We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chill out experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra PortSea to your Saves list
Mantra PortSea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice chill out experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for five nights at the end of a hectic time travelling in Australia, and really appreciated the laid back atmosphere of the hotel.

Check in was easy, even at eight in the evening, and although it was a bit of a maze to get to the room, we found it OK and were pleased with how spacious the room was.

Breakfast was easy to sort out, despite the lack of a hot option, and all the facilities were easy to locate.

We loved the lagoon pool and the swim up bar, although signing for drinks, etc., was a challenge when wet!

The hotel was a short walk from the shopping and restaurants on Macrossan Street, although we tended to use the hire car as it was beginning to get quite humid in town.

The room was great, bathroom quite large - although it could have done with a shower curtain and the kitchenette adequate.

Only minus point - if you want to be picky - was the lack of a bar to relax in the evening with a few drinks rather than sit around the room.

Room Tip: We had a studio lagoon view room, which was very pleasant. Try to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello IainB999

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Mantra Portsea. We are glad to hear you had a relaxed time and enjoyed the delights of the resort and Port Douglas.

We do hope you return to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    211
    96
    49
    28
See reviews for
159
246
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay. Reception staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The studio was big with air com in the bedroom and a separate one in the sitting/dining area. Along with a fan in each room and one on the veranda temperature control was easy. We were disappointed that housekeeping was not done too thoroughly on our arrival. The bath plug hole was blocked with hair and there were obvious traces of previous occupation. That apart, we were happy with our stay. You will get a map of the hotel on arrival and will find it useful for the first couple of days. The dawn chorus woke me every morning but this is the tropics and an early start allows you to enjoy the coolest part of the day. Breakfast was quite good, varied, continental style. The pool is as oddly laid out as the hotel but was never crowded and was clean and welcoming. This was a good location for 4 nights. Had we stayed longer we would have needed to have towels and sheets laundered.

Room Tip: A 1 bedroom studio is big, cool and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Silversurfer21

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea. We have a wonderful reception team and I thank you for your appreciation of their friendliness and helpfulness. They love to know their efforts have made a difference to a guest's stay.

I would like to apologize for the state of your room on check in and have raised this issue with the housekeeping supervisor. Your feedback helps us to improve. Fresh towels are available at reception daily and are complimentary.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Located just a few yards from the stunning "four-mile beach", and an easy ten-minute walk to the main street in Port Douglas (local shuttle buses stop outside, but we never used them), it is in a good location.
Our 'Lagoon View Studio' room was very well appointed; spacious and comfortable, with facilities for preparing food. The reception area presents a good impression and this is continued in the rooms. Staff are charming, helpful... a real delight!
The swimming pools are quirky or interesting, depending on your view! The main pool ('lagoon') is a fairly narrow strip which starts with a cascade at one end and winds between the accommodation blocks, past the poolside bar, sun-decks, crocodile (sculpture!) little bridge, etc. Interesting for the kids to play but not really any good for swimming. However, it is the proximity of the three-storey accommodation blocks to each other, across the 'lagoon' which presents the only serious negative point …. The noise from the hoard of mainly pre-school children playing in the pool echoed back from the walls across the 'canyon' and was intolerable most days and evenings. Sitting out on the balcony was not a pleasurable experience!
If the sound of screaming children is not your ideal, just visit when there are likely to be fewer children about, or ensure you choose a room not overlooking the lagoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello MacgeorgeDorset

Thank you for writing a review on Mantra Portsea. Our staff at this resort are a truly lovely team and I'm so glad you enjoyed their attention.

We have three pools at Mantra Portsea. The lagoon pool can be noisy as children love it so much. We have a lap pool and a plunge pool in other quieter parts of the resort. The quietest rooms are garden view apartments and I would recommend booking these if you are seeking peace. For those who love a pool bar vibe I would suggest the lagoon view apartments.

Thank you again
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked this hotel on a fairly tight budget so were not expecting anything particularly amazing. The hotel room was small and basic. Unfortunately ours was over one of the pools near the spa and the noise that started from early in the morning with swimmers carried through to the room which meant that sleep-ins were not possible.

The breakfast was a bonus inclusion and although fairly limited, it was a nice complimentary addition to our package.

Disappointing that the room is not cleaned during the stay (unless over 8 nights), however the staff were always willing to refresh towels etc as needed at the reception desk.

Note: This hotel requires a $200 holding deposit when you check in. We were not made aware of this prior to arrival (booked via travel agent)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello eternalgringo

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra Portsea. Hotel rooms are budget options and if guests prefer a kitchenette and balcony I would recommend booking a one bedroom apartment.

