We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramada Tree Tops, you have excelled at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Ramada Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ramada Tree Tops, you have excelled at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Another success for the little gem situated in the lesser know town of Port Douglas about an hour ourside of Cairns. Located just a short journey out of the centre of town, this hotel has everything a family or couple could want or desire. I couldn't fault it in the slightest, spacious rooms, superb facilities from restaurants to pools. Not as popular as Cairns, Port Douglas has a quaint but elegant feel to it, The only place in the world I have been Cane Frog racing and of course you must go on a boat ride through the Mangrove to see the Salties... As for the hotel, you should stay here and stay in this tropical paradise,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    128
    45
    16
    14
See reviews for
68
150
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our 6 day stay at the Ramada did not begin very well. We were placed in a disabled room - very small with bathroom containing fittings obviously for people unable to toilet or shower without assistance - and an unpleasant smelling linoleum on the floor and up part of the wall. While I admire the resort for providing this very necessary facility for people with physical disabilities, it was not at all what I was requiring or indeed wanted! We requested a change of room and were told they were fully booked. Tried again the following day and late in the afternoon were provided with another room.
The pool is fantastic and there are plenty of chairs and lounges to relax in. There are lovely trees to provide shade as well.
Eating was overall quite disappointing. For breakfast we were given 2 options - express or full American. The express was just cereal and toast - no fruit, which was disappointing. The full was the usual self service you see in any hotel. There was no change to either menu during the time we stayed. Dinner was pretty ordinary - although there were 2 specials each night. Unfortunately they usually sold out very quickly! The biggest disappointment was the night we ordered one seafood special to share between my husband and myself and waited ....... and waited .... and waited for 90 minutes! There were 4 couples in the restaurant at the time. No excuse nor apology.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best if you like to sit outside your room (or dry your pool towel) as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Ramada Resort Port Douglas served up a lot more than I expected and only disappointed on a couple of fronts. The room and resort facilities were above expectations for a medium priced resort hotel. The room was large, clean and very well appointed with a big screen TV, full size fridge, warming oven, compact dishwasher and washing machine. Reception and restaurant staff were courteous and very accommodating. The hotel is on the outskirts of town, a short 5 minute walk from 4 Mile Beach which is a great place to walk or run plus there is a children's playground at the beach entrance. On the downside there are few other facilities close-by so it requires the use of one of the shuttle bus services at $5/trip to get into the town centre for shopping and restaurants if you aren't arriving by car. My biggest beef is with the restaurant. Firstly, the hotel books events which take the complete restaurant out of service for the other guests; options being room service (hotel offers 20% discount for the inconvenience) or head into town as there are no other restaurants within easy walking distance. Secondly, the only breakfast service you are offered is self-service buffet style 'Express' or 'Full American', which is just not good enough for a large full-service hotel. Finally, there are usually 2 or 3 dinner specials that are offered at a good price, however, these are often sold out very quickly. In my books if the hotel is offering a special it should be available for all guests whatever time they choose to eat. The Ramada Resort Port Douglas is good for those seeking a 'resort' experience, but not so good for those who want to make the most out of being in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Ramada Resort Port Douglas for 5 nights in October 2013. We booked through our travel agent at home and check in was excellent with friendly service. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the parking lot and as other reviewers have added there is no balcony. A balcony would be nice but the resort is so beautiful we spent no time in our room. The room was large, bathroom was large and bed was comfortable. There was a small fridge in the room, as well as a safe. Breakfast at the resort was good and the big Australian breakfast was $20 per person. For $10 you could have fruit, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. We had full breakfast included daily which was great. Great service in the restaurant. Lots of chairs around the pool area and the pool area is beautiful and tropical. As there are many trees it is very shaded. 4 mile beach is a couple minute walk from Resort. Town is a great bike ride but a far walk in the heat. We rented a tandem bike from the resort and had a great time. There is also a shuttle in to town for $5 per person each way that leaves on a regular basis. You can also buy a 3 day pass etc for a slightly better value. Overall the resort was relaxing, had a good restaurant on site, small business centre, close to the beach and good service. It is not close to town which was good for us. We felt like we were staying at a tropical paradise and if we wanted to go to town it was a shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is very spacious and well laid out with tropical plants and a small lake, which attracts all the various exotic birds. Our room was very large, clean and well decorated and included a sofa and chairs plus a small outside area to sit with chairs. The restaurant serves up very good food and as a result is very popular I suggest booking to ensure you eat when and where you want to.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional from the front desk to the room cleaners, they have been selected and trained very well. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Port Douglas and is a useful touring point for the Mossman gorge, Daintree forest etc.
