We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mantra PortSea to your Saves list
Mantra PortSea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights last November.
What a beautiful hotel! Our room had pool access, and what a godsend this was - definitely a great way to beat the heat and humidity of Port Douglas. Swim up bar was fabulous, and Simon, the bartender, was an absolute hoot!
Only let downs were the breakfast, and that there's no restaurant.
But in saying that, there's a great Chinese restaurant pretty much across the road - Han Court. Such delicious food - we're still reminiscing months on!
The town is a nice 10 minute stroll from the hotel.
Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Victoria Z, We are so delighted to hear that you and your husband had such a perfect honeymoon. We pride ourselves on providing a wonderful holiday for our guests. A honeymoon is such an exciting time in your life, thank you for allowing us to share in your experience. Simon very much enjoys his job and is a great character to have down in the pool bar. He enjoys the company of our guests and making them laugh and have fun. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and recommending us to your family and friends.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    172
    80
    42
    27
See reviews for
137
204
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Mantra Portsea for two days last year, for a work trip. My room was on the bottom level (pool level) and it was quite small. However, sufficient for a work trip. The resort itself is beautiful - the pool is gorgeous and the surrounds are pretty. The resort is in a good location - about 10 minutes walk into the town with great restaurants etc. In saying that, my major gripe was that there was no restaurant in the hotel. Although I love to eat dinners out, it is sometimes more convenient to grab breakfast and lunch at the hotel. At the Portsea, the continental breakfast is served in a 'room' - there is no kitchen (there was a selection of cereal, yogurt, toast which was ok), and the pool lunch/snack menu is all deep fried, processed food. So my recommendation: great place to stay if you can get a good deal, but be ready to eat most, if not all, of your meals offsite. This really isn't the biggest deal if you can afford it, as Port Douglas has some excellent restaurants and cafes. But just a good thing to keep in mind.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear JazzyJeffrey, Thank you so much for your review of Mantra Portsea. We are glad that you found our resort to be a beautiful place to stay. We are very lucky to have such a large selection of amazing restaurants in town and across the road from the resort, as well as some great takeaway options for the nights when people want to stay in and relax. Our larger room types also have kitchenettes which are a great facility for people who wish to prepare their own meals. We hope to see you again in the future, business or leisure. Thank you.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we were booked into one of their small hotel rooms and it was a bit of a squeeze for 2 of us and a wheelchair - had to leave it in the left luggage room. Breakfast was average with limited options.
nice swimming pool and the cocktails were great during happy hour. Too far for us to walk to the center.

Room Tip: stay in an apartment - hotel rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello tcauUkVulcan,

Thank you for your review on Mantra Portsea.

We are sorry that you found your booked room type to small. They hotel rooms are great for a short stay or single travelers. We do offer the option of upgrading to a one bedroom studio for a little charge, if a Hotel Room is not suitable. One Bedroom Studios do provide so many more facilities and are worth booking for guests wanting extra space, cooking facilities or a spa bath.

Our ‘continental’ buffet breakfast is included in the majority of our bookings as a complimentary service to our guests. The buffet consists of a variety of cereals, four types of bread, pastries (croissants, muffins and crumpets), ham, cheese, fruit salad, a variety of spreads (vegemite, honey, jam), yoghurt, juices, tea and coffee from our fancy push button coffee machine (flat white, latte…however you like it).

We appreciate your comment on the Pool with its swim up Pool Bar. Our Happy Hour clearly is one of the most important hours of the day for many of our wonderful guests. We get great comments about our delicious cocktails.

We hope we will get the chance to see you again in the future for a stay in one of our larger room types that we are sure you will enjoy.

Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong Sydney NSW Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We ended up at the Portsea because we visited at the last minute and the other Mantras in the centre of Pt Douglas township (of which there are several) were all full. I was very happy with this choice. It is probably a good 500m to walk into town, very flat and civilised along the pedestrian path across the road, you do tend to feel the humidity on the walk though. The Portsea is a really elegant complex in a 'South of France' kind of style. The place is a bit of a maze of stairs and buildings and it can take a while to get your bearings but that is part of the charm of the design. Despite looking very elegant and upmarket, the meandering pool system is very much set up to cater for children/families, with various spas, deeper pool, many shallow pools, wonderful water slippery slide. The water is literally as warm as a bath which is just amazing. Our toddler had a ball in the pools. Our accommodation was lovely and modern and functional. The breakfast in the morning is more than enough (no hot food but loads of pastries/breads, fruits/yoghurts, cereals etc.) The 100m or so walk to the beach down the side of the resort is a delight too, as of course is the beach. This place was remarkable value, wouldn't hesitate to stay again and really, can't wait to come back. I would perhaps comment that the bed was a bit hard.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool would have a lovely view but might also suffer from the noise of children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello Poniesnpuppies,

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great stay at our Mantra PortSea. We are glad that you found us and chose to stay with a Mantra Property. The description you gave of our setting is just gorgeous, thank you, and is similar to how I describe it to my friends and family. It is a very large building but the benefit of that is being able to find your own space when you want some R&R and for us to be able to cater for families and couples alike.

