ beats and free internet 'round the clock. For the best stay in Port Douglas Parrotfish Lodge can provide you tickets for many activities, reef and rainforest tours and many great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrotfish Lodge Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.