We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save 50% - From $175
Ranked #33 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
woy woy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Mirage and found the hotel to be in quite good shape for its age. Yes, the facades around the pool area may require a bit of a paint job, accommodation outside walls, etc,.But all in all, we found everywhere to be well maintained. The service that we received from ALL staff was excellent. They were all courteous, and very helpful in all of our requests. Nothing was a problem! Then, there was the food. Brilliant! Especially the Seafood buffet night. WOW! We ate at the restaurant a few nights, and the food there was also very nice. The breakfasts were very good, with a wide range of culinary delights to suit most tastes. We also experienced the buffet night, and great value for money at $45 per head. The porters out at the front were very obliging. We were a party of four, and would thoroughly recommend the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas for a really enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: We went for a ground floor with a balcony, and found this to be perfect for us, after firstly being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ventrical,

Thank you for positive feedback, particularly the comments relating to the service you received from the staff here. We pride ourselves on our service levels and the team will enjoy reading your comments.

I can only agree that the seafood buffet is excellent and enjoyed by many of our local residents as well as our hotel guests. The breakfast option in Lagoons which overlooks the pools makes for a great start to the day and happy to read that you also enjoyed this experience.

Trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    446
    277
    124
    72
See reviews for
362
583
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were travelling as a party of 7. On arrival our checkin agent was not welcoming and lacked a friendly personality that you come to expect on arrival at any hotel/resort. I was very disappointed and upset to be told that whilst a travel cot had been requested, there was no record of this and if I did require a cot there would be a fee of $25 per night. I've stayed in many hotels and resorts and never had to pay for a cot. The rooms we stayed in were very clean and of a decent size and could probably do with updating. The pillows were a bit of a mixed bag. Some good, others flat and lumpy and could do with being replaced. The breakfast was excellent and offered huge variety. We ate at both restaurants for dinner and both provided good food and value for money. The grounds and gardens are well maintained and provided a lovely tropical oasis. The pools were also good. The option of not having your room serviced each day and receiving a $15 credit towards food and beverages was an excellent idea and a shame more hotels don’t offer this. Overall resort staff were warm, welcoming and very friendly and contributed to our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a west facing room so clothes/swimmers dry quicker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Cathryn J

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay, pleasing to read that your overall experience was an enjoyable one.

Our 'Make Your Choice' program which allows for each guest to receive $15.00 towards food and beverage should they not have their room serviced is very popular - it also makes an important impact on our environmental efforts around the resort in general. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the restaurants and the tropical gardens that surround the resort.

Our apologise that your arrival experience was not as you had anticipated, your comments will be shared with our Front Desk team as this is an area of great focus for us. I understand your frustrations with regards to your cot request – we are able to provide this facility although there is a hire fee of $25.00 which is in line with other resorts and hotels in the area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope that we can look forwards to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Mirage.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from an 8-day stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.
This hotel has been around for a long time and it shows. It is in a very tired state however this did not detract from our wonderful holiday. The Sheraton Mirage at Port Douglas is a Grand Dame in the scheme of things and is the best we have ever stayed. This was a great time to visit - no crowds and the climate perfect, however because it is classed "the wet season", there weren't as many staff as usual. This did not make any difference to us and this hotel and location will definitely be on our annual holiday list. I have stayed at others in Port Douglas and this was the very best. The shuttle into the town of PD is too expensive and I think as a guest at the Sheraton, a voucher system should be in place. A hop-on/hop-off ticket is $15 per person per day and a return trip without on/off is $9 per person. Pretty expensive when there is a family.

Room Tip: We chose a Deluxe Lagoon View which was excellent. This is a gorgeous resort. The Mirage View room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Frances G,

We very much appreciate your positive comments in regards to your recent stay and it was pleasing to read that your time with us was as expected.

The current owners of the resort are in the final stages of a full refurbishment plan and this is a very exciting time for us. Recently we have installed the Sheraton 'sweet sleeper' beds, upgraded our internet and movie link system and installed new pool furniture. Our two mock up rooms are near completion and we look forward to state of the art room facilities to match our lagoon and tropical garden areas.

The shuttle service into town is a public service and as a result we have no control over the charging policy. The service provides a regular pickup from the resort every half hour or there is the option of a lovely walk along four mile beach into town.

