We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was everyone else??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OTZ Food

OTZ Food
Four Mile Beach Plaza, Shop 1 | Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Where was everyone else??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant around the corner from our holiday rental inside the Niarmaya resort. It was delicious, well priced and the setting was beautiful by the pool with lots of grass for the kids to run around. However there was no one else there which somehow meant service was slow, especially desserts, you could hear them whipping the cream about 15min after we ordered. I think there might be confusion with the cafe over the road going by the same name. This place is definitely worth searching out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    7
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Otz @ Niramaya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Since last September, Otz have run the restaurant at Niramaya Spa Resort across the road from the cafe. Tranquil tropical setting well away from buzzy downtown Port Douglas was a delight. Locally sourced fresh food...our calamari starter on pawpaw salad was perfect. Friendly fast service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great flavours and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food is fresh, beautifully presented and has wonderful flavours .... we had the crocodaile curry - amazing! We even talked the sweet chef into telling us this great curry base recipe. Also the barramundi was fabulous. Desserts are equally reputable. They are open for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food was clean, well cooked and nicely presented but expensive for what it was. We only visited once.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More great coffee!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Another little gem! ...lovely owners! and awesome coffee... this place was a great find! The food selection also looked great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OTZ Food also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to OTZ Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OTZ Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.