We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Apartments - Perfect for Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Heritage to your Saves list
Mantra Heritage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Warner Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartments - Perfect for Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment in the Mantra Heritage. We didn't book through the hotel directly but through an agent called The Boutique Collection (http://www.theboutiquecollection.com.au), as the prices were cheaper. They manage an array of properties in the area and we chose the Mantra. Highly recommend this hotel/apartment accommodation, and also highly recommend using this agent. The Mantra location was right on Macrossan Street, close to Coles and all the bars and restaurants that Port Douglas has to offer. The apartment was lovely, clean and very comfortable and modern. We even had a spa pool on the balcony which was great fun and a perfect way to relax after a long day exploring the area. But it was the small touches that impressed me - such as washing powder and fresh clean kitchen cloths, which is why I would book through Boutique Collection again! Ask for Eddie!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    81
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
56
115
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
356 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I give this property 5* as it was very pleasant and we did know that we would not get room servicing. However, this is poor - for the amount paid for a 5 night stay I would expect to get at least one clean and replacement of towels, toilet paper etc...

We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was well equipped and we self-catered from the Coles right next door. There is a washer and at least they give you two sachets of powder to use. We arrived late at night and the out of hours key safe worked fine with clear instructions and we appreciated the secure undercover parking.

The pool area is lovely but as noted by others, the water is cold. Us Tasmanians swam as we can cope but it was not really used much - perhaps they need heating for the winter?

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but they need to re-think the servicing policy or drop their prices.

Room Tip: Some rooms around the pool are very dark so beware
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear wombatdavid,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We do only offer room servicing for stays of 9 nights or more however guests are more than welcome to collect fresh towels, toiletries or tea and coffee any time from reception.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were travelling as a family of 4, mixture of older, middle and toddler age. We were initially staying at the next door Mantra in the Village but due to street-fighting and loud music, we requested to be transferred to the Heritage after 2 nights of our 7 night stay. The Heritage were fantastic about our request and handled it with style. We were given an equivalent-sized apartment with no issues apart from from early morning street noise, which you come to expect anyway. The staff even managed to get us on to the Quicksilver reef tour even though Quicksilver themselves said they were sold out! The lack of a daily service or mid-week service of the apartment is stated clearly everywhere, although we did have a laundry in our apartment which helped greatly. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Was left dissapointed with this hotel, there was no room service whatsoever included in the cost. There was an additional cost to replace towels and you had to ask reception for toilet paper/ tissues as required. Pool was not heated, neither was the spa.
Very average for the price you pay, but is very close to the main street.

Room Tip: Make sure you check exactly what's included in the price of your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Lia,

I am sorry to hear you left our resort disappointed. We do provide a mid-stay service for guests who stay 8 nights or more however should guest who are staying less than 8 nights require a service this can be performed for a small fee. We have review our policy regarding extra towels and amenities and these items can be replaced complementary at reception. We are also investigating the options to install a new pool heater and will update shortly.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for a week, the location is fantastic, 5 mins to the beach and wharf and 2 mins to the Main Street. Our apartment backed on to the street at the back of Coles, so it was extremely noisy from 5/6am. At the weekends, there were also lots of shouting and noise from the street until the early hours, not the fault of management, but a watch out for guests. The beds could be better too, the mattresses were very thin.

The kids loved the pool. The staff were always very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. We would come back, but I'd book an apartment with a pool level deck on the side of the pool, as it would probably be quieter there at night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear BallyCo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would return. Being centrally located unfortunately does result in some noise from the street however when you return I would recommend a 2 bedroom deluxe dual key apartment which face in to the pool area and you would not hear any noise from outside the resort.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Really nice central position, great cafe across road from entrance. Very noisy at night with people dragging sun lounges and chairs over the floor (sound travels into rooms) All rooms are smoke free but they allow smoking on the balconies and the smokes drifts into rooms from the next door balconies, I wasn't very happy about that and told reception. The girl said she would speak to the manager but I never heard back the outcome. The staff that I spoke to were very nice and helpful, rooms were clean but not to my exacting standard, cleaners never get allocated enough time per room to do a decent job, i have seen worse elsewhere. Overall a good stay, stayed 5 nights..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear tsbandt,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

All of our rooms are non-smoking however guests are permitted to smoke on their balcony. We will continue to monitor guest feedback relating to this and will make appropriate changes if needed. I am happy to hear you found all the staff friendly as they take great pride in providing excellent customer service.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week and the location is great, very central and easy to get anywhere in the town. We required a roll away bed for one of the kids and the first one supplied was missing the wheels so it sagged significantly in the middles and had a very thin mattress, which had also been crushed in the middle. We were unable to get a replacement on the first night which led to a sleepless night but a new bed was supplied on the second day but only after we continued to ask for it. The rooms can be a bit noisy as you can hear people moving furniture in other rooms etc. but no worse than other apartments I've stayed at and they were very clean and well laid out.The pool is heated but it was fairly cold during our stay, some of the inputs from the solar heating did not seem to be working so it provided a refreshing swim - once you didn't stay in there too long!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear kieranmc0,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the rollaway on your first night and will follow up with the team to ensure that this does not re-occur. We are currently checking the feet of all furnishings to ensure they have felt tipping which will reduce the noise when moved around on the tilled floors. Our pool is solar heated which usually copes well during the winter however it has been colder than usual in Port Douglas last month which has made our pool cold, we are currently looking at other options to heat the pool.

Overall it’s great to hear you had a good stay and we hope you will return soon!

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#37 of 45 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#27 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#30 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Address: 16 Warner Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. Enjoy a stroll along Macrossan Street sampling the wares on offer, or snorkel the Great Barrier Reef and experience one of Australia's famous natural wonders. Whatever takes your fancy, Port Douglas has something for everyone. Mantra Heritage epitomises the laid back Port Douglas lifestyle making it the perfect place for a tropical family holiday or couples romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.