We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the weather, stay for the Lagoons.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Come for the weather, stay for the Lagoons.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cairns and Port Douglas is a fabulous place to visit any time of the year. The wet seasons brings its own highlights. The Sheraton was built in the 1980's and it shows, but let that put you off. The lagoons are to die for - they have ocean water pumped into them and are just heavenly. Floating around in a lagoon for an hour twice a day in the tropics is just so relaxing. NO other hotel/resort can offer you what this place does.

The room are a large size. They currently show their age but have large screen LCD TV and all mod cons. The beds are very comfortable. The airconditioning is marginal but acceptable. The gold platted taps are now worn and the glamour of the 1980's is now past. There was one wing closed and a major refurbishment is under way. However the available rates now on offer make it a bargain.

The service is acceptable although there does seem to be a lack of staff. The food is good, without being brilliant. It is of course right on the beach but more than a walk from town. A shuttle bus is provided at extra cost.

If you accept that some of the resort is showing its age but acknowledge that the lagoons are the attraction you will have an awesome time. If you dont swim, float or enjoy the water dont stay here

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are fine. No rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear BrisbaneNewDad,

Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Sheraton Mirage. Great to read you enjoyed relaxing in our pools in the great PD sunshine.

Regarding the age of the property, we are currently working with our new owners on refurbishment plans for the property; though glad the new LCD TV’s and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds added to your stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

Kind Regards,
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    471
    290
    130
    76
See reviews for
380
608
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A beautiful impressive looking resort. Grandness is sadly a little rare these days with holiday resorts. This one certainly has a bit of the old school grandness which is refreshing.

yes it is a little tired due to age, but i think it makes up for it with great staff and just the fact that it is a big place. It has great access to the beach. Can't swim there but beautiful to walk along in the mornings and evenings.

The pools are wonderful. So many, ones nicely heated close to the swim up bar. Great activities for the kids with the obstacle course.

Even the day visitor facilities on offer are very good from what I hear.

A little old in terms of the bathrooms and toilets but it is to be expected I think.

One thing I did notice was that there seemed to be an unusual amount of confusion amongst the pool bar staff about who's order went where. It is great that the staff serve you poolside and you can walk up and order or hail down one of them and place your order but we constantly kept seeing lost looking staff asking around for whos drink was whos and wondering where to drop off food at the eating area.

I also felt that the till at the bar by the pool was under staffed. Or there was only one person that knew what was going on and he was stressed out with having to deal with so many queries from other staff. he did a great job and hey I wasn't in any hurry at the time. A better order management process would make for a better impression to the guests I would think.

Overall I would definitely go back there again. When you have a young family you don't want to have to go anywhere to do stuff. Here you can just relax... and hang out at the resort and enjoy the lagoons for hours and really feel like holidaying without the need to rush and go out and explore etc etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear travelfreaks4lyfe

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback with regards to your stay at the Sheraton Mirage.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, thank you. Delighted that you will return!

We'll certainly follow up on the poolside service and I do apologise for the inconvenience caused, also we note the feedback and will discuss with the F&B manager possible adjustments to the service flow / ordering process for better efficiency and flow.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

Regards,
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I waited 23years & 3 months almost, to visit this icon however if you like great air conditioning and modern decor the Sheraton Mirage is showing her age. Insect infestation in planter boxes did not allow us to open windows to cool down a very hot room due to the inefficiencies of air conditioning.
Sleeping in a five star resort with a wet towel on your chest under the ceiling fan is not my idea of 5 star. Restaurants are expensive and smorgasbord noisy and commercial rather than delivering a feeling of luxury. Even when it rained the rooms were hot!

Room Tip: Many options in nearby area which may deliver a better experience. ramada has just been upgraded and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, EAM Operations at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear K Lee,

Thank you for your review and sorry to learn via Tripadvisor now that we fell below your expectations. I write with reference to your recent stay at The Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas, and I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your feedback.

I was very sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations – and want to assure you that your comments will be followed up by the management team here at the resort.

The problems you have reported in regards to the air conditioning have been forwarded to our Engineering department and the issue has been addressed.
I sincerely apologise for the discomfort of the air conditioner in your room. I have reached out to you directly to find out some more information regarding your stay, and whether the issue was reported during your stay.

Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond.

Regards.
Robert De Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a property that is absolutely in need of a re-furb. However it is still clean, very comfortable and with excellent service.

Rooms are spacious and surrounded by eight large saltwater lagoons which is just wonderful given that the presence of marine stingers prevent you going in the sea for almost half the year. The water in the lagoon is warm and clean and even though the resort was pretty full, you dont have people all over you when swimming. The hotel fronts Four Mile Beach so when the stingers arent around, you have a lovely beach at which to swim.

Service is excellent with all staff encountered unfailingly helpful, very professional and polite. It is also one of the few Starwood Hotels in this country that actually provide the benefits to guest who have elite status in the SPG Program. I was upgraded, offered my Platinum benefits, even though I was partially using points for my stay. Thank you.

Food is very good with an excellent breakfast and although due to the crowded holiday period, the breakfast area was a bit akin to feeding time at the zoo, the food and service was very good. Room service was also prompt and decent quality.

