I stayed at the Sheraton for 3 nights just recently, as a friend was visiting from Adelaide. We got the room through Wotif on a mystery deal. To be honest, if I'd known it was the Sheraton that we would end up with I never would have booked. We paid around $570 for 3 nights, no brekky, however when I went on the Sheraton website, I noticed they had a deal for stay 2 nights, get a third free, and it included breakfast- total cost would have been $500 ($250 per night). Being a Cairns local, I have been to Pt Douglas many times before and we are repeat visitors to various resorts in the Port. We have also been provided locals upgrades (without having to ask) at a number of resorts when the hotels are a little bit quiet. It is service like that that makes you recommend that resort or hotel to others. With this belief, and the fact that we paid over the odds for our room anyway, at check in I asked if there was any chance of a locals upgrade to at least include breakfast. The answer was no, however we could pay a 'locals' rate of $26 each for the buffet. No thank you. We were also offered an upgrade to our room for $50 per night. No thanks. So the service was quite average, however the room was spacious if dated (salmon coloured bathroom suite with brass fittings spotted with age), the grounds were stunning and the lagoon pool was great. Having said that however, when I go back to Port Douglas I won't be staying at the Sheraton, and I won't be recommending it to friends. At approximately 25% occupancy rate and zero cash cost to the hotel to upgrade you, you would think that they would bend over backwards to show great customer service to those people who are guaranteed repeat business but unfortunately this is not the case.
Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Alyssa L
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and pleased you found the grounds stunning, great pools and spacious rooms; this is much appreciated. We do appreciate your support of our resort and value this.
However, I do regret to hear via Tripadvisor after your stay that you were unhappy with the deal you have chosen via a mystery website. We always recommend that our guests contact the hotel directly or click on one of the above Hotel Deals or Hotel Website to see what is available through our Starwood Channels. Contrary to your statement of low occupancy the resort has been running and very high occupancy and as you can understand we would not have rooms sitting empty. To recognise your loyalty to which we do value and offer of breakfast was made at $26 per person (normally $39) for our renowned buffet breakfast brunch and I am sorry you felt this was not adequate. Alyssa L do reach out to us again directly and we’ll be pleased to tailor a package for you including all your requirements as raised in your review and pending time of year we’d love to assist with an upgrade with our compliments.
All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.