We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martinique on Macrossan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Martinique on Macrossan to your Saves list
Martinique on Macrossan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   66 Macrossan Street | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free wifi
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Muswellbrook, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked our stay online over 10 months ago and Antonia was extremely helpful with not only booking our accomodation, but our airport transfers aswell.
My Husband and I walked in just after 10am thinking that was check in time. Fred and Antonia were not there, but Leann was and she checked us in straight away and also gave us a map and marked all the places we should visit during our stay.
We got to our room (number 20, on the 3rd floor) and it seemed really nice. Large and spacious, with a view looking down to the pool. It wasn't very clean though, with quite a bit of dust and no flowers that I had seen other people write about. I then checked the in room book and realised check in wasn't spose to be until 2pm.....I am guessing that's why the room wasn't completely ready, but Leann was too polite to turn us away!
The room was lovely and quiet and a great place to relax when not seeing the sights. The kitchenette was nice and big with everything you need for your stay, although we had to ask for more coffee and sugar as there just wasn't enough for 5 nights.
Everytime we went to the pool, we had it to ourselves and found it a great place to wind down.
We loved this place and we miss it so much already...we are disappointed we didn't get to meet Fred and Antonia but the place was in good hands with Leann.
Will recommend this place to everyone

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have great views but note that there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    85
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
23
315
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Martinique on Macrossan for 4 nights in February - the last stop on our first Australia vacation. We just loved it! Our room was great - spacious, comfortable bed, kitchenette for our own breakfasts or packing a lunch, private balcony, lots of windows, "dining" table, comfortable living area. The hotel has an inviting entrance with fountain and lush foliage. We requested 3rd floor, knowing that we would have to climb stairs - but we didn't mind and we wanted the views and the breeze. The Martinique is conveniently located 1 block from the beach (with beach chairs available for guests to take with them) and a short stroll to "downtown" restaurants, grocery, Marina, and Sunday's market. Perfect!

Best part of the stay was that the owners and caretakers were wonderful - taking care of us like we were family. We didn't get to meet Fred and Antonia, as they were off when we were there, but Antonia was so helpful as we made our vacation plans, with suggestions on waiting to book our day trips to reef and rain forest until we were there, since it was later in the season and not so busy and we could then factor in the weather (which was great advice and worked well for us). She also arranged our transport to Port Douglas from Cairns. Chris and Leann were our hosts for our stay. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful - arranging our day trips, suggesting places to walk for views, arranging our shuttle back to Cairns, accommodating our late departure and taking care of everything we needed.

We've been back in the rat race just over a month now, and dreaming of our relaxing time at Martinique! If we have a chance to return - we would stay there again. Thank you, Leann and Chris, for all you did to make our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was a solo traveller around Australia and came across Martinique on Trip Advisor. The apartment was of excellent standard, the bed was super comfortable and the no children policy gave the place a very relaxed feel. The owners Fred and Antionia were great, whenever I needed towels or advise on activities in the area they were extremely helpful. The hotel is also well positioned close to town and the beach with great internet connections. Hope to get back there very soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

For our first time in Port Douglas we stayed at Martinique based upon previous reviews, and apparent walking proximity both to the beach and the town. From our first step inside Martinique we found the owner, Fred and Antonia to be extremely friendly and accommodating.

The room (suite) we stayed in was very well maintained with a kitchenette, large living area,balcony, en suite bathroom and enclosed sleeping area. The Hotel is on the edge of town in a very quiet area with no external noise to speak of. Wi-Fi was available for our stay at small charge, which we found very reasonable, the the outside pool area was a tropical oasis for cool dips in the afternoon.

The attractions of the town were indeed just a short walk away from the hotel, with the beach and its environs an even shorter distance away. During our stay we spent two days at Daintree (one for the trip up to Cape Tribulation and the other to Mossman Gorge). We had a rental car, so worked out great for both side trips. We also took a day trip to the Great Barrier Reef with Quicksilver, and had great day snorkeling.

Our trip to Port Douglas would not have been the same with out great in-sight and advice from Antonia and Fred. From their advice on the best snorkeling trip to fit our needs, tips on how to see the Rainforest, good places to hang out, restaurants, and even to go out for a daily run, we're all spot on. They truly care about making sure all guests enjoy the area as much as they do.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found this to be a great location. It was easy to walk to dinner, the beach, or shopping. The rooms were clean and the owners were wonderful! The pool was small, but relaxing after a long day exploring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fred and Antionia weren`t around when I stayed so cannot comment on their hospitality remarked upon by so many reviewers but I agree wholeheartedly with others in their praise for quality of apartments [I was placed in room 20 on 3rd floor with corner balcony overlooking pool area] and location.

To think that I was actively considering staying at Coconut Grove [which is right next door] at considerably higher prices ... thank goodness I didn`t.

Port Douglas was my final and favourite destination on tour of Australia, the Daintree and GBR were tremendous experiences, Port and Martinique on Macrossan were delightful.

[I used Wavelength for Snorkelling trip and they were brilliant and as i`d hired a car it really wasn`t necessary to take a tour to the rainforest or Cape Trib, these are perfectly easy DIY places and you get to spend time where and what you want to do. Others I met mentioned Tony`s Tropical tours very favourably]

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

4 night stay here as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is very clean and Fred was very friendly and was happy to recommend local attractions and make dinner reservations. The pool is nice and secluded and there were loads of books and magazines to read. We also too advantage of the free parking which was a good bonus.

Very close to the beach and restaurants. We felt very safe walking back late at night.

We would recommend and stay again

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Address: 66 Macrossan Street | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinique on Macrossan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.