We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martinique on Macrossan

Save Saved
You added Martinique on Macrossan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   66 Macrossan Street | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not only is the location ( at the beach end of Macrossan St) ideal, the service from Fred and Antonia is second to none. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable sums it up. The point of difference with other similar places we have stayed is that the décor is bright and quirky, not boring and bland. When we return we’ll be requesting a room on the top floor to ensure more light and more sun on the balcony. I would agree with other reviewers that the landscaping and gardens are beautiful but that the pool area is a trifle shady for the ‘winter’ months.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor would be lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    78
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
297
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay at Martinique. The resort is very well kept and looked after and in the perfect location. The rooms are tidy and well equipped with everything you will need. Fred was extremely friendly and helpful, making some great recommendations of places to eat in town and places to visit on our drive to Cape Tribulation. The only fault we found being located on the bottom floor was that our room was quite dark so if possible I would suggest requesting a room upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Couldn't fault this jewel in Port Douglas. Close to beach and restaurants. Friendly hosts. Rooms beautifully appointed and clean. Lovely quiet pool area perfect for relaxing after a day out. Quite a shady area but the pool is heated. Thanks Fred & Antonia - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great place to stay, close to shops, beach, cafes and restaurants. We did not have a rental car so it was really handy for us. The Hosts were very well informed on the area and activities, welcoming, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The accommodation had everything we needed, and we were there for 9 days.
The only down side for us, was the swimming pool was too shaded with trees to enjoy sitting around in the cooler days that we were there.

I would stay there again and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had such a great stay at Martinique. Fred and Antonia were so helpful and welcoming and it was easy to feel right at home. Perfect location near the beach and restaurants in town. We will definitely be back. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We travel to port Douglas often , and what we love is the location friendly service and that its a small boutique apartment block .No smoking no children under 16 and its often filled with wonderful people from around the world or newly weds . We have stayed at other spots in port Douglas but what brings us back to the Martinique is the service . Fred and Antonio are always willing to assist in advice of tours and activities .They truly take special care of their guest and we book every year with our adult children and friends . A must visit place !!

Room Tip: We love room 14 it's at the top with a balcony at the front . However we have stayed at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just superb… prefect location, marvellous hosts and brilliant accommodation. We couldn’t want for anything more. Martinique on Macrossan is less than 100 meters stroll to the main beach and surrounded by restaurants, cafes and excellent coffee for enthusiast palates.

A car is not required. The hosts Fred and Antonio were always available and keen to share their local knowledge, so we pursued our interests and maximised our stay.

Martinigue on Macrossan is surrounded by a tranquil tropical garden (the best in the street), which is immaculately maintained, beautiful flowers, water features, heated salt-water pool and comfortable seating areas inviting relaxation & enjoyment

The rooms are well appointed, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, complete with a balcony for added pleasure amongst the tropical surrounds.

Thank you Antonio and Fred for a wonderful stay; we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Address: 66 Macrossan Street | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinique on Macrossan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.