Bed was very good and comfy with a choice of excellent pillows. My bathroom had a spa and the room had a faily spacious blacony complete with table and chairs overlooking a lagoon. I love the celing fans in the rooms as it means you can kill the aircon at night and just sleep with the fan.

I came for peace, quiet and a rest -- I was so happy & content here, I extended my stay for two days and will be back later this year.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a lagoon view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear SmartTraveller

Thank you for your review and we are appreciative of your kind works regarding our resort and valued from one of Platinum SPG members.

SmartTraveller, we look forward to your return.

All the best for 2013

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 nights over New Year at the Sheraton and after reading previous reviews, expected the hotel to be dated. What we actually found was a spotless, vast hotel with huge public spaces. The lagoon pools were second to none, clean, warm and never crowded. Service from the pool bar was always fine for us but we did not order food. Our room was a superior lagoon king and again, whilst a little dated was well kept, spotless and huge. The bed rivalled any we have previously slept in for comfort, the shower was the most powerful we have had in a hotel and the docking station was a bonus. Air con powerful and all other room facilities indicative of a good hotel.
Breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order and great pastries etc.
As seasoned travellers and travel industry employees, in our opinion, the main let down is the calibre of the guests who stay here. Lots of kids (understandable as over the holidays) but many lack any parental control - Mum and Dad boozing at the swim up pool bar as soon as it opens, hollering to their kids on the other side of the pool to behave themselves etc... Drinking cocktails and eating burgers whilst in the pool is frankly vile. Seems that the adults can't wait to get tanked up with booze.
The hotel staff go to great lengths to provide a good level of service - we never had any issues as asked for things politely and recognised that they were under the pump due to being full over New Year.
Port Douglas was fantastic - the choice of restaurants was amazing and there was a great buzz about the town. We rented a car as the hotel website clearly provided details of distances so we knew it would be a little far to walk.
Overall, a fantastic stay but perhaps this is also due to us looking for the good instead of things that are not quite right with the place. Thoroughly recommended for a great Port Douglas break!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear MarkD1610

Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas and for your feedback which we do note. We are pleased you had the opportunity to take advantage of our resort facilities and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best for the coming year

Warm regards,

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Troubles from the start, wanted to cancel our reservation due to unforeseen circumstances but no one could help us. Time for a make over and update, this hotel seems to be stuck in the 80's. Golf course was in very poor condition. Quite expensive compared to surrounding hotels and resorts. The lagoons were the delightful part of our stay as we managed to get a sunbed each. The hotel staff were friendly however we won't be revisiting this resort :-(

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Micmic311

Thank you for your review and sorry to learn via Tripadvisor now that we fell below your expectations. It was pleasing however that you found the staff friendly and delightful lagoons.

As your review remains anonymous we are unable to know of the circumstances however as we have a manager on duty 24/7 and a 24 hour reservations centre I am unsure as to why you were unable to be helped with your cancellation. Please reach out to Andrew Wallis, Front Office Manager via the above email hotel link as we would be very happy to review and investigate the matter.

We look forward to hearing from you to discuss.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A big corporate resort surrounded by what look like empty timeshare villas, suggested as a last minute option by our travel agent in NZ. On site golf course. The 'lagoons' are really extensive and artificial landscaped salt water swimming pools which had to substitute for the nearby sea which you can't actually swim in for half the year (October-May?) because of jellyfish.
Restaurant excellent but expensive, but then $A8 for a beer anywhere in the area seems extortionate. Wonderful buffet breakfasts. Plenty of other eating options 15 minutes away in Port Douglas, with a good shuttle bus.
Large comfortable room with balcony, good air-conditioning and ceiling fan. Operating a sensible scheme where if you didn't require your room to be serviced every day, they knocked a bit off your bill. Staff and service were no problem. Some renovation needed but not serious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear AAHolmes

Thank you for your review and pleased to see you had a very good stay. Our Villas are not time share they are privately owner and then Sheraton manage them for the owners. There are over 100 spread throughout 145 hectares of beach, gardens and golf course and very private and run full at Christmas being very popular for families, they may appear empty however due to the unique design and spaciousness it just appears so.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant and found it excellent as well as the buffet breakfast, this is valued thank you. We do note your feedback on the costs particularly coming from New Zealand with the high dollar compared to the NZ dollar; our prices are in line with other restaurant and upmarket cafes in Port Douglas and Australia and we competitively shop regularly to ensure of this. Due to our location food prices are more expensive due to freight amongst other reasons. When dining at Sheraton you also are overlooking 147 hectares of tropical gardens and 14 lagoon swimming pools all needing to be maintained. There is also many ways to reduce your cost when staying with us such as the Mirage Dining Passport, the simple Quick Bites menu available in room service (Pizza and other items served simply and take away style), packages that include breakfast or credits and SPG benefits and Star Privilege membership.

AAHolmes, thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback, please reach out to us via the above email hotel link when planning your next trip as Annie Grant, our Guest Services Manager will be delighted to assist with your reservation personally. Alternatively you could click on the above hotel deals icon / link as the best available rates and specials will always be found directly here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas website or via our helpful reservations team.

All the best for the New Year.

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.