We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying here...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
gold coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth staying here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Warning: this hotel is not near the main street of Port Douglas but about 3 kms from it on Port Douglas Road. You would not attempt to walk to Port Douglas in the heat of the day with little kids. It's simply too far away. The only good thing about the hotel's location is it's only a short walk to four mile beach to the rear of the venue. We stayed on the weekend of 2 to 5/11/2013. My wife booked the hotel room some months prior via the Wyndham website. We paid $149 a night for a basic room with a full buffet breakfast each day. I was a bit apprehensive after reading previous trip advisor reviews of this hotel but after paying $149 a night with breakfast i wasn't expecting the best. Check in was easy - no issues there. The hotel itself looks pretty bland once you actually park your car in the carpark and look across at it. I reckon parking near your room could be an issue if this hotel gets fully booked out. We were told if we couldn't find a park to park out on Port Douglas Road!! I would have expected at least one carpark for each room. Our room was easily found but i wasn't really impressed with the corridors. Long corridors with rooms leading off each side. The long corridors gave the hotel a hostel type look to it. The room itself was a pleasant surprise. The room was large and consisted of a lounge/dining room, full kitchen with cook top, microwave, fridge and sink. the bedroom was large with plenty of hanging space. New split system A/C and ceiling fans in each room. The room looked recently renovated. We settled in and headed for the pool. The pool is possibly the best feature of Ramada. It was long, deep at the deep section with hardly anyone in or around the pool during our entire stay. At one stage on Sunday we were basically the only people in the pool and bar area. The pool had a swim up bar and prices for drinks were reasonable. Breakfast was good - buffet style. The only issue I have with breakfast is the use of rosemary herb in the baked beans, eggs and mushrooms. I personally dislike rosemary (and I reckon there's alot of others out there who hate this weed as well) and putting it all through hot dishes at breakfast does not make food taste any better. Management - if you read this, please get rid of the rosemary bushes near the kitchen or have a quiet chat to the breakfast cook to stop throwing this weed into the hot breakfast items. I spoke to one of the service girls at breakfast and I was told basically that's how they serve it. Please loose the rosemary to make breakfast a more pleasant experience for your guests. management - the older blonde lady at breakfast needs an attitude change. She wasn't welcoming and stomped around the place as if she hated it. Management - are you aware of the breakfast trick your employees are doing each day? They place a RESERVED sign on the far away tables so guests don't sit at these locations. I suspect this is to prevent them walking too far to clear tables. The breakfast staff need to know that not every guest wants to sit right beside the pool with a young 4 year old or right beside the food area. There trick was noted by me... There was no noise at night. Our room backed directly onto the eastern carpark and I didn't hear a thing. Be aware there is a laundry on premises. You buy tokens from reception for $4!! The only issue I have with the hotel service was there is no house keeping service each day. No fresh towels, bed making etc. We had the same towel for the entire 3 nights. By Tuesday morning they were pretty smelly. Upon check out we had a note attached to the front door stating that the room had to be clean otherwise a cleaning fee would be charged!!! We aren't messy people and I am yet to see the credit card statement to see if a cleaning fee was charged. I hope not. Overall I would stay at Ramada Port Douglas again if my wife could find another cheap deal including breakfast. At $149 a night with breakfast it's well worth it... My only fear now is getting phone calls from pushy Wyndham timeshare sales people. Again, i hope not...