It sounds like you and your family made the most of your holiday and the resorts wonderful facilities.

It is such a great help for our future guests to hear these facts from someone who experienced a recent holiday here with us.

We would love to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us, so that we can look after your every need.

Many Thanks,
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this resort as a couple, but we found it was more suitable to parents with children, as it is quite family orientated, main pool is very nice to look at but is quite shallow and not great for real swimming, just relaxing in. There are some smaller lap pools around the other side of the resort and a spa. The swim up bar doesn't have a lot on offer, just some snacks and drinks, the cocktails take forever to make and happy hour only knocks off $2.00. There is no restaurant in the resort at all which we found a bit odd. The rooms are clean and in good condition. Best part was that it is close to town and only a short walk, no need to catch to shuttle bus as it $3.00 per person when you could easily walk. If you looking for a holiday with your kids this is a nice place, wouldn't recommend it just for a couple looking for peace or romance though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello Linda A,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea.

We certainly apologise that we have not been able to reach all of your expectations on this occasion.

We recommend our One Bedroom Studios overlooking the surrounding gardens, if you are seeking peace and romance. The lagoon pool can get busy as children love it so much.
Due to the proximity to Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of Bars, Cafes and Restaurants we do not have our own Restaurant on site. Nevertheless there is a variety of delivery services available in Port Douglas and a great Chinese Restaurant, the Port O’Call Bistro and Zipangu, a Japanese bistro, just across the road, if you don’t feel like walking into town. We have an extensive up to date menu folder at reception to assist our guests with the plethora of amazing options available.

The cleanliness and standard of our rooms here at the Mantra PortSea is something we pride ourselves on. Our Housekeepers are definitely valued members of our Mantra PortSea team and are doing a great job ensuring our guests rooms are clean and comfortable.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in any of our Mantra Properties as one of our valued guests.

Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohuna, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Portsea Mantra and like our first experience we loved it. Fiona and Kyler offered the best service from reception that we have ever received in any hotel before. They could not do enough for us. The rooms could do with a little upgrading but it is the resort, it' location and friendly service that make Portsea Mantra a wonderful Place to stay. Port Douglas is a Magnificent place to Holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello Leah C,
Thank you so much for your lovely review on your stay at Mantra Portsea.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as your first. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family here at the Mantra Portsea. We enjoy getting to know our repeat guests and seeing them year after year.

Thank you for your great comments about Kyla and Fiona, who try and go above and beyond to ensure our guests receive great customer service. Here at Mantra Portsea our team believe all of our guests are deserving of the best service we can provide.

Thank you for your constructive feedback about our rooms, we are actually in the process of making small improvements to some furniture pieces to update immediate areas of concern.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, so please don’t hesitate to contact us on 07 4087 2000 so we can attempt to make your next stay even better.
Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for a family . We stayed in at the Portsea in September with 2 boys aged 8 and 6 as well as grandma for 14 nights. We travelled with another family and the staff made sure we were located next to one another . Our room ( dual key ground floor) comfortably accomodated three adults and two children. The pools were excellent and comparable to those you find at asian resorts and the nearby beach was beautiful and safe to swim at in September. It's a bit of a walk to the shops - however that wasn't an issue for us at all , we walked in most days and used a local taxi once when we did a larger shop . The kitchen is small and has no oven, however we were able to cook and prepare all our usual meals . The BBQ facilities were really good , clean and well maintained. The breakfast was included in the price of the room, which was a real bonus. It was simple cereals , toast and fruit - but saved us the hassle of organising breakfast each day , it was also a nice opportunity for the kids to meet and play with other kids. Would go again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello planaholidayayear,
Thank you so much for your positive review of our Mantra Portsea Resort. We are very glad to hear, that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Our Two Bedroom Dual Key Studios consist of an interconnecting One Bedroom Studio and a Hotel Room and cater for up to 5 people. Whilst we cannot always get groups of people located next to each other, we always try to match our guests requests.

The Lagoon pool is fantastic for families, the kids slide and the crocodile are a great entertainment for children, while the parents can enjoy one of our freshly prepared cocktails at the swim up Pool Bar. It is great to see many kids meeting others and having fun playing during their holidays. It is a very interactive hotel should you wish it to be.

The complimentary inclusion of a continental buffet breakfast is definitely a great way to start the day before heading to the stunning Four Mile Beach for a swim.

We would love to have you and your family back in the not so distance future, so please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards,
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Portsea Resort is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas’ main tourist strip on Macrossan Street. The resort offers hotel rooms, one and two bedroom studio apartments. Facilities include three swimming pools, a waterslide, spas and waterfalls linked by a central lagoon with a swim-up pool bar serving drinks and light snacks, exercise room, tennis court, 24 hour reception, barbecue facilities, breakfast room, guest laundry, internet room, PortSea massage room (by appointment), undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra PortSea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.