We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 8 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great 8 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four couples spent 8 days at the resort with the boys playing 3 games of golf.
It was all part of a package which included airfares,transfers,two for one drinks,$500 per couple spending money for food and drinks plus two for one golf.
The resort had plenty going for it despite reading previous comments.
Yes the rooms are dated and the outside could do with a freshening up however apparently
there are new owners who will be spending a great deal to improve the place.
The grounds are great with a choice of six pools however we spent most of the time in the pool with the swim up bar.
The breakfast was brilliant with a great variety to choose from made even better by being included in our package.
The staff were excellent from the waiters,bar staff,pool staff, golf club staff,transport staff,cleaning staff and they could not do enough for you.
We had meals in the Lagoon restaurant were we had a great seafood buffet,Ocean breeze bar
lunch and Daintree lounge snacks however the disappointment was IL Pescatore restaurant.
The entree was so small and overpriced and steak like leather and the mussels would have to be the worst I have ever had.After several complaints by our group they at least did not charge us for the deserts.
The chairs in the lagoon restaurant need replacing badly as they had no padding.
Another disappointment was the $10 charge for delivery of a plate of chips to our room.
it pays to read the fine print which we missed.
Besides all that our over experience was great and once refurbishment is done I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    470
    290
    130
    76
See reviews for
380
605
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent a week at the resort, half of which was for business and half for pleasure. I read some of the reviews and wasn't sure what to expect, however I really enjoyed my time at the resort. The resort is old, but I found the facilities to be more than adequate and the room was very spacious and had all the necessities. The key feature of the resort are the grounds, pools and distance to the beach all of which can't be faulted. Sitting poolside was very soothing and quiet as there are many pool areas to choose from if you get caught in a crowded area.
The staff were very helpful and often went above and beyond the call of duty which is important to me. Breakfast and restaurants aren't flashy but have enough to keep you satisfied, if you aren't impressed town centre is a short drive away - resort also offers a shuttle to town which I think is at a price.
Don't expect the rooms to be state of art, but spa was nice and bed was very comfy, there are many rooms so you might need to walk through the lovely grounds to get to your room.
Would definitely stay here again if I return

Room Tip: ask for a room on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Shakaka,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. Your appreciation of the resort and its grounds, pools and direct beach access is most welcome and we are looking forward to welcoming you back someday soon.
Kind regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived back yesterday from having the most amazing week at the sheraton, the staff are so friendly, the pools are to die for and we found our overall experience awesome, and would go back in a heartbeat. My 18 year old son wanted to go to the gym each day at the country club, he was kindly driven to the gym and picked up by the friendly staff each time, the buffet breakfast is everything you want. Yes, as other reviews have stated, some of the furniture a little tired, but it does not deter from your holiday, and renovations are in the pipeline for 2015. Thank you Sheraton for a fantastic holiday to be remembered ...

Room Tip: we had a garden deluxe room, very spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 632Joanne,
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday celebrating such a great milestone with your family. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another great holiday in Tropical North Queensland.
Kind regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and I traveled to Port Douglas to have the opportunity to see the Great Barrier Reef. We were really surprised about the conditions of the hotel and that it was in dire need of being renovated. I did have the opportunity to speak with the General Manager, who listened to my concerns and offered a solution that allowed us to stay the next two nights at the property. The General Manager stated the hotel will undergo a major renovation starting at the end of the year.

The hotel is conveniently located to grant you access to 4 Mile Beach and to the major attractions of (The Dantree Rainforest and The Great Barrier Reef).

Regards,

Pamela Johnson (Platinum Starwood Member)

Room Tip: I would recommend the hotel for when it is renovated. The pool area is spectacular and the kids wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pamela J,
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback and it was great to meet you during your stay. Should you be returning to the area I would certainly welcome the opportunity to be contacted directly so I may update you on our refurbishment plans and assist with your next stay.
Kind regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a room in the East wing directly facing the lagoons. The sleeping room was spacious and very comfortable, as was the bathroom. Even though the real beach is directly located next to the hotel we only went swimming in the huge pools we had next to the room. There is a small beach with sun-beds, ideal for relaxing. Towels are provided. We were there for some times and it never was crowded.
The breakfast is excellent and the waitresses are very friendly and quick. The dining places and the lobby are as spacious as the hotel grounds are.
Some other reviewers mentioned that the hotel seems in need of refurbishing. This is not our impression. The only thing that is lagging behind the time are the control boards for the light next to the bed. These could be replaced by a tablet kind of controller (which is already available at comparative hotels). Also, WiFi in the room should be complimentary these days, as it is in many other countries.
Still, a great place.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a "lagoon view" on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Thomas L,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and made most of our sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, breakfast buffet and comfortable rooms. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Port Douglas.
Kind regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the hotel under pre-payment special offer.

The hotel is a truly resort, it is very spacious consisting multiple unit complex surrounded by multiple pools and gardens. The hotel can directly access to the sea, and offers an amazing sea views compared to other hotels.

The hotel got lots to offer, I think the main features are multiple swimming pools and golf. It is very nice and so easy to spend a day or two to enjoy these hotel facilities.

I think most negative reviews comes to the attention to the decoration of the hotel rooms. It indeed old and requires modern refurbishment to match the standard of Sheraton. However, we are not bothered at all for the old style room. It got everything you need to have a good shower, relaxing spa and good sleep. The only thing we do not like is the thin wall between rooms so we can hear children noises from the room next door in the early morning.

As we do not spend most of time in hotel rooms, we find this hotel is pleasant to stay and many activities you can enjoy in the resort.

P.S. We were told the hotel may get refurbishment by the end of the year, so if you want grab a bargain staying at the hotel enjoying Sheraton got to offer, it is a good time to stay, otherwise, I am sure the hotel will be even better after the refurbishment but at a premium price.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear zpempire,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and made most of our resort facilities while you were here. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Kind regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on way to cairns nice pool. That's it the place is just dated and old with the rooms feeling cheap and in need of a paint job.

20 bucks for WiFi what a joke.

Not 5 star what a joke.

The most over expensive hotel ever stayed in. Looking forward to the copy and past management response.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stefanhobart,
Thank you for your review and comments. Although I am glad you enjoyed the pool I am sorry we fell short of your expectations and I welcome the opportunity to be contacted directly.
Kind regards,
Steve Molnar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.