We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By The Sea Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added By The Sea Port Douglas to your Saves list
By The Sea Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   72 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for five nights and booked it following reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor. From the initial booking through to checking out the service from the girls was first class. I would highly recommend this accommodation to others, but if your budget stretches I would suggest booking one of the bigger rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    144
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
144
426
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

When traveling internationally and venturing to a small town, one always has a sense that the hotel could go very, very wrong. But By the Sea proved to be everything everyone said and more. Jodi and the ladies the were consummate hostesses. From helping with restaurants and tours, to making reservations for coach transfers, they just kept trying to help and make us comfortable and happy. One of the best staffs we have ever met. They are impressive.
The room was large, had kitchenette (well equipped), seating area, balcony with table and grill, and a lovely, king bed. The hotel provided at no cost: ice (which we Americans love dearly), beach towels and umbrellas, internet, heated pool, bikes, safe, DVDs, books and a front desk with a great attitude. Such a great value. There were larger rooms available but this was perfect for us.


We had a view of 4 mile beach which is long (obviously), wide and has a stinger net for swimming. We were there the week after school holiday, and the beach and town were spotless. Restaurants a little pricey but Jodi and the ladies gave us some recommendation that made it special. Spent 4 days here- would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were on Macrossan- street side and never heard a peep. Room 11- perfect for couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Everything was brilliant, so many extras all free, the only thing you needed to take for the beach was yourself and bathers, what a wonder this was. The free internet was also brilliant, the rooms were lovely, the girls could not have been more helpful or more friendly. The location is wonderful being in Macrossan Street at the right end, next to the beach, yet all the shops and restaurants just a very few steps away. Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Everything was brillant - except the internet which was extra brilliant. Reception was very good (individual modem in each room) and to top it off it was free as well. Anybody who has travelled the world will have a tale to tell about internet charges especially in expensive 5 star resorts/hotels. It makes you very welcome (and it is not the money) when you are not milked dry by extra charges at every turn. Everything was provided for in a very generous way which to me shows big thinking and I will certainly come back and will recommend without hesitation to my friends in Melbourne.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in October and loved it! The girls are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had great facilities, lots of kitchen utensils and a BBQ on the balcony. It is in the perfect location, seconds to the beach and a short walk to the Main Street and shops. All the extras are awesome too, free use of towels, bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas, the list goes on! The only one downside we found was there's not a lot of deck room around the pool if you like to sunbake or laze around, however the pool is very nice and perfect temperature!
All up a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

by the sea is best place we have stayed in Queensland. it has everything you need and so much more extras which makes you stay perfect. Check their website,you will be amased. great staff, nothind is a trouble for them, very helpfull and always smililing. we wil definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place made our holiday. Great staff and the units were perfect for what we needed. The additional add-ons like the bikes and accessories for the beach and pool were a definite plus. It was private, quiet and very clean which is what we wanted. Will definitely be back to stay again.

Room Tip: A corner suite would be our first choice - sun and a good visual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By The Sea Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.