We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location and grounds of this resort are just amazing. Several huge pools surround the property with Four Mile Beach right out front. You can walk down the beach right into Port Douglas. It takes about 25 minutes. The pools have partial sandy bottoms which is kind of neat. As some have noted, the hotel is showing its age but there seemed to be a lot of work going on to spruce things up. We lucked out and were upgraded to the Captain Owen Suite, which was massive. Only complaint was that some of the furnishings -- living room sofa and chair as well as kitchen appliances -- looked like they had been there since the hotel opened. Bedroom and huge bathroom were wonderful. And we had a nice deck to enjoy. Breakfast buffet was included and it was outstanding. We truly enjoyed our five nights here and would highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Brad Z

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit to Port Douglas.

On behalf of the entire team at The Sheraton Mirage, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the suite, service and quality facilities we pride ourselves on.

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property on Tripadvisor, and please let us know when you will be returning, as we would love to have you as our guest when next back to Port Douglas.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    418
    258
    114
    69
See reviews for
346
557
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were impressed by this resort; it exceeded our expectations the rooms were great as was the pools and gardens, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful it was very relaxing.
The resort catered for families as well as those who wanted a quiet holiday, couldn't fault it really,
We look forward to returning some day and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone.
Port Douglas is an amazing place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Leslie L

Warm greetings from the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort!

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and it is always pleasing to hear and read that our valued guests enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Leslie L, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Port Douglas.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a package (My Holiday Centre) that that allowed us to enjoy this resort and not worry too much about the cost! Our room, the meals in the restaurants, the location, service from staff, the main lobby and tours to the reef were amazing. The resort has several pools and the beautiful Four Mile Beach is at its edge. If you are into golfing, the course looks great. Port Douglas is a short bus ride away--too far for us to walk. The downside of that is the cost...so need to check rates. However, it is worth a trip or two into town as it has its own charm and a variety of places to eat or shop. Food is expensive at the resort but we had that covered in our package--however, families may need to budget. Our two trips to the Great Barrier Reef, on different boats and with a different focus, were included and we enjoyed the beauty of this natural wonder. The grounds of the resort are beautifully maintained and very impressive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear presby62

Thank you for your recent review on the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your my Queensland Holiday.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you liked our facilities. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and it is pleasing to learn you enjoyed this.

The resort is ideal for families and with children you can always purchase our SPG kids program which makes dining very affordable.

We very much hope you will have the opportunity to join us again

Best regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in villas for 10 days and lucked out as ours Renovated and great. Friends staying in hotel not as lucky. Grounds and pools most beautiful in australia - but really needs a bit of love to return to former glory. If you can stay in villas hard to go past - and port is a great place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ballistic888

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Villas here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and so pleased you found the Resort amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future, as with other reviews we are working closely with our owners on the refurbishment plan.

Warm regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The sheer scale of the Sheraton Mirage is impressive, from the entrance foyer to the massive grounds and the enormous pools, to the spacious lounges, bars and restaurants.
I love the marble which has been used in abundance, and the tricky layout and walkways which make the place seem even more huge than it is.
Food was excellent, staff were friendly and always helpful and I even enjoyed playing through the crocodiles on the golf course. Downside was late night corridor noise as the room door seemed to provide little protection from happy loud people.

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside rooms have a nice balcony for afternoon drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BigRedAl99

We very much appreciate receiving your feedback and I would like to thank you for sharing your views on the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas following your recent stay.

It was delight for us to read how much you enjoyed our location and your appreciation for the quality marble and design. Our team strive to deliver at exceptional service at all touch points and it was pleasing to read that you noted their attention to detail.

I however would like to apologise for any disruption you experienced from another guest.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived in Cairns at 9:00am in the morning and were aware of the 3pm check-in time at the hotel. I had called the hotel the day before to organise an early check-in and advise that we would be using an SPG room upgrade voucher so they wouldn't allocate the wrong room type. I was told that although not guaranteed, she "didn't see a problem with the early check-in". On arrival at Cairns airport, I again phoned the hotel & asked if the early check-in was possible. The "guest relations" member told me that our room wasn't ready at this stage, but wouldn't be too long. I questioned if there was a note that we were using an upgrade voucher, and she said that hadn't been noted. I asked if the upgraded room would be ready and was again told that it should be ready by our arrival. We continued on to Port Douglas, expecting our room to be ready on arrival being an hour away.

