We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for a week over the School holidays in an apartment as we were travelling with the kids. Price was reasonable and you get what you pay for - reasonable facilities but nothing like you get in a 5 star resort. Good location and the grounds were well maintained and the kids liked the restaurant and pool. Only thing missing for the adults is a heated outdoor spa that most resorts have as standard - especially when the water temperature of the pool is on the cool side.
It was a bit further from the beach that I had expected but it was only a short walk away. Had a few maintenance issue with the apartment that took more than 2 days to repair but overall a nice enough place to put on your shortlist for family friendly places in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe apartment if you can - fixtures are slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Jon C

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Port Douglas. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    177
    61
    19
    15
See reviews for
92
198
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Tonight we chose to dine at the restaurant as a group of eight (8). I asked our family to describe the restaurant on their experience....Perfect; fresh; quality; a rainforest experience; amazing presentation and delicious'. Both Stevie and Anja were delightful. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Port Douglas.

We particularly appreciate positive feedback about our staff as this is a great way for the staff member and the management team to realise that we are delivering on our Count On Me! service promise. It is very rewarding for the team when we share this feedback directly with them.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaroa, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A reasonable price, beautiful rooms with air-conditioning (must!) a beautiful open lobby, water features, AND the pool area is like something out of a magazine - truly magnificent! I loved the service and the tropical temperature makes lounging around by the pool in the evenings a beautiful option.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Port Douglas. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in February for a family members wedding. The 2 bedroom apartment was modern, beautifully furnished and huge in size. Each bedroom had its own bathroom and a lounge-room & kitchen separated the 2 bedrooms. The only issue we had with the room was that one of the shower drains in the bathrooms was blocked, flooding the bathroom when the shower was used. This was reported to the reception staff when we left the resort one day & was fixed by the time we returned 2 hours later.
Service was excellent from the moment we checked in to the moment we left.
The food and restaurant were great and the themed nights in the restaurant (eg BBQ night) made it easy and affordable to eat there. The one night we ordered room service it arrived quickly and still hot.
The resort grounds are stunning and exceptionally maintained.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ramada and plan to stay again if we return to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your stay here at Ramada Port Douglas. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.


Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I didn't stay here but I came for breakfast and the shuttle to town departs from here. One morning (sat 26 Oct 2013), my friend and I were $3 short for the shuttle before we could get to a bank. The receptionist on duty loaned us the money from her own purse. No way she had to do that, we weren't even customers of the hotel. What a kind and generous person. We gave the money back to her of course! Next time I'd stay here because of her. So impressed, above and beyond!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Kel:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent experience at Ramada Port Douglas. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

It is fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our team.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed there on June 2014, the pool was great ,it had a swim up bar. The restaurant was average, a bit old and tired ,and over priced , like most guests, we made dinner in our room ,or went to one of the many bars and restaurants, in town ,we rented a car at cairns so we weren't relying on public transport ,if you can book a room from a private owner, it is a lot cheaper we paid 40% less than normal, rates over all for what I paid it was good value I don't think I wood pay full price to stay here

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor slightly of set to the pool view was ok noise level was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a private room in the C block it was well presented. The rain forest gardens and lagoon style pool were brilliant the restaurant was nice and you can use shop a dockets to get a 2 for 1 meal. The only down side was there were no balcony's on the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.