Thank you once again for your comments – I note that you may be considering a return in the near future, please feel free to touch base with Annie Grant our Guests Services Manager so that we can ensure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here last week, reviews I had previously read about the resort being dated were quite true, can only imagine how it would of been the place to stay when it first opened, such a big resort and not half of it is being used. Reception area was massive but all those couches and no one around, We had a room in the north wing, walking into the corridor we were hit with a damp musty smell, this continued into the room, but after having the air con and the fan on its seemed to go. Couldnt help but wonder if room above us had once had a leak as the celing had all water marks and peeling paint. Rooms we nice enough but again dated. Clean enough though for the time we were there. Pool areas are fantastic but dont think they get cleaned very often and grounds were quite littered, dont know why people cant use a rubbish bin! Brochure in room stated that pillows were special but they were horrible! was tempted to go to target and buy my own. Bed sheets had some stains on them also. I saw that the resort will be undergoing some renovation which is good as I think it has some good competion with other resorts attracting more patrons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Shiona N,

Thank you for your recent comments and we trust that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Whilst we appreciate your comments concerning the overall appearance of the resort, the new owners are very proactive in their request to return the property to its former glory. A full refurbishment plan is in its final stages and our two mock up rooms are near completion. We look forward to state of the art room facilities that will match our unrivalled garden and lagoon areas of the resort.

We are just completing an upgrade of our internet facility, also new furniture around the pools has been installed and we have just commenced an upgrade of our in-house movie system.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and that you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Lake, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an older hotel located along 4 Mile Beach. However, every person working there made it a point to say hello and insure your stay there was enjoyable. We were especially pleased with the restaurant service personnel. Each and everyone of them did their utmost to make our meals special -Anne, Suli, Mr. Baby and Soni. Karen and Nikki were very helpful and upfront in assisting us with tours -much appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the main hotel area and possibly rooms looking out to the pools and even havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for your recent comments and we trust that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We are very proud of our employees and they are more than happy to assist every guest in any way that they can. Thank you for identifying some of them. We will be passing on your kind comments to them.

Training is an area of great importance to us and whilst there are always challenges in providing service to the standards that our guests have come to expect, we remain focussed as a management team in providing the best that we can.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and that you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville NSW
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our first time to PD, Spent 4 nights in early March (off season) had plenty of things to offer. rooms were a little dated, however they were very comfortable. I am not a big fan of super soft pillows, so had a little trouble sleeping, this may have also been dated mattresses. staff were very polite & only too happy to help. food was terrific & plenty to choose from. Golf course could of been maintained a little more, however I know its their "off season' so will let that slide, was great to play on. overall a pleasant place to stay (there is some upgrading work happening at the moment in the South wing, so things will be looking up

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMourelle, Reservations Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ian W,
Thank you for posting your thought from your recent stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service provided by our associates and the variety of food offerings that we have available.
Regarding your pillows, each room features 2 feather-down pillows and 2 synthetic polyester pillows. We also keep firmer pillows in Housekeeping which are available on request. Our matresses have only just been replaced with brand new "Sheraton Sweet Sleeper" matresses.
Ian W, as you may have seen in previous review responses, the resort is in the planning stages of a full refurbishment project which we are all very excited about. This refurbishment will focus on upgrading the rooms and gold course facilities.

We hope to see you back at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Mourelle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

this is our 2nd stay at the mirage port douglas and we have had the best holidays staying there.the staff are fantastic and greet you with a lovely warm smile and go out of there way to help make it a fantastic holiday. sharon at the tour desk was great in every way this is the 2nd time she has help us with any tours or advice on what to do or where to go she goes that extra mile to help you have a great holiday and the pool bar staff were also excellent. the room was very clean and well kept. the pools where well kept and the gardens were fantastic.we have no problems returning again next year on our 30 wedding year. thanks to all staff for looking after us on our 9 night staff thanks wayne walsh

Room Tip: the mirage garden rooms are very nice with balcony and spa and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMourelle, Reservations Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Janine W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback from your recent stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas. I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to the resort.
We pride ourselves on the service our associates deliver to our guests, so thank you for recognising Sharon on our Tour Desk and our pool bar assocaites as well.
Janine W, please do not hesitate to connect with me on the above email link to book your next stay with us. I will be deligthed to assist you in making your 30th wedding anniversary memorable.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Mourelle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.