We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Douglas Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 4 & Save from $165
Ranked #34 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Port Douglas Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked our family holiday through "My Qld Holiday" after planning a trip to Port Douglas and seeing a full page advert in the travel section of the paper. The package included such a range of special deals, two-for-one offers, "kids stay free", buffet breakfast inclusions, two reef day trips etc etc that we figured we couldn't go wrong.
The accommodation at the Sheraton Mirage - in a superior lagoon room - was spectacular, with beautiful tropical gardens surrounding the resort and beach frontage from the restaurant and bar. I had read some scathing reviews after booking, but prior to arriving, which complained about the shabby and out-dated decor and lack of maintenance. However, we found the friendly staff to be very busy keeping the place looking clean and tidy, cleaning the pool and windows, weeding & mulching the garden and pressure-cleaning the extensive concrete pathways.
This was our first stay in a five star resort and everything we hoped for. Spacious, tropical and very, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms had absolute pool frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Brittgow,

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was so enjoyable. It certainly pays to do your research and find the best deals available.

We have a great location on Four Mile Beach and our own lagoons, pools and gardens blend in very well with our surroundings.

I am very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and I trust that they took good care of you.

It is good to read that your first 5 Star experience has been a good one and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Lachlan Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    459
    287
    130
    73
See reviews for
376
597
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed there in November 2012 and we loved it so much we decided to have our wedding there in Oct 2013 which we are looking forward to so much. The staff have been extremely helpful with all our wedding arrangements so far. We loved the resort and felt that the rooms are very suited to the tropical surrounds and not clinical like so many other hotels. The grounds and facilities were wonderful and the pools amazing. We can't wait to go back there for our wedding and would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: The Mirage Garden rooms are big and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Tanya S

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have arranged to have your wedding at the Resort later this year and we look forward to welcoming you and your fiance back to Port Douglas.

Being situated right on Four Mile Beach is wonderful - just perfect for that early morning or evening stroll along the beach. The lagoons, pools and gardens give the Resort a relaxed, tropical feel - the perfect place to unwind.

The team looks forward to October and your very special day. Do reach out to Jessica our Wedding Specialist if we can asssit in any way via the above email us link.

Kind regards,

Lachlan Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week of relaxtion, fantastic swimming in the gorgeous pools surrounding the resort and fine food. We are return visitors and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once again, the staff were wonderful, very helpful and happy with any queries we had. The gardens are just gorgeous and wonderful to stroll through and enjoy. The accommodation is very pleasant, don't be put off with the dated decor it was very opulent in its day but still quite OK as the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed all that Sheraton Mirage has to offer, it was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear JoyRon641

Thank you for returning to and choosing the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

The team were thrilled to read you review and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us again; thank you.

Please reach out to when you are next making your reservation as we’d love to assist.

All the best, warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were fortunate to have had a week there in Feb 2013. It is set in 23 connected lagoons by 4 mile beach. WOW. Our room faced the lagoons and we had a wonderful view. The room was very large and was very well appointed with a fab large bathroom. Good towels and toiletries every day. I must say all the staff were so helpful , cheerful and so nice. The gardens are beautiful and so natural. It was lovely being so close to the beach and being able to access it so easily. We ate there and the restaurants were very good and were not that expensive considering that the hotel is 5 star. We had room service a couple of times and the service was very good. My only complaint was that the hotel had no entertainment and as it is out of town that would be nice. The bus service though was good and at least it ran until 11.oo p.m.

