We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Port Douglas Sands Resort to your Saves list
Port Douglas Sands Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've just returned from a lovely stay here. We booked a 3 bedroom room which slept 6 comfortably (queen, double and 2 singles) with an ensuite and main bathroom/laundry. We received warm and friendly service, even before we arrived with lots of helpful advice and assistance in booking appropriate tours for our young family. We had a couple of issues with our room that were addressed immediately and without fuss or interruption. Staff were fantastic and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable.
Breakfast was a very welcomed extra which made our stay easy as we didn't need to worry about organizing anything early! Included was a selection of weetbix/corn flakes/rice bubbles, raisin/white/multi grain toast with spreads, juice/tea/coffee. Our kids loved going to the breakfast room each morning and choosing their own breakfast.
We really enjoyed the pool which was perfect temperature and plenty of shallow depths for the littlies. The kids also enjoyed the sandpit by the pool.
Barbeque area by the pool was also great.
Our room did get very warm but there were fans and air conditioning to cool down.
The resort is a little dated but was clean and comfortable.
Being out of town we did use the shuttle buses a bit. We walked in a few times but in the heat and with preschoolers it was slow going - about 20 minutes or so. Buses were easy but pricing was very inconsistent! Every trip seemed to attract a different fare and we soon learnt it was cheaper if I bought the tickets rather than my husband!
Beach is about a 5 minute walk across the road through the Sheraton Mirage (public access path). Flagged swim area is up in town about 15 minutes walk up the beach.
There were some restaurants nearby but we opted for meals in town or delivered.
All in all a very good option for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Clean, tidy self contained holiday apartments. Basic breakfast included. Pool area and sandpit perfect for young family. Underground parking, 1 minute drive, 5 min ride or 15 min walk into macrossan street. Walk across the road to the main beach. Friendly helpful staff. Affordable.

We're already planning our return stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Port Douglas Sands for five nights in the beginning of June 2013. We had a two bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool. Our kids are 12 and 15. We felt very much at home. Breakfast was included, simple, but fine for us. Great that the unit had a full kitchen and we could cook and then enjoy our dinner on the balcony. There is also a BBQ available for use down by the pool. It was also really nice to have covered, secure parking underneath the building. The location was great - not too far to get into town, but also close to get on the highway. We also rented bikes for a couple days and this was a great way to get around.

The unit also included a washer and dryer was which a very nice bonus. However, the dryer was terrible. It was only rated one star and it took forever for our items to dry. We were not allowed to hang items out to dry on the balcony. Instead, I hung damp items in the closet and that worked.

I would recommend Port Douglas Sands and would stay there again sometime. We love the Port Douglas area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked PSR to stay as on Trip Adviser reviews repeatedly said facilities are fine and Amanda will troubleshoot any issues we had.
on initial enquiry Amanda was quick to respond and arranged a reef and forest tours for us at my request - 5% discount!
We also arranged that nearer our trip then airport transfers etc would be sorted out. three weeks prior to our stay an email arrived -without my chasing- detailing all pick ups etc. very efficient and accurate.
We did have to rearrange a reef trip due to poor weather and again Amanda's team were very efficient and helpful.
the flat was clean, well equipped, all appliances worked. beds were comfy. air con efficient. we had breakfast provided each day which was simple but ok. overall it was a great place to stay. takes 25 mins to walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean family apartment, we stayed up on the top floor, nice view of the pool, amongst the palm trees, one of the more reasonably priced two bedroom apartments we could find online. 240pn less with a Hotel Club discount. Central location, 15 to 20 min walk into town, 10 min to beach, better after we hired some bikes. Bit of road noise. Free toast and cereal for breakfast is a bonus. Plenty to do in the Port Douglas area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed last week of June for four nights in 2Br. Half hour walk from main st, so as long as there is no rain its a good place to stay. Car park, pool, spacious rooms, great service. There are very few negatives about this place, unless you really go nit picking and really critiquing this place.
Great place to stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone. I would be very happy to stay here again. Hope to be back in a years time. I would like to thank them for the stay.

ONLY CONs: Bins need emptying more frequently, kids in pool before 9 make plenty of noise.

Room Tip: 2br is good for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was clean and the furniture was nice, modern and comfy.

The breakfast was a nice added bonus, not having to organise this with young children made things easier.

The air con while it worked well in the lounge/dining area, didn't penetrate too well into the bedrooms.

The kids loved the pool. Overall we had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Douglas Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Sands Resort

Address: Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Sands Resort holiday apartment and short-term rental accommodation is an easy distance to the bustle of Macrossan Street, the Sheraton and Marina Mirage complex, golf course and beautiful Four Mile Beach (only 400 metres away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Port Douglas Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Sands Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.