We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Ending” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Mareeba, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Happy Ending”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for the weekend but wish it was longer.The service and food and staff were all of high quaility standards.The whole atmosphere was just to ensure that we had a pleasant and relaxed stay.I thank all of the staff including the wonderful people at the golf course that made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you stay you must try the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Zoe D

Greetings from Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas!

Thank you for taking time reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was a wonderful one. Location, service, food & our team are indeed key elements of a great stay...

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    500
    309
    136
    81
See reviews for
399
643
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Ok I could go on and on how this place is a dump but I'm going to make it short (my husband and I on an around the world trip staying at SPG properties)...checking in is a joke because no one knows what's going on and takes forever, parking and walking in the dark to your room with no lighting, I would rather walk barefoot outside than on their carpet, the musty room smell, waking up with bites on my legs from the sheets and mattress, rattling air conditioner, major outdated property, and creepy. Concierge was less than helpful when asking about excursions. I may sound critical but our $30 p/n hotel in Thailand kicked this places butt!! I have stayed at a lot of SPG and Non-SPG hotels and understand everything isn't perfect when staying at a hotel but this place is a Royal Dump.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Outnabouthilnj

It was very disappointing for us all here to learn of your feedback via Tripadvisor 8 months after your stay and not being able to discuss with you whilst here in April, nor being reported to us then. Making sure we address what is possible is constantly a key aspect of our focus and your feedback will be shared with the team. Our Resort engages with pest control on a weekly basis to ensure the integrity of our product and most importantly assure that we do not have a bed bug issue. Our team are fastidious with our standards of cleanliness and hygiene and we are proud of this. We have also recently been voted by our valued SPG members as a favourite getaway for 2012.

As your review is regarding a stay 8 months ago, remains anonymous and we have no records, reports or log entries of any of these incidents relating to this type of feedback; will therefore reach out to Tripadvisor over this review.

Kind regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and the one thing we were both appalled at was the level of customer service. The staff were far from friendly - it seemed as though we were a drain on their time. Any question we had was met with an attitude I would expect from a teenager, lots of excuses, where I would expect them to help us feel as comfortable and happy in our stay with them.

I could look past the outdated decor - we knew what it would be like from the pictures seen online (though I really hope they update it soon, as it would be a magnificent hotel if they did - and taught their staff some basic customer service skills).

The pools are the highlight - and I am sure most people who choose to stay here do it for that main reason. Breakfast was good, nothing to write home about, but a good range.

The friendliest staff we came across were the cleaners! Every member of the cleaning staff we encountered were the most friendly people! The air con in the rooms works well, the rooms were cleaned well, the mini bar was stocked well and there is a shuttle to town (however we had a hire car so we never needed this service).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Taryn H

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your review and your kind feedback on our pools, guest room and hotel Housekeeping associates. However, we are genuinely sorry to learn via Tripadvisor that we failed to meet your expectations in the areas that you have highlighted particularly our associates service delivery. As your review remains anonymous we would welcome you contacting us directly via the above email hotel link to further discuss your interactions with our associates to enable us to follow up in detail.

Thank you and best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights in November 2012.

We did enjoy our stay at the Sheraton. However, this was to a great extent because of the fabulous pools. We also felt the room was cleaned well (with a discount voucher for food and drink for each day you forgo servicing), the cocktails delicious, the resort spacious and the room very quiet.

Main downside was the cost of the food, especially considering the very limited range on the menus of the very limited number of eating places (given the resort's size). Definitely not 5 star dining but the prices sure are set as if it were! Service was very patchy, especially in Lagoon's restaurant at breakfast time. Some staff did go out of their way for you, while others snarled and barely understood English - it all depended on who you got. The furnishings are very dated but the new beds and TVs are great and you can sort of look past the décor. We had heard there were 6 bars, but only found 2. Poolside towels very thin and small. Restaurants sometimes unexpectedly closed (with no reasons given). People could see into our bathroom from outside our room, unless we shut the balcony doors.

All in all, we were happy and would probably book again – because of the pools and the pending full refurbishment – but would eat in town more often. Key is just not to expect 5-star even though it looks it from the aerial shots.

Room Tip: We had a garden view king room which was on the ground floor near the end of the wing. It had a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
.
Dear Kavya

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us because of our pools, felt the room was clean, the cocktails delicious, resort spacious and rooms quiet, new Sweet Sleeper Beds and flat screen TVs being great; thank you.

