We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Escapes from $183
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Drysdale, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a package (My Holiday Centre) that that allowed us to enjoy this resort and not worry too much about the cost! Our room, the meals in the restaurants, the location, service from staff, the main lobby and tours to the reef were amazing. The resort has several pools and the beautiful Four Mile Beach is at its edge. If you are into golfing, the course looks great. Port Douglas is a short bus ride away--too far for us to walk. The downside of that is the cost...so need to check rates. However, it is worth a trip or two into town as it has its own charm and a variety of places to eat or shop. Food is expensive at the resort but we had that covered in our package--however, families may need to budget. Our two trips to the Great Barrier Reef, on different boats and with a different focus, were included and we enjoyed the beauty of this natural wonder. The grounds of the resort are beautifully maintained and very impressive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear presby62

Thank you for your recent review on the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your my Queensland Holiday.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you liked our facilities. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and it is pleasing to learn you enjoyed this.

The resort is ideal for families and with children you can always purchase our SPG kids program which makes dining very affordable.

We very much hope you will have the opportunity to join us again

Best regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    542
    337
    148
    88
See reviews for
438
697
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in villas for 10 days and lucked out as ours Renovated and great. Friends staying in hotel not as lucky. Grounds and pools most beautiful in australia - but really needs a bit of love to return to former glory. If you can stay in villas hard to go past - and port is a great place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ballistic888

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Villas here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and so pleased you found the Resort amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future, as with other reviews we are working closely with our owners on the refurbishment plan.

Warm regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The sheer scale of the Sheraton Mirage is impressive, from the entrance foyer to the massive grounds and the enormous pools, to the spacious lounges, bars and restaurants.
I love the marble which has been used in abundance, and the tricky layout and walkways which make the place seem even more huge than it is.
Food was excellent, staff were friendly and always helpful and I even enjoyed playing through the crocodiles on the golf course. Downside was late night corridor noise as the room door seemed to provide little protection from happy loud people.

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside rooms have a nice balcony for afternoon drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BigRedAl99

We very much appreciate receiving your feedback and I would like to thank you for sharing your views on the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas following your recent stay.

It was delight for us to read how much you enjoyed our location and your appreciation for the quality marble and design. Our team strive to deliver at exceptional service at all touch points and it was pleasing to read that you noted their attention to detail.

I however would like to apologise for any disruption you experienced from another guest.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived in Cairns at 9:00am in the morning and were aware of the 3pm check-in time at the hotel. I had called the hotel the day before to organise an early check-in and advise that we would be using an SPG room upgrade voucher so they wouldn't allocate the wrong room type. I was told that although not guaranteed, she "didn't see a problem with the early check-in". On arrival at Cairns airport, I again phoned the hotel & asked if the early check-in was possible. The "guest relations" member told me that our room wasn't ready at this stage, but wouldn't be too long. I questioned if there was a note that we were using an upgrade voucher, and she said that hadn't been noted. I asked if the upgraded room would be ready and was again told that it should be ready by our arrival. We continued on to Port Douglas, expecting our room to be ready on arrival being an hour away.

We arrived at reception at about 10:30am. Helena on reception just said, "Your rooms not ready." I asked if that was the upgraded room and a look of confusion followed, and then she muttered something about it being the king room. I showed her the upgrade voucher, and obviously she had no clue so she eventually got "the manager" James. He showed her how to allocate an upgraded room which was availbale, however was also not ready. When asked how long it would take to clean the room, we were told "Not too long." Apparently this should be translated to "forever and a day".

About an hour later we returned to reception to enquire about the progress of the cleaning. The cleaners were contacted and they advised it had not started yet. We were given 2 complimentary drink vouchers and sent on our way. Another hour later we returned, wondering why it takes so long to clean a room. Reception again contacted the cleaners who again said, "We haven't started". What a joke - who runs this place - the cleaning staff? The cleaners advised it would be another hour and half...it was now 1pm and we had wasted 2 an half hours actually believing "not too long". James who is apparently the manager, although I doubt it told us that there was absolutley not another room available. This was laughable as we had walked the grounds and sat in the lobby, sighting possibly 10 other people at the most! They kept giving us some excuse about 90 people checking in....ummm big deal?? So off we went into Port Douglas for some lunch...in our trackies...in 27 degree heat.

Some common sense should have prevailed in this situation and they could have allocated us a room that had been cleaned - unless they want us to believe every single room is ready at exactly the same time?!!

