We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a compliment to the sheraton in port douglas and sun palm transport in port douglas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a compliment to the sheraton in port douglas and sun palm transport in port douglas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the sheraton mirage in port douglas has still got that wow factor
recently visiting with friends, we had a lovely stay in the resort
great facilities, great food and great staff

also have to say that the sun palm shuttle bus service that runs around port douglas is reliable, convenient and priced well
at the sheraton we met pip who was manning the sun palm desk.......what a pleasant and obliging lady.....we saw her over a couple of days....poor girl needs a tape recording of what she needs to tell guests about their trips but she always did so with a smile and lots of good cheer

compliments to both the sheraton in port douglas and the sun palm town shuttle service

robbie i.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear robbie i

Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor and great to see your wonderful feedback. We were pleased to read you found the staff lovely, great food and facilities. I do note your feedback on Pip from the Transport desk and will pass this on to her personally; thank you.

Robbie, we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

All the best for the upcoming festive season

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    500
    308
    136
    80
See reviews for
396
642
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holetown, Barbados
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights during the week of the eclipse and were sceptical because of some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. While it is no 5 star resort, we have no complaints about the rooms or service. As the room was part of a package including trips to the rainforrest , Great Barrier Reef and other attractions, I can't really say whether it was good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Kladower

Greetings from Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas to Holetown, Barbados!

I regret you were unnecessarily concerned due to other reviews and please they were unfounded and great to see you enjoyed your time during the Eclipse period. As raised the resort is well maintained with friendly service, clean and spacious; thank you.

I do hope we can welcome you back perhaps once we have refurbished!

All the best for the upcoming Festive Season

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombungee, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in June 2012, upon arrival our rooms were not ready as we were early so the staff were pleasant and stored our luggage offered us a cool drink. This place is very large and the rooms are spread out, if you have problems walking distances and stairs then its not for you. The rooms are very large and comfortable however it looked like something out of the eighties. Room service is very poor, it took forever to get anything. The pools are fantastic. Location is a little way from town but there is a shuttle bus available at a price.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sandra S

Thank you for your review from your stay in June this year.

We are pleased you found the resort comfortable, large and enjoyed the pools.

As raised in previous replies to our Tripadvisor guests we are underway with our new owners on the refurbishment plans for the resort and have completed a prototype façade and now working on a truly beautiful, timeless and luxurious prototype room for the future. In the meantime we are upgrading all our beds to the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper style, new 37” Flat Screen Televisions, iPod docking stations, new pool furniture amongst other upgrades to ensure your continued comfort as well as ongoing repair and maintenance program.

We look forward to welcoming you to the resort and do click on the above special offers or email hotel if we can assist in any way as the best deals are always available directly here at the Resort.

Hope to assist you again soon.

Warmly

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Most of our fellow guests were late middle-age to elderly or families with very young children. They did not appear to be unhappy with the services provided. So perhaps it was our lack of research into the demographic this resort catered to that lead to our unhappy experience.

If you are young (or early middle age) I would advise against staying here unless visiting for a special event such as a wedding or conference on the site.

My husband and I stayed there for six days last week (late November) on an impulse. We trusted our travel agent to book us an appropriate package as we were too tired to be bothered scrawling through internet offers. Unfortunately, most of the staff onsite were not aware of the myTime specials that were apparently part of our package, and it was too much hassle to haggle with surly 20-year-olds who did not want to listen.

We stayed in a Lagoon room which was dirty, with splodged paint spots on the walls failing to cover the decay. The carpet was ripped and dirty and many surfaces were caked with dirt. The restaurants and bars advertised on the resort's site were not all open. We were informed (by a very pleasant waiter) that this was due to low occupancy. However, when I rang the front desk to complain in the late, late evening about hip-hop music shaking the room we put in - directly across from a function site - I was told this was due to full bookings. Loud music does not normally bother me, I have Iived in Kings Cross and Newtown in Sydney for most of my adult life. But it does bother me when I have paid good money for a getaway with my husband and get put in this room despite having seen about 20 other guests all day. Surely they could have found something better in a resort this large?

Another disappointment was that everything was closed by 8pm most nights and room service was too exorbitant to be bothered with. The so-called swim-up bar is a furphy, so do not bother. During our stay, at least, it was filled with weeing children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Janine O

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort and disappointed to learn now via Tripadvisor that you did not enjoy your time with us.

I would welcome more information on your stay via the above email hotel link as much of the information provided is not correct as Bar and restaurant do not close at 8pm, the option of our Quick Bites menu in room service is actually very reasonable, swim up bar and children in the pools and cleanliness is quite unfair. Perhaps on your next visit you could email us via the above link and we can ensure you have a room in a more secluded part of the resort.

