We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here last week, reviews I had previously read about the resort being dated were quite true, can only imagine how it would of been the place to stay when it first opened, such a big resort and not half of it is being used. Reception area was massive but all those couches and no one around, We had a room in the north wing, walking into the corridor we were hit with a damp musty smell, this continued into the room, but after having the air con and the fan on its seemed to go. Couldnt help but wonder if room above us had once had a leak as the celing had all water marks and peeling paint. Rooms we nice enough but again dated. Clean enough though for the time we were there. Pool areas are fantastic but dont think they get cleaned very often and grounds were quite littered, dont know why people cant use a rubbish bin! Brochure in room stated that pillows were special but they were horrible! was tempted to go to target and buy my own. Bed sheets had some stains on them also. I saw that the resort will be undergoing some renovation which is good as I think it has some good competion with other resorts attracting more patrons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Shiona N,

Thank you for your recent comments and we trust that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Whilst we appreciate your comments concerning the overall appearance of the resort, the new owners are very proactive in their request to return the property to its former glory. A full refurbishment plan is in its final stages and our two mock up rooms are near completion. We look forward to state of the art room facilities that will match our unrivalled garden and lagoon areas of the resort.

We are just completing an upgrade of our internet facility, also new furniture around the pools has been installed and we have just commenced an upgrade of our in-house movie system.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and that you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    471
    290
    130
    76
See reviews for
380
606
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christopher Lake, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an older hotel located along 4 Mile Beach. However, every person working there made it a point to say hello and insure your stay there was enjoyable. We were especially pleased with the restaurant service personnel. Each and everyone of them did their utmost to make our meals special -Anne, Suli, Mr. Baby and Soni. Karen and Nikki were very helpful and upfront in assisting us with tours -much appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the main hotel area and possibly rooms looking out to the pools and even havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for your recent comments and we trust that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We are very proud of our employees and they are more than happy to assist every guest in any way that they can. Thank you for identifying some of them. We will be passing on your kind comments to them.

Training is an area of great importance to us and whilst there are always challenges in providing service to the standards that our guests have come to expect, we remain focussed as a management team in providing the best that we can.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and that you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville NSW
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our first time to PD, Spent 4 nights in early March (off season) had plenty of things to offer. rooms were a little dated, however they were very comfortable. I am not a big fan of super soft pillows, so had a little trouble sleeping, this may have also been dated mattresses. staff were very polite & only too happy to help. food was terrific & plenty to choose from. Golf course could of been maintained a little more, however I know its their "off season' so will let that slide, was great to play on. overall a pleasant place to stay (there is some upgrading work happening at the moment in the South wing, so things will be looking up

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMourelle, Reservations Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ian W,
Thank you for posting your thought from your recent stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service provided by our associates and the variety of food offerings that we have available.
Regarding your pillows, each room features 2 feather-down pillows and 2 synthetic polyester pillows. We also keep firmer pillows in Housekeeping which are available on request. Our matresses have only just been replaced with brand new "Sheraton Sweet Sleeper" matresses.
Ian W, as you may have seen in previous review responses, the resort is in the planning stages of a full refurbishment project which we are all very excited about. This refurbishment will focus on upgrading the rooms and gold course facilities.

We hope to see you back at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Mourelle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

this is our 2nd stay at the mirage port douglas and we have had the best holidays staying there.the staff are fantastic and greet you with a lovely warm smile and go out of there way to help make it a fantastic holiday. sharon at the tour desk was great in every way this is the 2nd time she has help us with any tours or advice on what to do or where to go she goes that extra mile to help you have a great holiday and the pool bar staff were also excellent. the room was very clean and well kept. the pools where well kept and the gardens were fantastic.we have no problems returning again next year on our 30 wedding year. thanks to all staff for looking after us on our 9 night staff thanks wayne walsh

Room Tip: the mirage garden rooms are very nice with balcony and spa and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewMourelle, Reservations Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Janine W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback from your recent stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas. I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to the resort.
We pride ourselves on the service our associates deliver to our guests, so thank you for recognising Sharon on our Tour Desk and our pool bar assocaites as well.
Janine W, please do not hesitate to connect with me on the above email link to book your next stay with us. I will be deligthed to assist you in making your 30th wedding anniversary memorable.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Mourelle
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent a week here and enjoyed it very much. Every person at the hotel from housekeeping to the wait staff make a point of greeting you and smiling, a pleasant change from some hotels. The hotel upgraded our room and wished my husband a happy birthday. Suilian in the restaurant was a pleasure to deal with and I was happy she served us on more than one night. The pools around the hotel are amazing and very clean, the sun lounges beautiful and comfortable and plenty of them as well. Our room was great, a large television and lots of space. I have seen a few comments talking about the dated fittings but they were not evident in our room. Both dinners at Il Pescatore and Lagoons were nice and reasonable value considering the setting. Some of the resort is showing its age but this is to be expected and in the areas where it counts cleanliness and service this resort will not let you down. We came to the Sheraton stressed out and tense, we left relaxed and happy and planning our next trip there. Thank you to Annie Grant, Lorraine, Suilian and all the staff, you are a credit to the hotel

Room Tip: Our corner room had plenty of space and a loveley view of the golf course Room 3315
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sprintmum,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you returned home refreshed and relaxed. We are very proud of our employees and they are more than happy to assist every guest in any way that they can. Thank you for identifying some of them. We will be passing on your kind comments to them.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Sheraton Mirage for 4 nights in March. The resort needs an upgrade but still a beautiful resort . the reception desk struggles with deals that we had. Staff are very friendly but not efficient in what's going on. . We had people's bags delivered to our room when my husband was still in shower we had another night !! The golf course was very disappointing the worst conditions we have ever played on such a shame for such a beautiful layout . Not enough staff there to mantain it. We ended up playing the following day at Seatemple which was beautiful. We love the pools at Mirage and hope the new owner renovate this magniciant resort!! Would love to go back when all under control.


Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that the golf course did not meet your expectations and I have forwarded your comments to the Country Club Manager.

Our Operations Manager has taken on board your comments regarding staff inefficiency and will be addressing the issues that you raised.

We are planning a complete refurbishment of the property and this will be a gradual programme so that our guests are not inconvenienced during their stay with us.

Thanks again for your comments and we would love to welcome you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Robert De Carlo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Been to Port Douglas before, but our last time for our 30 years anivarsary last October was out of this world.The hotel room, the pools, the food and location were worth every penny. I am angling to go back next year for my wifes 50th. Cant wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear TonyRed22

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back next year for your wife's 50th.

Let us know when you are coming.

Kind regards,
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.