We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloppy and poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sloppy and poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are currently in the middle of a 2 week stay here and while the staff are nice, the place is quite sloppy. The lagoons, surrounds and rooms are fine however every day seems a battle to simply get what we order. Our room smells of cigarette smoke and after discussing with the reception we were promised an ozone treatment of the room at 10am. We waited and waited.... Nobody came. Reception rang to see how it went and when we said they didn't turn up we were told that they would get onto it. Have not heard a thing again. Room service is a joke given the price of food. Every order has had some sort of error or omission. As I type, we are 30 mins waiting for the sour cream that did not come with our soggy and cold wedges despite being told it would be sent straight up when we rang to say it was missing. Ridiculous! The staff are very friendly but nothing seems to get done and we find ourselves constantly reminding staff. It is really disappointing, sloppy and not what we expected from Sheraton. Look around at your options up here. The Sheraton name does not guarantee a Sheraton experience.

Room Tip: Consider another place up here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear mtresillian

Thank you for your post and sorry to read via Tripadvisor that you are not enjoying your stay. As your review remains anonymous we are unable to contact you. We have a manager on Duty 24 hours and we’d love to speak with you as soon as possible to recover. Antony Roberts or Anne Grant, Guest Services Manager is on this morning and please visit them at reception. Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify opportunities for improvement while assisting us in creating the ideal customer service experience for the future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us and for the opportunity to respond.

Look forward to hearing from you today

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    465
    289
    130
    74
See reviews for
377
601
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 30th Dec 2012 and could not fault our stay, we have stayed in many hotels around the world and Australia and I would put this stay at the top of our list. It truly is heaven on earth, large clean rooms, wonderful pools, and breakfast was spot on. Thank you all.........we will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sandra K

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and pleased you enjoyed your time with over the busy Festive break.

Do reach out to us via the above email hotel link when planning your next trip from India as Annie Grant; our Guest Services Manager will be delighted to assist with your reservation personally.

Alternatively you could click on the above hotel deals icon / link as the best available rates and specials will always be found directly here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas website or via our helpful reservations team.

All the best for the year

Regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading reviews before our arrival I was quite worried about staying in an old dated hotel but was pleasantly surprised!

The resort complex is huge! Staff are plentiful and very friendly all making a huge effort too impress. Yes the hotel is dated and in need of refurbishment to ask 5 star rates, but offers the "resort" experience.

We stayed in a ground lagoon view room which was a good size for our family of four. Yes I agree some parts are dated but the room is still in great shape and extremely spotless.

The lagoon swimming pools are fantastic and the grounds lovely. I agree some maintenance is in order but I'm sure the new owners acknowledge this and a hotel of this size would no doubt be a huge cost to operate.

We enjoyed the food options which were to suit any guest..... From room service to the cheaper takeaway style food choices and pool bar serving snacks. The hotel offers a broad range of choices to suit all budgets so ignore any criticism on this. Yes buffet breakfast is on par with any other 5 star hotel but they do give a choice to be served toast and coffee only.

You will need a car to go into town or use the hotel shuttle as it is too far to walk. Private beach access to 4 mile beach provides a lovely walk and space for the kids too run.

Overall we enjoyed our 3 night stay, and the Sheraton was welcoming and a huge family friendly resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear luclen

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you were apprehensive prior to your stay however pleased to read that this was unfounded. We note your wonderful feedback on our food and facilities and value your comments on the rooms being spotless and appreciate your high scores on cleanliness of the resort. Luclen, as mentioned in previous reviews we are working on our upgrade plans. It was great to see you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return.

Do reach out to us via the above link to make your next reservation.

All the best for 2013.

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'm sure this hotel was once a top place to stay in Port Douglas, but it is long overdue for a refurbishment. The corner room we had was a great size, but the furnishings and fittings are very dated. The pools are enormous, but once again need a lot of attention as do the gardens. On the weekend we stayed (to attend a wedding) I got the impression that there was not enough staff rostered, particularly around the grounds. There was rubbish in and around the bins near our room on the Saturday night and it was still there on Tuesday morning. Room service trays were left out overnight and not collected prompted. I am not sure if we would stay at this resort again, but it was okay and the room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear AustraliaBoo

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and pleased that you found the room a great size and the resort clean and enjoyed the large pools.

AustraliaBoo, we note your comments the resort being tired and you'll be pleased to know we are underway with our new owners on the refurbishment plans for the resorts future and have completed a prototype façade in a modern colour scheme, some structural changes with terrace and or balcony area and now working on a truly beautiful, timeless and luxurious prototype rooms perfect for the future. As this is a vast resort nestled between two world heritage sites located on 145 hectares of land with 294 guest rooms the project is immense and requires careful planning with environmental considerations and orchestration due to our remote location amongst other factors. In the meantime the resort is upgrading all our beds to the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleepers, new oversized Flat Screen Televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless and movie system, new pool furniture amongst other upgrades to ensure your continued comfort. Our ongoing repair and maintenance program around the resort will some work on the façade and planter window boxes and carpet replacements in the interim.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback as I was disappointed to hear of your concerns on the grounds we have a team of gardeners and pool cleaners daily so was surprised to read this. Please reach out to us via the above email hotel link when planning your next trip as Annie Grant, our Guest Services Manager will be delighted to assist with your reservation personally and ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

Alternatively you could click on the above hotel deals icon / link as the best available rates and specials will always be found directly here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas website or via our helpful reservations team.

All the best for the New Year.

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great service in particular Brian the porter and Danielle poolside drinks.Very eager to please.
Our 14yr old loved all the swimming pools. Reminded us of the 5star hotels in Bali.
Breakfast was the best food of the day which kept us going for most of the day.
Would definetly go back again. Thanku!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear kaylab3

Thank you for your review and so pleased that Brian and Danielle provided great service to you; I will pass this on to them personally. The pools are amazing and with so much space despite the resort being full there is still plenty of room to relax. We do value your high scores on our service and cleanliness of the resort.

Kaylab3, please reach out to us via the above link to make your next reservation.

All the best for 2013

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September 2010 and I still think about it as one of the best places in the world I have ever been - and I've travelled quite a bit. Dream about it is more accurate! Only one way to describe it - a small piece of heaven on earth! Stunning surroundings - lagoons, pools, waterfall, lush gardens, direct access to a beautiful, long ocean beach...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear PattiKast

How kind of you to review the resort from your stay back in September 2010. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location, pools and gardens and your high scores on our cleanliness and other services are much appreciated.

I do hope to welcome you back from Toronto in the near future

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights. We really enjoyed it. Most of the staffs there are very friendly.
When I booked the room, I knew the check in time would be 3pm. But we arrived earlier than we expected, we asked the staff (I think his name is Andrew) at reception if we could check in earlier. He was very nice to tell us we could check in once the room is ready; meanwhile, we could use the hotel facilities if we want. We got our room around 12pm which I really appreciated their efficiency. The room was spacious and clean. The pool is the star of the hotel. Clean ocean water, wonderful view. We stayed there for a whole day. Also, close to beach, wonderful.
Although the hotel is a little bit far away from town, the shuttle bus is very convenient. We enjoyed a lot! Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Cathy W

Greetings from Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

Thank you for your review and so pleased you found the facilities enjoyable and the resort clean with friendly service. Andrew will very much appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to your return visit and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Please reach out to us via the above email hotel link when planning your next trip from India as Annie Grant, our Guest Services Manager will be delighted to assist with your reservation personally.

Alternatively you could click on the above hotel deals icon / link as the best available rates and specials will always be found directly here at the Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas website or via our helpful reservations team.

All the best for the New Year

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road | PO Box 172, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.