We serve a continental buffet breakfast at the hotel and this includes cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, pastries, croissants, ham, cheese, juice, tea and coffee.

We offer unserviced rates to provide a more cost effective stay for our guests but daily servicing is available daily for an additional charge. Many people like the choice in this regard.

Kind regards
Helen
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my partner. had a great stay. location great with the stunning beach just behind. 10 mins bus to centre of port douglas or 20 mins walk or so . hotel room was ok quite small but did not let that spoilt it has we only slept in it.bed was comfy. breakfast was fine nothing special but did the job. lay out of hotel is good with a few pools dotted around. found the the staff we dealt with very helpful. and cheerful which didt seem false. one small complaint was bar shut about 17.30 may be could have stayed open a little later. but i suppose added to the peacefulness. all in all great stay if in area again would stay again.

Room Tip: to get a better room upgrade is 40 dollars a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear DaisyChain052001, we are thrilled to hear that you had a GREAT STAY at Mantra Portsea. The hotel rooms are our basic lead in room type but we are so glad that you found the bed to be comfy. This is such an important aspect to an enjoyable stay. The pools are spread across the property, one on every side which means that you can always find a spot to yourself for some peace and quiet. Our guests love these pool areas!! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we have wonderful people representing our company. The pool bar most days closes around 6pm, mainly because we trialed staying open longer and guests were gone by around 5.30pm to start their evenings. If we have a number of people wanting to use the bar for longer we certainly stay open for them to enjoy. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will choose to stay with us again or any other Mantra properties as one of our valued guests.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore ,Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Oh the soap was really nice and the pen.I simply cannot believe that people can call this place ' amazing or fantastic.What a joke.The rooms spacious??? are you kidding me.We were placed in a tiny room that was suposed to have a king size bed in it.A king size bed wouldn't fit in that room.(requested as my wife is 6 ft + and has a bad back).I had to argue it out with staff that it wasn't a king bed.It also was voiced that it was for our anniversary and we were placed beside the main pool area.(just what you need on a romantic weekend-kids playing at 7am)THERE WAS NO BALCONY OR WINDOWS-just some aluminium louvers that give little to no view or airflow, you do realise its get very hot up in the tropics.Apparently however there is such a thing as a king size zip bed which is Mantras' version.oh but it's the same--just smaller than a normal one.???We had to prove that we had breakfast included in our deal and produce paperwork.Oh, its a 'continental breakfast' some tinned fruit, cereal, some bread and a toaster, some ham and some cheese slices .No salt or pepper to be seen anywhere.My wife had asked( in an email as a surprise for me) for Champagne and chocolates be left in our room when checking in(at a price which is fine),nothing was mentioned or seen.So when asked we were told to 'check the fridge'.No champagne glasses supplied or offer of ice/bucket.
To try to resolve the issue( all this was done quite repectfully and calm i didnt want any boats rocked and didnt want to upset my wife , it was our 1st Anniversary) we were show 2 other rooms.One room pretty much exactly to same just on another floor closer to the pool area.(WHY i don't know..).The other which had a kitchenette, and sitting area,with a balcony area. Given little to no choice i said we would take it-since there was no way they could give us a king size bed or any other rooms.It's an extra $40 a night...!
We weren't given what we paid for, we certainly weren't treated with any compensation, we had to pay extra for a reasonable room.The english lady who had to deal with us was very nice and of course trying to help the situation but i could see her hands were tied from the manager.
We have travelled a lot.We have stayed in many hotels all over the world.I worked in hospitality for many years.I am certainly not a person who carries on and makes too much of a fuss or expects things i dont pay for or expect.I'd like to think i am courteous and respectful of staff whether at a local pub, a luxury resort or the supermarket.We are not well off and have to save for such luxuries as an anniversary away.
Who designed and built the monstrosity-it is a maze of halls and doors-possibly one of the worst designed resorts ever,take a compas and a GPS to get out.
I ran into serveral other people in town during our stay, that were staying at Portsea too and they all said the same thing-this is just not one person airing a grievance.
After looking about we had discovered better deals and much better hotels around the area.My biggest regret is that i didnt read through all the reviews before we booked as there are several with the same comments as I have.The pictures do NOT tell the story here!!
I will be contacting Wotif and letting them know of this too. This was suposed to be 4 STAR--this is far from it, and the only way we got near a second or 4rth star is we had to pay more for it!!