Room Tip: lagoon view on 3rd floor. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear sheilah933

Thank you for placing your view on TripAdvisor and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I note your wonderful feedback on the service, spacious rooms and restaurants and also on the entertainment; this is much apprecited. We'll discuss this with the food & beverage team.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woy woy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Mirage and found the hotel to be in quite good shape for its age. Yes, the facades around the pool area may require a bit of a paint job, accommodation outside walls, etc,.But all in all, we found everywhere to be well maintained. The service that we received from ALL staff was excellent. They were all courteous, and very helpful in all of our requests. Nothing was a problem! Then, there was the food. Brilliant! Especially the Seafood buffet night. WOW! We ate at the restaurant a few nights, and the food there was also very nice. The breakfasts were very good, with a wide range of culinary delights to suit most tastes. We also experienced the buffet night, and great value for money at $45 per head. The porters out at the front were very obliging. We were a party of four, and would thoroughly recommend the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for a really enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: We went for a ground floor with a balcony, and found this to be perfect for us, after firstly being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ventrical,

Thank you for positive feedback, particularly the comments relating to the service you received from the staff here. We pride ourselves on our service levels and the team will enjoy reading your comments.

I can only agree that the seafood buffet is excellent and enjoyed by many of our local residents as well as our hotel guests. The breakfast option in Lagoons which overlooks the pools makes for a great start to the day and happy to read that you also enjoyed this experience.

Trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were travelling as a party of 7. On arrival our checkin agent was not welcoming and lacked a friendly personality that you come to expect on arrival at any hotel/resort. I was very disappointed and upset to be told that whilst a travel cot had been requested, there was no record of this and if I did require a cot there would be a fee of $25 per night. I've stayed in many hotels and resorts and never had to pay for a cot. The rooms we stayed in were very clean and of a decent size and could probably do with updating. The pillows were a bit of a mixed bag. Some good, others flat and lumpy and could do with being replaced. The breakfast was excellent and offered huge variety. We ate at both restaurants for dinner and both provided good food and value for money. The grounds and gardens are well maintained and provided a lovely tropical oasis. The pools were also good. The option of not having your room serviced each day and receiving a $15 credit towards food and beverages was an excellent idea and a shame more hotels don’t offer this. Overall resort staff were warm, welcoming and very friendly and contributed to our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a west facing room so clothes/swimmers dry quicker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Cathryn J

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay, pleasing to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one.

Our 'Make Your Choice' program which allows for each guest to receive $15.00 towards food and beverage should they not have their room serviced is very popular - it also makes an important impact on our environmental efforts around the resort in general. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the restaurants and the tropical gardens that surround the resort.

Our apologise that your arrival experience was not as you had anticipated, your comments will be shared with our Front Desk team as this is an area of great focus for us. I understand your frustrations with regards to your cot request – we are able to provide this facility although there is a hire fee of $25.00 which is in line with other resorts and hotels in the area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope that we can look forwards to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Mirage.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from an 8-day stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.
This hotel has been around for a long time and it shows. It is in a very tired state however this did not detract from our wonderful holiday. The Sheraton Mirage at Port Douglas is a Grand Dame in the scheme of things and is the best we have ever stayed. This was a great time to visit - no crowds and the climate perfect, however because it is classed "the wet season", there weren't as many staff as usual. This did not make any difference to us and this hotel and location will definitely be on our annual holiday list. I have stayed at others in Port Douglas and this was the very best. The shuttle into the town of PD is too expensive and I think as a guest at the Sheraton, a voucher system should be in place. A hop-on/hop-off ticket is $15 per person per day and a return trip without on/off is $9 per person. Pretty expensive when there is a family.

Room Tip: We chose a Deluxe Lagoon View which was excellent. This is a gorgeous resort. The Mirage View room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Frances G,

We very much appreciate your positive comments in regards to your recent stay and it was pleasing to read that your time with us was as expected.

The current owners of the resort are in the final stages of a full refurbishment plan and this is a very exciting time for us. Recently we have installed the Sheraton 'sweet sleeper' beds, upgraded our internet and movie link system and installed new pool furniture. Our two mock up rooms are near completion and we look forward to state of the art room facilities to match our lagoon and tropical garden areas.

The shuttle service into town is a public service and as a result we have no control over the charging policy. The service provides a regular pickup from the resort every half hour or there is the option of a lovely walk along four mile beach into town.

Thank you once again for your comments – I note that you may be considering a return in the near future, please feel free to touch base with Annie Grant our Guests Services Manager so that we can ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.