There is a pool in the hotel but we did not use it as there is a path at the back of the hotel which takes a 5 minute walk to a typical tropical beach, fabulous, we swam there every day in bath temperature water.

Room Tip: For a quiet outlook choose a garden facing room, not one overlooking the pool or car parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Only had a weekend away,would have liked to spend a week. The Reception and tour desk were friendly and helpful, the 2 bedroom unit was newly refurbished and a generous size. Both rooms had full ensuite, one with shower and the other with shower over bath. Full size kitchen (fully equipped including dishwasher). Dining room seated 6 and there was a comfy lounge with flatscreen TV. The laundry had washer,dryer ,ironing board and iron. We were only a few metres from the excellent restaurant, Spa and Pool. The famous beach was only a short walk down the path. We drove ourselves to the many attractions but tours are available at Reception.

Room Tip: The Resort is multi-level, our unit was on the ground floor (our choice) and was very quiet and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just spent five nights there, myself and my Mum. It was a lovely week and we left feeling very relaxed indeed. There were a few pros and cons at the resort but thankfully the pros were more than the cons! The location is fine, about five mins on the bus into town. Bus quite expensive $9 return each one return trip, which added up over the week but without a car a great service. The room though basic and plain, was clean and the bed was comfy. The pillows sadly were awful and lumpy. The bathroom was well thought out and worked well apart from the water from the shower flooding the bathroom every time you had a shower. Room was large and spacious and had a nice tv and even an in room safe. Beds were cold with only a sheet so we asked at reception for an extra blanket. Could do with a bit of colour but that's about it. No balcony which is a shame and no way to dry towels, but we were able to open our doors and sit on two wee chairs out at the door which helped. Room air con is great but it has to be on at all times which was a bit cold! Room service was good and quick and easy. The restaurant was superb. I cannot stress how nice the food is! Everything was amazing and fresh and five star. The prices were good, I guess we are used to Sydney prices which can be higher. The bar staff and restaurant staff were just lovely and friendly and made the holiday special. The pool although big and spacious, was a bit of a disappointment. I understand leaves and berries fall in the pool all the time but the amount was far too much Only once did we see a man trying to skim some of the things out. There were leaves and berries and all sorts floating all through the pool daily and it never cleared and there was all sorts stuffed in the rocks and it generally was not a pleasant pool to swim in. They need to employ a full time person to maintain it and spend all day skimming the water, and spend some time clearing the rocks etc. The pool chairs although comfy, were again covered in leaves and squashed berries which ruined the towels and the tables beside them were so dirty. Overall the pool area was a mess. No drinks service around the pool which would be great as to get a drink it was a treck around the pool and through the restaurant. They would make so much more money if someone walked around asking if anyone wanted a drink or lunch! A block was ok as long as you don't face the car park. We had A block facing the walk way and only thing was people walking past every five mins could see in our room so be careful when getting changed! Not very private. The resort in bits is five star, the reception area is amazing and the reception staff second to none. Mikala was lovely in fact they all were and nothing was too much trouble. That in itself would make be recommend this hotel and we will be back in the future for sure. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: A block is ok and not as bad as expected but don't get A block facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.