And to you Mr/Ms Manger..I do not expect you to comment.I expected you to deliver what you advertised, to instruct your staff to make compensation for your hotels short commings and to act like someone holding your postion with proffessionalism.It would not have taken much..So if this letter only but helps take that measly $120 out of your profits,if not more, that you charged us extra, then my job is done.A little goes a long way.
When asked that 'did you realise by treating us this way i would leave this review'- and the smug way you had said 'you welcome all feed back-it helps monitor the hotels business'-well i hope this helps you!
Just like word of mouth and Trip advisor-it is the best/ or worst form of advertisment.!
Look about people there is better for the same $$, and you may even get what you pay for!

Oh and the pen broke after a few days too,,, so i guess its down to the lovely soap.

If you look at the pic, there is aboit 1.5 foot on this side and i am up against the small fridge to take this.on the right is where a couple of sets of louvers opens,,no windows, no view, and open to all noise,the door on other side enters the tiny bathroom. Its very hard to pass each other .
The leather satchel in the picture is
approx 38cm wide x approx 4 wide= 153cm = queen bed..=room tiny noisy hot box
Nothing bigger was seen.or offered..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
To TrippinRob, thank you for taking your time to write such a lengthy review of your stay at Mantra Portsea. I can see you are clearly frustrated and appologise that the room you booked did not reach your expectations.

The room you booked and paid for was a hotel room through a ‘mystery deal’ on wotif, which does indeed state that the hotel rooms have a kingzip bed available. All of our Hotel rooms do have this bedding, it was a pure unfortunate circumstance that the unit you were booked into originally , the bedding had been swapped between the 2 adjoining rooms without our knowledge. This is extremely rare occurrence which has been rectified immediately. You were given an alternate hotel room option immediately that had the king bed but you declined this offer. The size of the Kingzip beds is the true size of an industry standard king bed, as supplied by commercial bedding companies for hotels. Regarding the location of the room, as it was your anniversary we opted to give you a lagoon view room as we thought this would be a nice option as most guests really enjoy the lagoon location.

The room that you opted to move to was actually 2 room types higher than the room you had booked and paid for. The one bedroom studio is a larger room type and does have the kitchenette facilities, spa bath, balcony and much more space. This is why you were charged to upgrade as you were moving to a different room type all together. The rate you were given to upgrade was actually discounted.

Our breakfast as stated on your reservation is ‘continental buffet’ and is included in the majority of our bookings as a complementary service to our guests. Our continental buffet breakfast is not limited as mentioned, it actually consists of five types of cereal, four types of bread (including gluten free), pastries (croissants, muffins and crumpets), ham, cheese, fruit salad (both freshly made every morning, tinned peaches/pears and whole fruits eg apple and oranges), two varieties of yoghurt, two choices of juice, coffee (machine in which you can choose your favourite coffee eg latte) and tea, including herbal options. There are lovely cafes in town should guests seek a full cooked breakfast.

As you mentioned it does get very hot up here in the tropics which is why we must place all food and wine in the fridges for our guests. If we were to leave the chocolates and wine out on the bench and you were to arrive later in the evening the chocolates and ice in the ice buckets would melt and not be of use. Sorry if this caused confusion for you, our intention was to ensure the gifts were ready to enjoy when you arrived.

Unfortunately you did not speak with me during your stay, so I apologise that you were under the impression the management gave you a smug reply. That is not our level of service and it is disappointing to hear that is how any comments by staff was taken. I do however agree with our staff, we do welcome all feedback and yes it certainly does help us monitor the hotels business. We agree that trip advisor is an important forum. Our staff are given levels of authority to resolve guest complaints and we operate to the best of our ability within our procedures and policies to ensure we are achieving the highest possible result for our guests. We cannot be making decisions outside of reasonable parameters just because a guest advised that they will post a trip advisor review if we cannot take the action they request. It’s important to us that we our guests have an enjoyable time and we welcome all feedback so we can continue to strive for the best.

So I do thank you very much for taking your time to post your review on your stay, your feedback was appreciated and duly noted.

Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed in this property 3 times now... I just cant go past it. Yes there are other bigger better hotels but I would rather save those few extra dollars to spend on activities.
This hotel has a great pool! A pool bar which makes great cocktails... and is walking distance to the main street where there are shops and restaurants etc.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, the only reason this property gets the 4 instead of 5 stars is because they dont have a restaurant on site... but other than that I cannot flaw the Portsea.
Do yourself a favour and stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear krystal g, Thank you very much for your positive review of our resort as well as your continued loyalty to Mantra Portsea. We are so grateful to have wonderful repeat clientele that we see year after year. We are glad that you have such an enjoyable holiday. Your comments about our staff are appreciated. We truly do love our working environment and doing all we can to make our guests happy. We hope that we can continue to make your holidays memorable and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Kyla Sippel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include 24 hour reception, baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra PortSea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.