We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% off until March 2015
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Dingley Village, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms are fairly old, but everything worked and the beds were comfy and the room was spacious. The pools are amazing and just beautiful. The resort meals were a little over priced, but we chose to eat in town most nights and had some wonderful meals.
The staff were friendly, polite and helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Ros F,

Appreciate you taking the time to pass on your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

Your comments with regards the staff are appreciated as our team do love doing all possible to make each and every stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. The Sheraton “sweet sleeper” beds are a recent addition as part of our overall refurbishment plan and all rooms have now been replaced with this new bedding.

When you next return please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Services Manager, Annie Grant so that we can ensure you are looked after via the above email hotel link. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Regards

Andrew Wallis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    484
    297
    131
    79
See reviews for
386
619
36
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in early April. The rooms are very eighties and a lot of the interior of the main hotel feels very dated. The grounds are great though with lots of pools, loads of chairs and beach access. The staff are as per all Sheraton - very professional and accommodating.
We also used the slightly separate sunbird spa which has a great hippie feel to it. The treatments were very good and not extortionate at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Doctorh,

Thank you for your feedback and please allow me to respond to your review, particularly in relation to the staff here at the resort – the team will be very pleased, customer focus is high on our agenda and I shall ensure your comments are passed on to the team.

The “character” of our rooms are often commented on – we are in the final stages of a refurbishment plan with the Resort’s new owners whom are keen to retain the charisma of the building, whilst offering state of the art facilities in the rooms that will no doubt rival our lagoons and tropical garden areas. Good to read that you were able to find some time to enjoy our spa – a wide range of treatments are available and the team have built a solid reputation not only with our guests but also the local market. We'll pass htis on to the Spa Owner and Manager.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future, if I the interim I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly via the above email Hotel link.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wallis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Please refer to review Just Terrible on the 9th April 2013. My wife & I agree totally with the comments made. The pool bar service was non existence, I pushed the Service Bell 4 times over a period of approx. 15 minutes with no service offered. The only customers being served where not in the pool, I approached the bar staff and advised then that they should close the pools bar as no service is being provided. ( We then went in to Port Douglas for lunch)

As a Starwood Preferred Guest I found that the check in was far from the standard of service provided by other establishments. We had to find our own way to the room where other guests were escorted to their room In a buggy which also carried their luggage. ( this service was not offered to us)

We stayed in Room 2035 on the 22/03/2013 and the room was reasonable and clean, however all the Electrical Inspection Tags on the Iron (2009), kettle(2010) and hairdryer (2008) expired in the years shown.

As regular travellers to Port Douglas we will consider very carefully if we stay at this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear lynette I

Thank you for your review; Lynette poor service is completely unacceptable at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas, and on behalf of our team here we apologise for the lapses in service in the pool bar and your arrival and check in experience. The care of our guests is paramount and we regret your impressions. I wish to reassure you that we follow the highset of standards of safety guidelines and all our guests rooms are fitted with an RCD (Residual Current Device or Safety Switch) that provides a power cut-off in a unexpected problem situations. An RCD monitors the current flow in the active and neutral wires of the power lead or device connected to it, all the time looking for an imbalance or difference in the currents in each wire. Our Engineer is immediately re checking with the correct regulatory authorities on the 1 to 5 year inspection guidelines we were advsied and thank you for raising this.

Lynette I, I do hope you will give us another chance and an opportunity to turn around your negative impression of our service. Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond.

Many thanks

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved the gorgeous pools at this resort, which is right next to the beach. Never seen so many lovely pools, set among palm trees.

Buffet breakfast was creative and delicious, but the other meals were expensive and definitely not 5 star! Room service was good, but a $10 delivery charge was a turn-off! Buffet dinner was below average, with limited variety for the price. We ended up leaving the resort for the much better restaurants at Port Douglas. Kids club was expensive at $50 for half a day and we were charged $15 per day for the Aqua Play.

Resort is a bit dated, but our room was comfortable and quiet. Beach towels provided which was helpful.

Guest Laundry is very far from rooms, which was tricky with a huge bag of wet washing. A bit of a hassle.

Room Tip: Chose a garden room, as much quieter than the rooms near the pools or bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear June C

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort and pleased your enjoyed your stay overall and loved the pools, beach setting and palm trees. Thank you for mentioning the rooms were quiet and comfortable and you found the breakfast buffet creative and delicious. We do note your feedback on the price of kids club that operates over Australian school holidays. Pricing pending the number of children does reduce however for one child for half a day it is $50.00 including activities and refreshments, it is important that the attendants have the right credentials when supervising children hence the costs and working around specified regulations; we do request 24 hours notice for bookings, this is preferred. The self service laundry is located in the Sunbird Centre as mentioned, we do however have a 24/7 Laundry service (chargeable) and the team will collect your laundry and drop this off back to your room pressed and folded for you; press 9 on your phone.

