We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property needs Updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
1 Week only: From $160
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Houston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property needs Updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The setting, property and buildings are exceptional. The numerous pools are relaxing and the surrounding foliage lush and beautiful. The lobby and common areas are very large, and well appointed. The rooms and their accommodations are outdated and need an upgrade to match their surroundings. The hotel was not very busy during our visit and we found that there is not much to do at night except catch the shuttle into town. We thought the restaurants in the hotel were quite overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    527
    329
    145
    84
See reviews for
424
675
41
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We bought a package through My Holidays that included flights,transfers,breakfast,$250 Dinner Credit,2 for 1 booze etc. This just before the peak Easter season so the hotel must have been wanting to increase occupancy to cover some costs in the slow season. The scare of the cyclone scared many away and we almost had the place to ourselves (only 20% occupancy). The Old Scase Mirage build in 1988 certainly needs a lot of TCL. The only modern addition in our room seemed to be the a NEW Flat screen TV. The room safe was just a tin box with no lock! The staff were great & the 5 acres of swimming pools were unbelievable. The bad thing was that because very few were staying there there was only 1 restaurant open with the same menu every night. Snack meals could be obtained from the Pool Bar & the Lounge Bar. There was a $10 credit available if we went green and reused our bath towels etc but we found out that this meant no cleaning in the room was done,rubbish bins left,beds unmade,toiletries not replaced so after the first night we stopped being green. The breakfast was sensational, couldn't fault that. I wouldn't pay full price to stay here but on a deal like we got we put up with the faults. I will always object to paying for WIFI to my room however, I think this should always be free!

Room Tip: do not stay here in peak season it would not be worth the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern highlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We bought a deal online.
Although the resort does needs some updating the pools are outstanding and seriously how much time do you spend in your room?
The staff are probably some of the best we've dealt with. Super helpful and willing to go that extra mile for you.
There isn't any entertainment in the evenings but the $5 shuttle into town every half hour means you can seek your own choices. A maxi taxi only costs $15.
If you buy the dining passport there are a few options no longer applicable on it but its good for dinner and cocktails.
It's the first hotel we've stayed at that rewards you for helping the environment by not having all linens changed daily.(if you choose )
Would we return? Definitely.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just stayed a night to celebrate a family birthday and booked thinking it would be memorable. It was memorable for the out dated rooms and poor resort features such as the dirty pool. I kept being told that it would be renovated next year. I paid this year and expected better for the money. Go across the road to the QT and save your money.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to help you. I checked in on my birthday, was upgraded and sent a bottle of champers. The grounds are beautiful. A truly magical experience! Highly recommend snorkelling (with the Calypso team) and the rainforest tour.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Melissa W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort.
Your appreciation of the grounds and the team at the resort is most welcome.
We recognise and trust you had a wonderful Birthday and look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.
Kind Regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 2 nights in late January... the Aussie summer just ended so the hotel (and town) were deserted. A bit of a mix-up with my reservation but in true Sheraton style they provided excellent customer service to fix the error. The grounds of the resort are gorgeous. There's a beautiful beach, though you can't swim in the ocean due to the box jellyfish. Instead, enjoy the multiple pools - many with sand beaches extending into the water. Lots of pool furniture too for lounging and catching some sun. The rooms were nice, although the hotel itself is definitely dated. Very spacious, huge comfy king bed. Large bathroom with a huge soaker tub and shower. Bar with mini fridge. Decent patio. I'm certain you could spend a week at this beach resort just as a relaxing getaway, with plenty of fun nearby - a drive + hike into the Daintree Rainforest, a boat cruise with the crocs (either in the wild, or the more touristy theme park), etc.

WATCHOUT: You are in Australia. There's wildlife everywhere - that's part of the charm. Grounds of the hotel are filled with birds, but also cane toads everywhere... along walkways, in hotel corridors (outdoors ones), etc. Plus of course, lots of bugs. Mostly outside, but a few inevitably get inside. The only one that bothered me was the ants - all over the bar in our room. We kept our food wrapped tightly in the fridge and shook of anything (hats, cameras, wallets) that we put on the bar. Some on the nightstands too. They were very, very tiny, but hundreds of them. Just be smart about it.

LOCAL TIP: Check out the nearby Wildlife Sanctuary. They have a great variety of animals incl. the endangered casawary, crocs, emus, 5-foot pelicans, talking cockatoos and tons of other birds and of course, lots of kangaroos and wallabies. You can buy a $2 bag of food (the cheapest food in Australia, I learned) and feed all the roo's right out of your hand! Every size from babies to full adults. Definitely one of my favourite experiences on the trip! Absolutely ideal for kids & families.

Room Tip: Get a view overlooking the lagoons or pools... some rooms are even poolside on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi NMP007,
Thank you for sharing your comments on your visit to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort.
It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your encounters with the Australian wildlife.
We look forward to welcoming you back again when next in the region.
Kind Regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yungaburra, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Take advantage of great savings. We just spent weekend at an incredible low price. Staff were marvelos and a room upgrade was most unexpected. Fantastic value. Spoil yourselves while the prices a re low.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Debbiew W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.
We are always delighted to hear that we have met or exceeded the expectations of our guests and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit to Port Douglas in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.