We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra PortSea to your Saves list
Mantra PortSea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had one of the best stays ever here at port sea. Everything was terrific. The staff were excellent and did everything they could to help you. The pool area was amazing. Everyone just lived in it. They had a pool bar which was great. It was right next to an amazing beach. The tennis courts were top notch so we did not even have to leave to have a holiday. There was underground private parking and was about 1km from the centre of town. Very clean and the rooms were excellent. Thanks Mantra so much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Heather R,
Thank you for your glowing review of Mantra PortSea.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra PortSea.
Our swim up pool bar is a facility that guests enjoy whilst staying with us at Mantra PortSea. With light meals, ice creams and a fully licensed bar what more could you need!

Guests enjoy our location here as we are close to town and only a stone’s throw from the beautiful Four Mile Beach. There is nothing better than a nice walk back to your accommodation along the beach after dining at some of Port Douglas best restaurants.

Our staff work extremely hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay here with us at Mantra PortSea and we are only too pleased to thank you for recognising their achievements.
We hope to welcome you back to Mantra PortSea again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    208
    95
    49
    28
See reviews for
155
243
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I went to port Douglas for the first time. Mantra port sea was beautiful. Very kid friendly even though we didn't have our children with us. Beautiful pool area very close to beach. Buffet breakfast was no hot food like egg and bacon or bake beans and sausages but plenty of cereals fresh fruit pastries ect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They have happy hour at the pool bar every night. A nice clean hotel. We would stay there again with or without kids.

Room Tip: It isn't as close to macrossan street as you might think. It is a far walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Lyndal B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us at Mantra PortSea.

We are glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the beautiful lagoon pool and our close proximity to the stunning Four Mile Beach. The walk into town is a little further being 800m to Macrossan Street.

A nice cold continental breakfast is the perfect way to start off a hot summers day in sunny Port Douglas, giving you enough energy to enjoy the magnificent tours which depart from the resort daily.

At Mantra PortSea we pride ourselves on our customer service and cleanliness of rooms. It is wonderful to hear that we could make your first time in Port Douglas a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra PortSea sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a horrible experience at the Sheraton it was nice to be in a place that had friendly professional service and updated rooms. The hotel is in a beautiful setting close to the beach and a nice relaxing walk to town. The staff even went the extra mile and made sure we had a beautiful room with large balcony over looking the lap pool and a few little extras in the room. Thank you. We had a comfortable and relaxing stay. I wasn't worried by not having room service everyday - in fact I found the absence of this regular intrusion a bonus. By the time we required a refresh we got it. The breakfast is simple but more then adequate and they were happy to ensure I had gluten-free bread for toast. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear MiniMooToo,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Mantra PortSea.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and always strive to ensure that our guests’ stays with us are thoroughly enjoyed. With fresh towels, tea/coffee and all in-room extras available to be replenished from Reception whenever they are needed it provides you with more privacy, without the interruption of housekeepers on a daily basis.

With breakfast being the most important part of the day we ensure our guests can maximize the time they have here with us with the complimentary inclusion of a large continental buffet breakfast daily. We are glad you enjoyed this inclusion as we are proud to provide this service to our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Mantra PortSea and we look forward to welcoming you back soon as one of our valued guests.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Do not expect normal hotel service, the rooms are NOT serviced daily and the "hotel" rooms are the size of a walk in wardrobe! With out balconies.
Very dissapointed.
I agree with comments regarding pool bar, however the reception staff try to do their best.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi John J,
Thank you for your review on Mantra PortSea. We certainly appologise that we have not been able to reach your expectations on this occasion.
All of our rates are un-serviced rates to ensure that we remain an affordable holiday destination for guests of all budgets.
Servicing is available upon request through Reception with fresh towels, toilet paper or any other amenities which may be required can be replenished from Reception 24 hours a day.
The hotel room is definitely not recommended for stays longer than 1-2 nights, however guests are always more than welcome to upgrade to a larger room type upon arrival.
Thank you for your positive comments about the front desk staff, they really do try their best to look after our valued guests.
We hope we will get the chance to see you again in the future for a stay in one of our larger room types that we are sure you will enjoy.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Mantra Portsea was very good, My Husband and I stayed for 7nights in a one bedroom apartment. The room was a great size for us,had everything in it that we needed for our time there, it was lovely to sit outside on the balcony and eat our meals. We would cook at the BBQ and then bring it back up and have it. We had Breakfast included which was great, I knew that it was continental breakfast and we where very happy with that as you don't need a big cooked meal up in the heat. Very busy with families so if you are a couple and wanting quite you would not go, but great for families with children of all ages. The pool was so relaxing to just sit and relax all day. Pool bar was very nice to get something to eat or a drink(very nice cocktails). If you don't like walking into town don't stay, but we enough strolling in and out or along the beach. Would go back and stay again with or daughter as she would never get out of the pool..

