We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Time - Once Again - Thank You!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time - Once Again - Thank You!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week of relaxtion, fantastic swimming in the gorgeous pools surrounding the resort and fine food. We are return visitors and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once again, the staff were wonderful, very helpful and happy with any queries we had. The gardens are just gorgeous and wonderful to stroll through and enjoy. The accommodation is very pleasant, don't be put off with the dated decor it was very opulent in its day but still quite OK as the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed all that Sheraton Mirage has to offer, it was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear JoyRon641

Thank you for returning to and choosing the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

The team were thrilled to read you review and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us again; thank you.

Please reach out to when you are next making your reservation as we’d love to assist.

All the best, warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    484
    298
    132
    79
See reviews for
387
622
36
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were fortunate to have had a week there in Feb 2013. It is set in 23 connected lagoons by 4 mile beach. WOW. Our room faced the lagoons and we had a wonderful view. The room was very large and was very well appointed with a fab large bathroom. Good towels and toiletries every day. I must say all the staff were so helpful , cheerful and so nice. The gardens are beautiful and so natural. It was lovely being so close to the beach and being able to access it so easily. We ate there and the restaurants were very good and were not that expensive considering that the hotel is 5 star. We had room service a couple of times and the service was very good. My only complaint was that the hotel had no entertainment and as it is out of town that would be nice. The bus service though was good and at least it ran until 11.oo p.m.

Room Tip: lagoon view on 3rd floor. very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear sheilah933

Thank you for placing your view on TripAdvisor and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I note your wonderful feedback on the service, spacious rooms and restaurants and also on the entertainment; this is much apprecited. We'll discuss this with the food & beverage team.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woy woy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Mirage and found the hotel to be in quite good shape for its age. Yes, the facades around the pool area may require a bit of a paint job, accommodation outside walls, etc,.But all in all, we found everywhere to be well maintained. The service that we received from ALL staff was excellent. They were all courteous, and very helpful in all of our requests. Nothing was a problem! Then, there was the food. Brilliant! Especially the Seafood buffet night. WOW! We ate at the restaurant a few nights, and the food there was also very nice. The breakfasts were very good, with a wide range of culinary delights to suit most tastes. We also experienced the buffet night, and great value for money at $45 per head. The porters out at the front were very obliging. We were a party of four, and would thoroughly recommend the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for a really enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: We went for a ground floor with a balcony, and found this to be perfect for us, after firstly being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ventrical,

Thank you for positive feedback, particularly the comments relating to the service you received from the staff here. We pride ourselves on our service levels and the team will enjoy reading your comments.

I can only agree that the seafood buffet is excellent and enjoyed by many of our local residents as well as our hotel guests. The breakfast option in Lagoons which overlooks the pools makes for a great start to the day and happy to read that you also enjoyed this experience.

Trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were travelling as a party of 7. On arrival our checkin agent was not welcoming and lacked a friendly personality that you come to expect on arrival at any hotel/resort. I was very disappointed and upset to be told that whilst a travel cot had been requested, there was no record of this and if I did require a cot there would be a fee of $25 per night. I've stayed in many hotels and resorts and never had to pay for a cot. The rooms we stayed in were very clean and of a decent size and could probably do with updating. The pillows were a bit of a mixed bag. Some good, others flat and lumpy and could do with being replaced. The breakfast was excellent and offered huge variety. We ate at both restaurants for dinner and both provided good food and value for money. The grounds and gardens are well maintained and provided a lovely tropical oasis. The pools were also good. The option of not having your room serviced each day and receiving a $15 credit towards food and beverages was an excellent idea and a shame more hotels don’t offer this. Overall resort staff were warm, welcoming and very friendly and contributed to our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a west facing room so clothes/swimmers dry quicker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Cathryn J

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay, pleasing to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one.

Our 'Make Your Choice' program which allows for each guest to receive $15.00 towards food and beverage should they not have their room serviced is very popular - it also makes an important impact on our environmental efforts around the resort in general. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the restaurants and the tropical gardens that surround the resort.