The resort has two bars and two restaurants and I sorry that you had heard there were more hence your disappointment there. Kavya, we sincerely apologize that we were not able to meet your overall expectations and for the service you encountered with our Lagoons associates. Friendly and efficient service are the hallmarks of our brand and this iconic property, and we strive to deliver consistent service to each guest. Please allow us to welcome you back in the near future to reinstate your confidence with us. Do reach out to Annie Grant via the above email hotel link and Annie will assist with your next reservation.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

In May we stayed at the Sheraton for 10 days and I wrote an unflattering review post our stay. Despite major reservations we were persuaded by friends to join them for a week late Oct. While I cannot say there has been a great improvement there have been some signs that the rot has finally stopped and that this beautiful hotel is on the mend.
Like earlier reviews I have read today I can confirm Jay , the breakfast front man deserves a medal as a shining light for the rest of front desk staff throughout the hotel. A smile, a direct look and a can assist attitude go a long way - well done Jay.

The pools and gardens have had a some overdue maintenance and the golf coarse is no longer the complete overrun jungle it was 6 months ago. The rooms still need an overhaul but signs of improvements are apparent as a few rooms are having trial upgrades and the exterior is getting a much over due revamp. Bring it on! The addition of a mini speaker for the iPod in the room was a nice addition.

After 4 days of not having our rooms serviced until 4pm a simple request to the cleaners ensured the rooms were cleaned by 10am on days following.

We did not eat in the hotel but got frustrated getting drinks around the pool. Last time we stayed in May the restaurants in the hotel were not well patronized - we did not eat in the hotel as we did not think menus were good value for money - this visit the restaurants appeared to be well patronized so maybe there are a lot of people who disagree with me.
The silly towels for tokens thing which is ignored by all staff except the front desk needs a rethink.

Overall - I am surprised to even be writing this review after my last stay. While improvements are slow and staff generally not up to speed for a 5 star hotel they do offer very good value for money with golf, pools and gardens all on the improve. We will be back land look forward to seeing the next range of improvements

Rm 5312 c /o 7/11



Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Chinamac

Thank you for your review and sorry that you had to be persuaded to stay another 10 days here at the Resort. Per my last response we had hoped you would have contacted us prior to your arrival so we could personally welcomed you and briefed you on our plans and a tour of the mock up rooms.

Chinamac we extend our offer again to contact Annie Grant for your next visit via the above link.

Warm regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton MIrage in Port Douglas for our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade so we went out to the pool area to have a drink and a snack. After 15 minutes of waiting, my husband approached the pool bar to order. He was told someone would take his order. After another 1o minutes our order arrived. We were given direncions to our room. When we arrived (a good 5 minute walk), our key didnt work. The lovely room service lady let us in. We rang reception and they sent another key to us. The rooms are very spacious, extremely clean and somewhat a bit dated, however they are still extremely comfortable. We rang room service for an ice bucket and were given a lovely suprise of a bottle of sparkling to celebrate our anniversary. On our first morning we went for breakfast as we were told it was included in our rate. We waited for over 10 minutes for the maitre de to serve us. The food was ok - had better but still nothing to complain about apart from the cold poached eggs I was served on the second day. THey remade me a fresh one without complaint. The staff in the lobby bar were efficient, friendly and happy. UPon checkout, our paperwork wasnt ready. We were then told we had to pay for breakfast for one morning. The reservation clerk was extremely rude to my husband even wihen he verified with the staff member who told us that breakfast was included - they still insisted on charging us. We had to wait another 20 minutes for them to argue amongst themselves before telling my husband he was free to go. This is the 2nd Sheraton we have stayed inin as many months. Both were lovely hotels but both were spoilt by rude and inefficient front desk staff.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlookng the lagoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear LisaSydney

Thank you for taking the time pass on your thoughts from you recent stay via Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to read you found the rooms spacious, clean, comfortable, the Daintree Bar team very friendly and the hotel lovely.

I was glad you enjoyed the hotel upgrade and sparkling for your anniversary, Congratulations.

We certainly do regret hearing of your additional feedback and Andrew Wallis our Front Office Manager reach out to you for more details on your experience with Front Office and the respective interactions.

Very best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our 7 day stay at the Sheraton Mirage was really enjoyable. Our room was spotless and everything worked. Relaxed under palms and/or umbrellas on loungers and swam in the huge lagoon pools. Close to the ocean and not far from the town. Sheraton staff were always efficient and pleasant. Meals - maybe a bit expensive - but, hey, you can make choices and eat elsewhere if you want by utilising the shuttle service that runs regularly to and from Port Douglas town. The beauty of the Sheraton Mirage is that it is NOT new - it faithfully represents the era in which it was built. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMPDPR, Lachlan Walker, General Manager at Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Maggie A

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort and your kind feedback on our team here being friendly and efficient.

We look forward to your return visit and welcoming you again.

Best regards

Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

Address: Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort with guest rooms and private villas on Four Mile beach, convenient to Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest & deep-sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sheraton Port Douglas
Port Douglas Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.