As raised in previous replies to our Tripadvisor guests we are underway with our new owners on the refurbishment plans for the resort and have completed a prototype façade and now working on a truly beautiful, timeless and luxurious prototype room for the future. In the meantime we are upgrading all our beds to the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper style, new 37” Flat Screen Televisions, iPod docking stations, new pool furniture amongst other upgrades to ensure your continued comfort as well as ongoing repair and maintenance program.

Janine O, Once again thank you for your review and I am sorry that this stay was a little disappointing. Should you reconsider your decision and return to the hotel in the future, please contact us directly and he will ensure your next stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a relaxing stay at the resort. Kids loved the pools and afternoon High Tea in the lounge was good value for the money. Went for the November Solar Eclipse, clouds got in the way for parts of it but amazing none the less.

Our standard room was very large, the lighting controls are very retro, would have been very high tech in the 80's a bit dated now but cool anyway.

Overall the resort is older compared to more modern facilities but the staff was pleasant, the room was clean and the pools were great. We would stay again.

Never saw anyone on the golf course, weird??? We didn't golf but if you went early to avoid the heat/humidity the course looked interesting.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter if you get a pool or garden view room. The view to the ocean from the pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear MKP42

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Solar Eclipse period, what an event it was! I was pleased to read you enjoyed the pools, High Tea, our team pleasant and rooms clean, thank you.

As raised in previous replies to our Tripadvisor guests we are underway with our new owners on the refurbishment plans for the resort and have completed a prototype façade and now working on a truly beautiful, timeless and luxurious prototype room for the future. In the meantime we are upgrading all our beds to the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper style, new 37” Flat Screen Televisions, iPod docking stations, new pool furniture amongst other upgrades to ensure your continued comfort as well as ongoing repair and maintenance program.

MKP42, for your next visit you could click on the above hotel deals or email hotel as we’d be very happy to assist you.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here on Melbourne Cup weekend and after reading some poor reviews I was really worried we would not enjoy our stay. So I tried to cancel my wotif booking but unfortunately there was a 'no cancellation policy'. I wasnt impressed with that inflexibility and when we arrived and the lady checking us into our room lacked customer service (no smile, couldn't find our booking, didn't tell us anything about the facilities eg. like where breakfast was), I expected everything else to follow suit. Fortunately for us and for the Sheraton Mirage, it didn't.

When we first walked into the big open 'dated' lobby it gave us an idea of what to expect all round but what we didn't notice until later was that every little detail was not left to chance... The attention to detail is what makes this place great!

We were taken by golf buggy to our room by a lovely porter who told us all about the resort facilities, took our bags and was extremely pleasant and professional. We got inside our room and I felt like pulling out my vinyl records and playing Madonna's Material Girl... The rooms are dated like everyone says, but when I looked closely, it was very noticeable that it was extremely clean - in fact spotless! No dust on the louvres on the bathroom door, not a spot of mould in the bathroom, no a thing out of place. Only disappointment was two big bird dropping on the outside of our windows. The room was big and comfy, and the pools were the same.

Acres of lagoon pools and plenty of deck chairs. The only thing lacking was not enough time for us to take off work to stay longer!!! The buffet breakfast was great! The fruit in the buffet was amazingly fresh and delicious. No real coffee, just percolated - a small downfall.

I will definitely return again. They even offer a $15 rebate per night for opting to not have housekeeping visit your room. Not only did we save money, we also did our little bit for the environment - a fantastic initiative Sheraton! We could see signs of a pending renovation and I can't wait to see how it goes. I highly recommend this place, renovated or not!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear ch1nadoll

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to drop such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I’ll certainly follow up with our team on your initial arrival.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here in April, 12. It's a marvellous hotel and the rooms are modern and clean! The swimming pools and location next to Four Mile beach means you are located in a world class spot! The village of Port Douglas is 2kms down the road so you can take advantage of the restaurants there!
If I had a complaint I was amazed at the cost of the food!!! Just get a taxi to the village and enjoy the great Queensland seafood and produce)))))

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Steve803

Greeting from Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas.

Thank you for posting your review from your stay in April this year. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here and appreciate the feedback on the location, pools and resort being modern and clean, thank you.

I do note your feedback on the costs; our prices are in line with other restaurant and upmarket cafes in Port Douglas and Australia and we competitively shop regularly to ensure of this. Due to our location food prices are more expensive due to freight amongst other reasons. When dining at Sheraton you also are overlooking 147 hectares of tropical gardens and 14 lagoon swimming pools all needeing to be maintained. There is also many ways to reduce your cost when staying with us such as the Mirage Dining Passport, the simple Quick Bites menu available in room service (Pizza and other items served simply and take away style), packages that include breakfast or credits and SPG benefits and Star Privilege membership.

Steve803, perhaps for your next visit you could click on the above hotel deals or email hotel as we’d be very happy to tailor a package for you that includes food and beverage to ensure further value during your stay.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.