We arrived at reception at about 10:30am. Helena on reception just said, "Your rooms not ready." I asked if that was the upgraded room and a look of confusion followed, and then she muttered something about it being the king room. I showed her the upgrade voucher, and obviously she had no clue so she eventually got "the manager" James. He showed her how to allocate an upgraded room which was availbale, however was also not ready. When asked how long it would take to clean the room, we were told "Not too long." Apparently this should be translated to "forever and a day".

About an hour later we returned to reception to enquire about the progress of the cleaning. The cleaners were contacted and they advised it had not started yet. We were given 2 complimentary drink vouchers and sent on our way. Another hour later we returned, wondering why it takes so long to clean a room. Reception again contacted the cleaners who again said, "We haven't started". What a joke - who runs this place - the cleaning staff? The cleaners advised it would be another hour and half...it was now 1pm and we had wasted 2 an half hours actually believing "not too long". James who is apparently the manager, although I doubt it told us that there was absolutley not another room available. This was laughable as we had walked the grounds and sat in the lobby, sighting possibly 10 other people at the most! They kept giving us some excuse about 90 people checking in....ummm big deal?? So off we went into Port Douglas for some lunch...in our trackies...in 27 degree heat.

Some common sense should have prevailed in this situation and they could have allocated us a room that had been cleaned - unless they want us to believe every single room is ready at exactly the same time?!!

As for the "upgrade"...a room overlooking the carpark - nice. So people - when staying at this resort, do not expect an early check-in. Do not expect the rooms to be any better than 3 star - and if the time it takes to clean a room in this place is anything to go by, don't expect the elusive major upgrade to the resort any time soon.

The grounds itself are nice - great pool. There are some beautiful resorts at Port Douglas if you're looking for something that is actually 4-5 star. Peppers, Q1, Ramada, Coconut Grove all look amazing.

We had a great time in Port Douglas, it was just an unfortunate & avoidable start to our long weekend break.

Room Tip: Stay in a lagoon view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear knightyandkate

Thank you for reviewing our resort on Tripadvisor and disappointed to learn that your check in was less than satisfactory on your recent stay. We do appreciate your kind feedback on our sleep quality and the lagoon pools. As your review remains anonymous we are unsure of the specific date you stayed, though we assume from your review and in speaking with James it was the June long weekend where the resort ran at full occupancy. This certainly made it difficult for an early check in with your room request and upgrade certificate. I have spoken with James our Manager on Duty and would welcome you to contact us directly via the above email hotel link to enable us to clarify the incident and also re explain the reason why we could not assist with the specific room type you had requested for the upgrade and early check in and the resulting delays. I understand in speaking with the team that they endeavoured to assist you as much as possible and James spoke with attempting to explain the limited inventory avalaible at the time. As the resort was running at full occupancy there is a number of factors such as specifically requested room types, guarranteed views, king and twin rooms and interconnecting that have been guaranteed to our guests at time of reservation. I do apologise for any inconvenience here.

Knightyandkate once again thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Others are way to critical of this beautiful place. We don't have children but it is such a great place for families. The rooms are clean and spacious, there are pools EVERYWHERE and the staff are lovely. The food prices are quite high but you have to expect that in a resort. You can walk into town along the beach in 20mins or catch a shuttle that goes every half hour for $9 per person return. There are so many huge pools that you can often get one all to yourself- it really is beautiful so don't listen to all the closed minded stuck up ppl who just complain because they have nothing better to do!

Room Tip: We staying in a superior lagoon room and it was nice and big for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear MJVDP9,

Thank you for passing on your personal views from your recent stay here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

We do appreciate you raising the positive aspects of your stay; the resort being beautiful, the cleanliness & size of your room, our many swimming pools as well as the staff around the hotel being very helpful & friendly, very much valued; thank you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton
Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.