As for the "upgrade"...a room overlooking the carpark - nice. So people - when staying at this resort, do not expect an early check-in. Do not expect the rooms to be any better than 3 star - and if the time it takes to clean a room in this place is anything to go by, don't expect the elusive major upgrade to the resort any time soon.

The grounds itself are nice - great pool. There are some beautiful resorts at Port Douglas if you're looking for something that is actually 4-5 star. Peppers, Q1, Ramada, Coconut Grove all look amazing.

We had a great time in Port Douglas, it was just an unfortunate & avoidable start to our long weekend break.

Room Tip: Stay in a lagoon view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear knightyandkate

Thank you for reviewing our resort on Tripadvisor and disappointed to learn that your check in was less than satisfactory on your recent stay. We do appreciate your kind feedback on our sleep quality and the lagoon pools. As your review remains anonymous we are unsure of the specific date you stayed, though we assume from your review and in speaking with James it was the June long weekend where the resort ran at full occupancy. This certainly made it difficult for an early check in with your room request and upgrade certificate. I have spoken with James our Manager on Duty and would welcome you to contact us directly via the above email hotel link to enable us to clarify the incident and also re explain the reason why we could not assist with the specific room type you had requested for the upgrade and early check in and the resulting delays. I understand in speaking with the team that they endeavoured to assist you as much as possible and James spoke with attempting to explain the limited inventory avalaible at the time. As the resort was running at full occupancy there is a number of factors such as specifically requested room types, guarranteed views, king and twin rooms and interconnecting that have been guaranteed to our guests at time of reservation. I do apologise for any inconvenience here.

Knightyandkate once again thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Others are way to critical of this beautiful place. We don't have children but it is such a great place for families. The rooms are clean and spacious, there are pools EVERYWHERE and the staff are lovely. The food prices are quite high but you have to expect that in a resort. You can walk into town along the beach in 20mins or catch a shuttle that goes every half hour for $9 per person return. There are so many huge pools that you can often get one all to yourself- it really is beautiful so don't listen to all the closed minded stuck up ppl who just complain because they have nothing better to do!

Room Tip: We staying in a superior lagoon room and it was nice and big for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear MJVDP9,

Thank you for passing on your personal views from your recent stay here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

We do appreciate you raising the positive aspects of your stay; the resort being beautiful, the cleanliness & size of your room, our many swimming pools as well as the staff around the hotel being very helpful & friendly, very much valued; thank you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here even after reading the poor reviews and loved it. It is very dated, however is 80's grandeur and you could only imagine the rich and famous staying here in its hay day.
Booked early and got buffet breakfast included for free which was a great way to start the day.
We had a premier lagoon room, which was on the second level, very quiet and a great big comfortable king size bed.
Getting in and out of the PD CBD is only 5 min by shuttle bus that is out the front of the hotel every 30 min.
The lagoons were excellent and we utilised the swim up bar.
They are a bit short on staff, having only one person working the bar for about the 30 guest that were floating around the pool.
Wish we could have stayed there longer but only booked 3 nights and did day trips out to the reef, Mossman gorge and Hartley crocodile farm.
The night life in PD is a lot of fun.

Will definitely stay here again if in Port Douglas again

Room Tip: Lagoon view is the way to go. We stayed second level as the rooms were bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Buckets09

Warm greetings from the Sheraton Mirage!

It was a pleasure to read your review and to learn that you found that the reviews were not what they all seem. I am pleased you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. The team appreciate your recommendation of our resort and that you enjoyed the facilities.

I do hope that your enjoyable time with us will bring you and you back in the future.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed here many,many times and still think it is beautiful. Yes, the rooms are outdated but the pools and gardens are the best we have ever seen anywhere. The rooms are always clean and housekeeping staff are excellent. The rooms are large, quiet and peaceful. The whole resort is tranquil and the position right on 4 Mile Beach is hard to beat. Room rates have come down a lot to compensate for the need to update. We've found the staff very obliging and friendly. The Lagoons buffet is very expensive but there are plenty of restaurants in Port Douglas. We did not dine in Il Pescatore this time but the prices seemed similar to most of the restaurants in Port Douglas. The breakfast buffet is amazing and I can't imagine anyone complaining about it. All in all, I still think it is the nicest place to stay in Port Douglas and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Travelmarg

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. As a valued returning guest we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to read and share your comments with our entire team.

Travelmarg , thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Tropical North Queensland and the nearby world famous Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest from the luxury beachfront Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort. Located on Four Mile Beach and surrounded by 130 hectares of tropical gardens, an 18 Hole Golf course and sparkling saltwater lagoon pools, guests can enjoy luxurious accommodation and recreation facilities. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.