We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nimrod Resort Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nimrod Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Nimrod Resort Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   31 Nautilus Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have just come back from a week at the Nimrod apartments.We had a great time and would recommend it as a great place for families with young children. The kids LOVED the pool and playground and it was an easy walk to the beach. I think they would have been happy if we just stayed there all day everyday.

It is a fair way from town and for us a car was a must have. Our room was tidy and had been fairly recently redecorated though some of the fitting were a bit old and tired. Not 5 star accommodation but great value, practical place to stay for the family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
47
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Nice resort with a wonderfull swimming pool.
Nice staff very friendly, even if we arrived late and left very early i the morning.
Good barbeque place near the swimming pool at night.

Come here, you won't regret it !

Room Tip: Ask for the renewd appartmenst athat are realy v
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011 via mobile

The nimrod was a cosy and self-contained resort. It had a plesant charm about it and it was very relaxing there.
The pool was delightful & it was lovely to relax in the warm water or lay on the cosy chairs by the pool. It provided a bbq area around the pool,which was great to be able to use on a sunny day.
Lorraine was helpful & we were able to quickly & efficiently book activities and tours with no hassles at all,which meant our stay there flowed without flaws.
A close walk to the IGA and the beach,allowing for access to both useful living utensils & a place to relax in the sun.
It was an enjoyable stay and made the stay lovely and relaxing

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

For the most part, this resort was conducive to a comfortable stay. It was difficult to correlate Reception availability with our early starts and varied return times. The two times I did converse with staff were an impersonal experience & not once was I asked whether we had any feedback re our apartment or if we were enjoying our stay. I believe customer feedback should be viewed as vital to the retention of providing customers with the service that is being advertised. Overall, this resort was clean and tidy, the exception being the bathroom, the walls needed a good clean as they were coated with a scum-like substance. A splash of paint wouldn't go astray as the scuff marks on walls and doors are fairly prevelant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlocal, General Manager at Nimrod Resort Apartments, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
I’m sorry that the guest felt unsatisfied with some aspects of their stay here. Our staff work on doing everything they can to ensure that our guests enjoy staying here, over the course of a guests stay we have normally talked to them several times.
Customer feedback is taken on board and questions such as are you enjoying your stay and is the room to your satisfaction are normally asked when we first meet a guest as well as talking to a guest on departure for any feedback, good and bad, so we know what is working and what needs improvement. Over the busy Christmas/New Year period we have missed talking to this guest, not our normal interaction.
We have a welcome letter for guests with contact numbers and would have been more than happy to send maintenance/cleaning to attend immediately to any problems in the room.
The guest is welcome to contact us direct to provide any additional feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Apartments are roomy and very clean but very dated and in need of modernisation.
Within walking disrance of 4 mile beach which is beautiful.
Take a map as trying to find it at night is difficult!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlocal, Owner at Nimrod Resort Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
We have two grades of apartments - the garden view and the deluxe.
The garden view is self rated at 3-3.5 stars. We do advise guests that these are a little dated and are being renovated and upgraded. Many of our guests who are looking for a more budget priced holiday are very happy with the standard of the apartments.
The deluxe apartmetns are all fully renovated and are self rated 4 stars.
Our location is on google maps and we can provide driving directions for those guests who would like them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at Nimrod Resort for 7 nights with our teenage children 17 and 13. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in our two bedroom deluxe apartment. It was well stocked with all items you would require for a comfortable stay. We were lucky to look out to the pool which the children loved. It was a little way out from Port Douglas centre but we had a car and actually enjoyed being away from the busy town centre. There was a bus service that you could catch just out in front of the resort. The beach was a 5 min walk which we enjoyed most mornings. The staff at Nimrod were great, really helpful and it was so convenient being able to book all our activities at the resort. We had an awesome holiday in Port Douglas and would recommend Nimrod Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We just spent 2 weeks at Nimrod Apt., had a two bedroom deluxe and really enjoyed our stay. They have a nice pool, Tennis crts. and full tour booking facilities, DVDs and books available and a very friendly staff. Our kids, 5 and 7, loved it and we very pleased to see more families there. The whole place is tranquil and if you are lucky and overlook the pool like we did you will sit on your balcony and look right into palmtrees and the starry sky. We took the car but if you wanted, the beach is only a 5 min walk away. A supermarket is close by (5 min by car) and it takes you about 7 min by car to the center of Pt. Douglas. We found a car was essential but there is a regular bus which stops right infront of the Resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nimrod Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimrod Resort Apartments

Address: 31 Nautilus Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nimrod Resort Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nimrod Resort offers superb modern fully self-contained accommodation. Surrounded by nearly 5 acres of lush tropical gardens, ideal for singles, couples and families.With one of the largest free-form lagoon style pools in Port Douglas, complete with bubbling spa and ankle biters swim area. Come and relax, unwind and enjoy.A short stroll to beautiful four-mile beach. Close to local restaurants and golf course.Full sized tennis court and children’s shaded playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nimrod Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nimrod Resort Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nimrod Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.