Room Tip: Only stay with children, not a couples resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Beccajane,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Mantra PortSea.
Our One Bedroom studio apartments are fantastic with the spacious balconies overlooking the luscious gardens or lagoon pool to enjoy a quiet and relaxing meal in the evening.
The complimentary inclusion of continental breakfast daily per person is a great start to the day. The large buffet of fresh foods is the best way to commence another day in tropical Port Douglas.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future with your daughter, we are sure she will love it as much as you did.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived at Portsea all ready for our first week in Port Douglas and I have to say that our time at Mantra Portsea was very special. This was in no small part because of the staff, who were particularly friendly and so obliging, but the situation of the resort was also fantastic. The kids loved the pool and the ambience of the property, which was very chilled and mediterranean.

I have to say a very special thank you to Kyla who made reservations for us at Peppers for our anniversary dinner. It was amazing and Kyla was so professional. I must also mention Sonya at front desk who had the most sunny and outgoing disposition. She is the sort of team member I would love to have working for me if I managed a resort like this.

This resort is lovely for those wanting some time out in Port Duglas at a family friendly location with all amenities close by. You can walk to Port Douglas main streets (although it is about 15 mins so we opted for a car). The pool is large (not huge by Port Douglas standards, I guess) but it is loads of fun with all its different sections and bar. The gardens are amazing and it is right near the best part of the 4 mile beach. I loved hearing and watching the birds from our balcony every morning.

The only constructive criticism I could give is that the pool tended to get a little unkempt during busy periods and could have been cleaned daily.

Well done Mantra - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Daniel_aust,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family here at Mantra PortSea and we are delighted to hear that your stay was very special.
Thank you for your comments regarding my professionalism and Sonya’s outgoing nature. She is definitely a valued member of our wonderful Mantra team.
The ambience of the pool is a fantastic surrounding for families and individuals. The kids slide and crocodile are a great entertainment for children, while parents can relax without a worry at the pool bar close by. Thank you for your constructive feedback about the pool bar. Happy hour can get a little crazy but this is something that we need to work on to ensure the work area is acceptable at all times.
We would love to welcome you back to Mantra PortSea, and look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,

Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner & I had 6 nights at Mantra PortSea.It was one of the best holidays we have had the pleasure of having in Port Douglas.Our room/suite was on top floor overlooking the lovely lagoon setting.It was clean & had the necessary kitchen,bathroom & electronic equipment provided,ceiling fans/air conditioner.Underground parking also provided.The bed was very comfortable! Probably the only criticism was the mustiness smell in the room & had to buy airfreshner.A great satisfying buffet breakfast each morning to start the day heartily.We were close to the beautiful 4 Mile Beach & not too far from town centre.Lovely lagoon surroundings certainly made us feel we were having a resort holiday.As other recent reviewers have mentioned the spa was too cool & it does get noisy with the children during the school holidays but we preferred the swim in the sea for most of the time anyway.We found all staff extremely friendly & helpful.Customer Service at it's best!We would definitely return & recommend Mantra PortSea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECrampton, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Westy101,
Thank you for your review on Mantra PortSea, your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Mantra PortSea. The complimentary inclusion of a continental buffet breakfast is definitely a great way to start the day before heading to the amazing Four Mile Beach for your swim. Being only a short walk from the resorts it is definitely something all of our guests enjoy.
The cleanliness and standard of our rooms here at Mantra PortSea is something we pride ourselves on, and we are glad you enjoyed the comfortable beds; there is nothing like a good sleep in on a holiday!
Thank you for commenting on our customer service we are glad that it made you feel welcome. We would love to have you and your partner back in the not so distance future. So please don’t hesitate to contact us on (07) 4087 2000 so we can endeavour to make your next stay even better yet.

Kind Regards,
Kyla Sippel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include 24 hour reception, baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra PortSea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.