We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra PortSea to your Saves list
Mantra PortSea
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Fantastic reception/bar and breakfast staff and lovely location. Overall cleanliness of apartments could have been better, particularly in the kitchen of our 2 bedroom apartment. Was disappointed to see bags of rubbish in the corridors on our arrival at 2pm...and to find them still there the next morning on our way to breakfast! Had to tell reception staff that food full of rotting bags in the hall for over 12 hours was not nice - staff should walk around and check after housekeeping to maintain standards. Also, still waiting on housekeeping/reception to return a phone charger left in the room.

Room Tip: Big issues with mobility - lots of stairs and maze-like corridors to rooms. Maybe not a great idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    208
    95
    49
    28
See reviews for
155
243
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed for four nights in October. Our family of four shared an interconnecting hotel/studio room equipped with modest cooking facilities. Our room was at the crossroads of the corner corridor and was so very noisy. Every person wandering through to their rooms was able to look into our room so there was no privacy unless the blinds were pulled down. The room was so very noisy too - each conversation echoing into our room, each footstep thumping through our open windows. The pool is nice but too few lounge chairs meant that unless you placed your towel on a chair early morning, there was no getting a seat. The pool bar is rather grubby with very limited food options - all deep fried. Rooms are not serviced, so pack an extra towel unless you are happy paying for clean ones. The resort is within walking distance of town and a nice beach is just a short stroll away. With all the other accommodation options in Port Douglas, I would stay away from this one. We certainly don't recommend it and would not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed three nights and was very happy overall. We were located on the ground floor towards the back of the apartments in a one bedroom studio. Comfortable furnishings, small kitchenette, corner spa in bathroom (however shower was over bath so if you have mobility issues you would need to see if there are any rooms with walk in showers). The beautiful 4 Mile beach is easly accessed by a track leading from the complex; the pool is fabulous meandering its way through the resort and there is a lap pool also. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all requests. It is an easy walk into the main street of Port Douglas for shoping/restaruants etc. Rooms are not serviced daily unless specifically aranged. There was a small amount of mould in the bathroom but it was quite minor and given that this is an older property I was surprised that there was not more given the humidty in the tropics for much of the year. Mobile reception was difficult in our room and if you wanted WI FI you had to pay for it. It is a bit of a rabbit warren and your room may be some distance from reception, up or down steps so be aware you may have to lug bags. Overall though a great place to stay - would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Back units don't have much of a view but you are not bothered by noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back to Port Douglas and our Mantra Portsea.

Many Thanks!

Katja
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

On arrival the staff were very nice and friendly and we were able to upgrade from a hotel room to a one bed appartment,unfortunatly the cleanliness of the bathroom was very poor, mould around the grout on tills and around the jets of the spa bath,the bath its self was dirty and hair had been left in the waste. I brought it to there attention the next day and the cleaner came and made another attempt to clean but only cleaned the dirt of the bath.The resort is a lovely place but the standard of cleaning needs to be addressed as it is letting it down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great Hotel,Lovely rooms and very clean.

Optional Continental breakfast which was nice.
Shuttle service into town,although its only a 10 minute walk.

Easy beach access,friendly staff,good locaction in Port Douglas

Room Tip: We had a ground floor apartment so had great pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back to Port Douglas and our Mantra Portsea.

Many Thanks!

Katja
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Would highly recommend the port sea to every one, the staff were very helpful with always a lovely smile, the rooms very comfortable, already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back to Port Douglas and our Mantra Portsea.

Many Thanks!

Katja
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed at Mantra for five nights at a great discount rate, the room had everything we needed (good kitchenette with hobs to make breakfast/lunch), great pools (including a plunge and a lap pool which we seemed to be the only people to use) and a couple of handy bbqs (buy shrimps/fish straight off the boats in the harbour).

The reception staff seemed friendly and offered to give us clean towels/sheets if we brought our old ones over (the rooms aren't serviced which is something to bear in mind with a couple of trips to sandy beaches). Short walk to town via the very close four mile beach - and an even more gorgeous walk home after a couple of beers!

Day out at Cape Trib is a must - just take your time stopping off at all the boardwalks and ice cream places along the way!

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor rooms as you don't get much privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back to Port Douglas and our Mantra Portsea.

Many Thanks!

Katja
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Address: 76 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include 24 hour reception, baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra PortSea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.