We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should close for remodeling” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Should close for remodeling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had reservations at this property during our visit to the Great Barrier Reef. It is in terrible need of a remodel. The landscape was unkept, the pool and water features need a major cleaning, there was no one available to help guests, we were concerned about eating the food as there weren't many people around and we were concerned it might not be turned over enough to be fresh, the drinks at the pool bar were terrible--they made them again and weren't much better.

The sleeping room was musty, rusty and doesn't look like it had been touched since it opened. There were spiders, bugs all around--it was much like camping.

There were so few people staying at the property, it was a little concerning--made us feel uncomfortable. After returning from dinner and seeing more of the property, we decided to go to our room and find other accommodations. We were fortunately to find rooms at the new QT Port Douglas.

The highlight of the trip as the hotel's flexibility at the front desk in getting us out of our reservations and allowing us to move to the other hotel.

I've read other reviews on the property, and cannot beging to see how anyone would rate this other than a terrible experience.

The land/site of the hotel has the potential to be spectacular--with the right owner and investment it could be incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sheryl S

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort from your stay in December 2012.

We do appreciate the gift of feedback and note your thoughts on the resort. Sheryl S, your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We value you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond. We hope to see you back in the future, perhaps after the renovation.

Kind regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    471
    290
    130
    76
See reviews for
380
606
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We attended a conference at the Sheridan Mirage Port Douglas and stayed at the resort for a few days. We stayed in the pool view room and it was excellent, quite, cool and very roomy. The staff were very polite and helpful which made the stay perfect. Yes the style is back in the eighties but I think this is what gives it its charm. The gardens and beautiful and pools are well kept and is a joy to just walk around and sit in one of the many lounges and read or take a dip.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Peta-Anne N,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mirage as your accommodation for your recent conference. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the rooms quiet & cool, the team helpful and gardens, pools beautiful; thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Port Douglas should your travels bring your back from Perth.

Best regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I think Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas is the best hotel in Australia.
I stayed seven nights in November / December.
It was the best holiday I have ever experienced.
The resort is harmonious with the tropical flora and fauna.
This resort has a beautiful aura.
Mellifluous healing energy revitalises, reenergises and restores.
The gardens are enchanting.
The resorts mystique peaks in the early morning.
Many happy memories have been created at this resort.
There is so much to treasure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear GreenDolphin306,

Greetings from the Sheraton Mirage, thank you so much for staying with late last year and I appreciate your valueable feedback relating to our resort and so pleased you have such wonderful memories.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to have a chance to host your stay again with Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas. Do contact us via the above email link.


Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Room is a bit old. But we have the pool view with 25 bucks extra and it's beautiful. Additional 10 bucks for room service is a turn off. Do buy the discount vouchers for 240, it works out 20 bucks for a breakfast - good value.
Pool is excellent - a real delight.
Hotel lobby is very grand - free internet as well.
I wish free wifi provided in the room too coz it's an expensive hotel.
The green idea is great, you get 15 bucks credit if you don't require daily room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, lachlan Walker. General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear markchanchan

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed the location, views and breakfast and appreciate the complimentary wireless in the Lobby areas and last but not least out Green Initiative.

Markchanchan. do reach out to us for your next visit.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingley Village, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms are fairly old, but everything worked and the beds were comfy and the room was spacious. The pools are amazing and just beautiful. The resort meals were a little over priced, but we chose to eat in town most nights and had some wonderful meals.
The staff were friendly, polite and helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Ros F,

Appreciate you taking the time to pass on your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

Your comments with regards the staff are appreciated as our team do love doing all possible to make each and every stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. The Sheraton “sweet sleeper” beds are a recent addition as part of our overall refurbishment plan and all rooms have now been replaced with this new bedding.

When you next return please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Services Manager, Annie Grant so that we can ensure you are looked after via the above email hotel link. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Regards

Andrew Wallis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in early April. The rooms are very eighties and a lot of the interior of the main hotel feels very dated. The grounds are great though with lots of pools, loads of chairs and beach access. The staff are as per all Sheraton - very professional and accommodating.
We also used the slightly separate sunbird spa which has a great hippie feel to it. The treatments were very good and not extortionate at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Doctorh,

Thank you for your feedback and please allow me to respond to your review, particularly in relation to the staff here at the resort – the team will be very pleased, customer focus is high on our agenda and I shall ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

The “character” of our rooms are often commented on – we are in the final stages of a refurbishment plan with the Resort’s new owners whom are keen to retain the charisma of the building, whilst offering state of the art facilities in the rooms that will no doubt rival our lagoons and tropical garden areas. Good to read that you were able to find some time to enjoy our spa – a wide range of treatments are available and the team have built a solid reputation not only with our guests but also the local market. We'll pass htis on to the Spa Owner and Manager.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future, if I the interim I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly via the above email Hotel link.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wallis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Please refer to review Just Terrible on the 9th April 2013. My wife & I agree totally with the comments made. The pool bar service was non existence, I pushed the Service Bell 4 times over a period of approx. 15 minutes with no service offered. The only customers being served where not in the pool, I approached the bar staff and advised then that they should close the pools bar as no service is being provided. ( We then went in to Port Douglas for lunch)

As a Starwood Preferred Guest I found that the check in was far from the standard of service provided by other establishments. We had to find our own way to the room where other guests were escorted to their room In a buggy which also carried their luggage. ( this service was not offered to us)

We stayed in Room 2035 on the 22/03/2013 and the room was reasonable and clean, however all the Electrical Inspection Tags on the Iron (2009), kettle(2010) and hairdryer (2008) expired in the years shown.

As regular travellers to Port Douglas we will consider very carefully if we stay at this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear lynette I

Thank you for your review; Lynette poor service is completely unacceptable at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas, and on behalf of our team here we apologise for the lapses in service in the pool bar and your arrival and check in experience. The care of our guests is paramount and we regret your impressions. I wish to reassure you that we follow the highset of standards of safety guidelines and all our guests rooms are fitted with an RCD (Residual Current Device or Safety Switch) that provides a power cut-off in a unexpected problem situations. An RCD monitors the current flow in the active and neutral wires of the power lead or device connected to it, all the time looking for an imbalance or difference in the currents in each wire. Our Engineer is immediately re checking with the correct regulatory authorities on the 1 to 5 year inspection guidelines we were advsied and thank you for raising this.

Lynette I, I do hope you will give us another chance and an opportunity to turn around your negative impression of our service. Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond.

Many thanks

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.