Our apologise that your arrival experience was not as you had anticipated, your comments will be shared with our Front Desk team as this is an area of great focus for us. I understand your frustrations with regards to your cot request – we are able to provide this facility although there is a hire fee of $25.00 which is in line with other resorts and hotels in the area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope that we can look forwards to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Mirage.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from an 8-day stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.
This hotel has been around for a long time and it shows. It is in a very tired state however this did not detract from our wonderful holiday. The Sheraton Mirage at Port Douglas is a Grand Dame in the scheme of things and is the best we have ever stayed. This was a great time to visit - no crowds and the climate perfect, however because it is classed "the wet season", there weren't as many staff as usual. This did not make any difference to us and this hotel and location will definitely be on our annual holiday list. I have stayed at others in Port Douglas and this was the very best. The shuttle into the town of PD is too expensive and I think as a guest at the Sheraton, a voucher system should be in place. A hop-on/hop-off ticket is $15 per person per day and a return trip without on/off is $9 per person. Pretty expensive when there is a family.

Room Tip: We chose a Deluxe Lagoon View which was excellent. This is a gorgeous resort. The Mirage View room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Frances G,

We very much appreciate your positive comments in regards to your recent stay and it was pleasing to read that your time with us was as expected.

The current owners of the resort are in the final stages of a full refurbishment plan and this is a very exciting time for us. Recently we have installed the Sheraton 'sweet sleeper' beds, upgraded our internet and movie link system and installed new pool furniture. Our two mock up rooms are near completion and we look forward to state of the art room facilities to match our lagoon and tropical garden areas.

The shuttle service into town is a public service and as a result we have no control over the charging policy. The service provides a regular pickup from the resort every half hour or there is the option of a lovely walk along four mile beach into town.

Thank you once again for your comments – I note that you may be considering a return in the near future, please feel free to touch base with Annie Grant our Guests Services Manager so that we can ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here last week, reviews I had previously read about the resort being dated were quite true, can only imagine how it would of been the place to stay when it first opened, such a big resort and not half of it is being used. Reception area was massive but all those couches and no one around, We had a room in the north wing, walking into the corridor we were hit with a damp musty smell, this continued into the room, but after having the air con and the fan on its seemed to go. Couldnt help but wonder if room above us had once had a leak as the celing had all water marks and peeling paint. Rooms we nice enough but again dated. Clean enough though for the time we were there. Pool areas are fantastic but dont think they get cleaned very often and grounds were quite littered, dont know why people cant use a rubbish bin! Brochure in room stated that pillows were special but they were horrible! was tempted to go to target and buy my own. Bed sheets had some stains on them also. I saw that the resort will be undergoing some renovation which is good as I think it has some good competion with other resorts attracting more patrons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Shiona N,

Thank you for your recent comments and we trust that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Whilst we appreciate your comments concerning the overall appearance of the resort, the new owners are very proactive in their request to return the property to its former glory. A full refurbishment plan is in its final stages and our two mock up rooms are near completion. We look forward to state of the art room facilities that will match our unrivalled garden and lagoon areas of the resort.

We are just completing an upgrade of our internet facility, also new furniture around the pools has been installed and we have just commenced an upgrade of our in-house movie system.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and that you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Lake, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an older hotel located along 4 Mile Beach. However, every person working there made it a point to say hello and insure your stay there was enjoyable. We were especially pleased with the restaurant service personnel. Each and everyone of them did their utmost to make our meals special -Anne, Suli, Mr. Baby and Soni. Karen and Nikki were very helpful and upfront in assisting us with tours -much appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the main hotel area and possibly rooms looking out to the pools and even havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for your recent comments and we trust that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We are very proud of our employees and they are more than happy to assist every guest in any way that they can. Thank you for identifying some of them. We will be passing on your kind comments to them.

Training is an area of great importance to us and whilst there are always challenges in providing service to the standards that our guests have come to expect, we remain focussed as a management team in providing the best that we can.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and that you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.