Your feedback on cuisine is noted; thank you and I will discuss this with our culinary team and value the feedback. In relation to pricing we are inline with other restaurants in Port Douglas and Resorts in Australia and do competitively shop regularly. However, the resort offers Mirage hour in the Daintree Lounge with 25% discounts, and the Simply Sheraton Quick Bite Menu is available in your room at great value. This is simple food like Dumplings, Pizza, or Burgers served take away style and does not attract a service charge. Additionally there is also the Mirage Dining Passport that can be purchased at reception during your stay which does represent great savings when dining at the Resort. Additionally there are offers that include breakfast in your room rate and also our great Star Privilege card program do contact us for more details on this program.

June C, do contact us directly via the above email hotel link and for your next visit we can tailor a package for you that includes kids club, aqua play, breakfast and accommodation.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit in 12 months. It really is a wonderful classy place to stay! Firstly I always find the staff friendly and helpful. My room was very good and comfortable. The swimming pools are excellent!! Clean and well maintained. Il pescatore restaurant was excellent and very good value for money!! (see my report on the Lagoon restaurant - it's good but I feel expensive)!!
The location on 4 mile beach is great and I was encouraged to be as active and healthy as I could. I noted a regular bus service up to Macrossan Street as well.
I great place for a holiday and I will be back))

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Steve803

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your choosing the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for a second visit and for sharing your kind insights into the resort. We are thrilled your enjoyed your stay and do appreciate the gift of feedback from a Top Contributor.

Steve803, many thanks and do reach out to us directly to make your next booking via the above email us link.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay at the Sheraton Mirage was very good. The room was spacious, very clean and offered all the amenities travellers need and want. It is obviously not a newly refurbished property, but it was very well maintained over the years. The 80's look is kind of charming! The pool area was beautiful. More then enough space for everyone even if the hotel was fully booked over the weekend. The only complaint I have is that the food and beverages outlets did not offer anything amazing and since the resort is a bit outside of downtown Port Douglas, it would have been nice to have amazing food at the hotel. Besides that service was in general pretty good, Ebony at the front desk was very helpfull! Like a lot of big properties, there was a lack of staff. We loved our stay and hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Make yourself a favour and stay at this great hotel for more than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear LouisEmerich

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holiday in the tropics and for sharing your positive feedback. Additionally we appreciate your comments on the cuisine and I will discuss this with our Culinary Team. Your comments on our Guest Services associate Ebony are valued and I will pass this on to Ebony personally; thank you.

LouisEmerich, once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort next time your plans bring you back to Port Douglas.

Warm regards

Lachlan

Lachlan Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would like to take this time in thanking all the staff at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas especially Kristina Hughes in reservations. Kristina arranged our accommodation and transfers for us. I did send her a few emails and she was always very pleasant and helpful.

We booked 3 rooms from 11th April until 18th April 2013.

Wow wow what can I say about your resort. It is amazing. Even though it is a bit out dated it is very clean and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

The reception lounge area is enormous and very comfortable.

We only stayed 4 nights but we wished we could have stayed longer.

The gardens and pools are fantastic. The best we have stayed at.

We had buffet breakfast each morning and what a great selection of food to choose from. Amazing breakfast.

We also had a buffet dinner one night and you could not fault the selection of food that was served.

My daughter was celebrating her 40th birthday with the family and had booked the restaurant for the family dinner on the night of her birthday (Sunday 14th April) but her husband was told whilst we were there that the restaurant was closed on the Sunday night.

As this had been booked and she had arranged for your chef to make her birthday cake they opened the restaurant just for us.

We had a beautiful meal outside on the terrace and our waitress (sorry I did not get her name) was delightful.

We got a fantastic price for our accommodation which included breakfast but I know that the prices will go up dramatically when you have done the refurbishments. I am hoping that we can have another holiday there and stay longer this time before the prices do go up.

Thank you all again for a wonderful 4 day break. I will certainly be recommending your resort.

Room Tip: Delux garden room was spacious and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valerie T,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent experience at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

We do appreciate your positive feedback of the resort facilities and offerings; the fun had swimming in our Lagoon pools and the picturesque tropical gardens. The resort does offer a great value experience.

We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the size does help you relax comfortably. Our fabulous breakfast buffet also our seafood dinner buffets do ensure a great selection to tempt all tastebuds.

The staff around the hotel being very helpful & friendly, especially Kristina providing great service very much valued; thank you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas in the future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.