Room Tip: Look for special deals for this hotel through the Wyndham website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    187
    65
    19
    15
See reviews for
97
211
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Another success for the little gem situated in the lesser know town of Port Douglas about an hour ourside of Cairns. Located just a short journey out of the centre of town, this hotel has everything a family or couple could want or desire. I couldn't fault it in the slightest, spacious rooms, superb facilities from restaurants to pools. Not as popular as Cairns, Port Douglas has a quaint but elegant feel to it, The only place in the world I have been Cane Frog racing and of course you must go on a boat ride through the Mangrove to see the Salties... As for the hotel, you should stay here and stay in this tropical paradise,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our 6 day stay at the Ramada did not begin very well. We were placed in a disabled room - very small with bathroom containing fittings obviously for people unable to toilet or shower without assistance - and an unpleasant smelling linoleum on the floor and up part of the wall. While I admire the resort for providing this very necessary facility for people with physical disabilities, it was not at all what I was requiring or indeed wanted! We requested a change of room and were told they were fully booked. Tried again the following day and late in the afternoon were provided with another room.
The pool is fantastic and there are plenty of chairs and lounges to relax in. There are lovely trees to provide shade as well.
Eating was overall quite disappointing. For breakfast we were given 2 options - express or full American. The express was just cereal and toast - no fruit, which was disappointing. The full was the usual self service you see in any hotel. There was no change to either menu during the time we stayed. Dinner was pretty ordinary - although there were 2 specials each night. Unfortunately they usually sold out very quickly! The biggest disappointment was the night we ordered one seafood special to share between my husband and myself and waited ....... and waited .... and waited for 90 minutes! There were 4 couples in the restaurant at the time. No excuse nor apology.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best if you like to sit outside your room (or dry your pool towel) as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Ramada Resort Port Douglas served up a lot more than I expected and only disappointed on a couple of fronts. The room and resort facilities were above expectations for a medium priced resort hotel. The room was large, clean and very well appointed with a big screen TV, full size fridge, warming oven, compact dishwasher and washing machine. Reception and restaurant staff were courteous and very accommodating. The hotel is on the outskirts of town, a short 5 minute walk from 4 Mile Beach which is a great place to walk or run plus there is a children's playground at the beach entrance. On the downside there are few other facilities close-by so it requires the use of one of the shuttle bus services at $5/trip to get into the town centre for shopping and restaurants if you aren't arriving by car. My biggest beef is with the restaurant. Firstly, the hotel books events which take the complete restaurant out of service for the other guests; options being room service (hotel offers 20% discount for the inconvenience) or head into town as there are no other restaurants within easy walking distance. Secondly, the only breakfast service you are offered is self-service buffet style 'Express' or 'Full American', which is just not good enough for a large full-service hotel. Finally, there are usually 2 or 3 dinner specials that are offered at a good price, however, these are often sold out very quickly. In my books if the hotel is offering a special it should be available for all guests whatever time they choose to eat. The Ramada Resort Port Douglas is good for those seeking a 'resort' experience, but not so good for those who want to make the most out of being in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ramada Resort Port Douglas for 5 nights in October 2013. We booked through our travel agent at home and check in was excellent with friendly service. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the parking lot and as other reviewers have added there is no balcony. A balcony would be nice but the resort is so beautiful we spent no time in our room. The room was large, bathroom was large and bed was comfortable. There was a small fridge in the room, as well as a safe. Breakfast at the resort was good and the big Australian breakfast was $20 per person. For $10 you could have fruit, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. We had full breakfast included daily which was great. Great service in the restaurant. Lots of chairs around the pool area and the pool area is beautiful and tropical. As there are many trees it is very shaded. 4 mile beach is a couple minute walk from Resort. Town is a great bike ride but a far walk in the heat. We rented a tandem bike from the resort and had a great time. There is also a shuttle in to town for $5 per person each way that leaves on a regular basis. You can also buy a 3 day pass etc for a slightly better value. Overall the resort was relaxing, had a good restaurant on site, small business centre, close to the beach and good service. It is not close to town which was good for us. We felt like we were staying at a tropical paradise and if we wanted to go to town it was a shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is very spacious and well laid out with tropical plants and a small lake, which attracts all the various exotic birds. Our room was very large, clean and well decorated and included a sofa and chairs plus a small outside area to sit with chairs. The restaurant serves up very good food and as a result is very popular I suggest booking to ensure you eat when and where you want to.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional from the front desk to the room cleaners, they have been selected and trained very well. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Port Douglas and is a useful touring point for the Mossman gorge, Daintree forest etc.
There is a pool in the hotel but we did not use it as there is a path at the back of the hotel which takes a 5 minute walk to a typical tropical beach, fabulous, we swam there every day in bath temperature water.

Room Tip: For a quiet outlook choose a garden facing room, not one overlooking the pool or car parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Only had a weekend away,would have liked to spend a week. The Reception and tour desk were friendly and helpful, the 2 bedroom unit was newly refurbished and a generous size. Both rooms had full ensuite, one with shower and the other with shower over bath. Full size kitchen (fully equipped including dishwasher). Dining room seated 6 and there was a comfy lounge with flatscreen TV. The laundry had washer,dryer ,ironing board and iron. We were only a few metres from the excellent restaurant, Spa and Pool. The famous beach was only a short walk down the path. We drove ourselves to the many attractions but tours are available at Reception.

Room Tip: The Resort is multi-level, our unit was on the ground floor (our choice) and was very quiet and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.