We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, slightly out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Yeppoon, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay, slightly out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got a great deal on ebay for a private room. The room was fantastic. It had a full size fridge, kettle, toaster, camp style burner (to put a frypan on), cutlery, plates, iro etc. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. The room also had a lounge and a 3 person dining table - with still room to move and put luggage etc. The bathroom was a great size with a 2 person bath. The pool was fantastic - had a swim up bar but no seats at the bar, still good. We had lunch by the pool and it was delicious. The buffet breakfast was also good. Dinner was great too. We found a discount booklet in Coles (next the the newspaper stand by the fruit) that had 2 for 1 meals at the Ramada in there. So we had dinner most nights at the resort at a great price!
We hired a tandem bike from the reception and rode into town on one of the days, it was 9kms return trip (and we also went past the marina). The bikes were in really good condition. There is a shuttle bus that comes every 15mins out the front of the resort and its $10 per adult to go into the main street of Port Douglas. If you have a car this resort is fantastic - otherwise you would rely on the bikes or shuttle bus to go into town. Having said that we enjoyed the resort facilities and didnt spend much time in the main street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    178
    62
    19
    15
See reviews for
93
200
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ramada for 4 nights and my only regret is that we didn't book in for longer. The hotel has recently undergone a renovation and wow, what a great job they've done. The front lobby is very impressive and you automatically feel like your in a tropical resort. The hotel boasts beautiful grounds with an abundance of trees and an impressive pond system which meanders throughout the hotel. The pool is amazing with a cascading waterfall and swim up bar. The pool was well used and yes there were children swimming and playing in it most of the time, but who cares. My wife and I went away for a romantic holiday and the presence of children playing didn't bother us at all. The bar staff, actually, all the staff at Ramada were great. Nothing at all was to hard for them and always made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a ground floor one bedroom apartment in C block, overlooking the pond. This room was very spacious and very comfortable with a new kitchenette. Couldn't fault the room. The Ramada is only about 3kms out of the heart of Port Douglas which is great because you don't get the all night pub noises from the hotels in the center of town. If you are having a few frothies in town and don't want to drive, every 20 minutes a local bus arrives at the front lobby and takes you into town for a small $5 fee.
This hotel is perfect in every way. We had the most enjoyable time at the Ramada and can't wait to get back. If you're after a tropical FNQ experience then make sure you stay at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked in at Ramada after being disappointed with another hotel. The grounds are quite large so there is a bit of walking to do. Would suggest you ask to be on top floor so you don't have children running up & down halls above your room. Parents were also very heavy on their feet! We were woken up several times. Pool area is fantastic for everyone. Food was great and service very good. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Bus service to town is really good. Value for money - great.

Room Tip: Ask if you would like to be closer to reception or restaurant. Also specify if you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, rooms really nice! No wi fi tho, only in bar and that closed at 10pm, staff friendly, pool looked lovely but didn't get a chance to use it! Have to drive or get bus into town but it's on main road in!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from three nights at the newly renovated family rooms at the Ramada Resort and could not fault it. The rooms have been re-configured from three adjoining rooms to make one huge apartment with two bathrooms and fully equiped kitchen with all new fixtures and fittings etc. There was ample room for our twin teenagers to spread out in a room of their own overlooking the pool and our youngest to have his double bed sofa pull out in the living area and our huge king bed in the main room with ensuite all overlooking the pool with sliding door access, room 136 D block. The restauraunt was excellent value for money and the huge buffet breakfast was part of the great accommodation rate (which turned out to be cheapest booked direct, also a handy hint learnt in that we came home a day earlier than expected due to flooding forecasts for our return journey and because we booked directly a refund was available)The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble even a bottle of complimentary bubbles on arrival as we were celebrating a wedding anniversary. Despite pouring rain the resort looked beautiful and the gorgeous rainforest setting is a welcome change from the white concrete and stainless steel resorts. The shuttle bus into town runs all the time for small change and even caught the cane train home on the Sunday from across the road. A renovation well done Ramada you are to be congratulated!

Room Tip: If travelling with children, D block ground floor is ideal as it looks directly onto the pool with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed from the 9th January till the 15th January 2013 in a refurbished 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms. Huge rooms and very comfortable, this is my second time to stay here and nothing has changed ( great location with resort situated in a rain forest setting, large pool, swim up bar, large out door bistro under cover ). The staff are very friendly and are only to pleased to assist with your needs.
Breakfast meals are buffet style with plenty of variety, usually the evening meals have a special theme meal as well as full menu. Meals are good value.

The resort is only a short walk to 4 mile beach, but unfortunately unable to swim at this time of year due to the stingers.

Would definitely recommend this resort, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in C block and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had travelled up with friends from Sydney after a short stay in Cairns. We had managed to book 3 nights via Scoopon which provided us with some great vouchers to use during our stay. The rooms were immaculate, crisply finished and clean. The pool, swim up bar, spa and restaurant were also to a similar standard with the majority of staff within each department being more then helpful and friendly.
The only points to mention where the hotel of this standard lets itself down is the restricted access to Wifi only located in the bar and pool area and not within any of the rooms. Also if you know that you will be having a private party which was located poolside specifically for private owners then why not provide extra staff to deal instead of using core staff who were dealing with PAYING hotel guests. These guests were then having to wait to be served drinks/food due to the staff dealing with the private owners, something which could easily have been avoided if more staff had been provided. Also maybe separate shower facilities for guests to use after they have checked out instead of squeezing into 1 located in the ladies toilet near reception, just a thought.
Special thanks go to the restaurant manager Michael where nothing was a problem. Also to Shauna behind the bar who was always busy but still managed to crack a smile and serve amazing cocktails. To the english chap in training whom we didn't get his name, thank you. The reception team were always on hand to help. Our only other concern was Stevie in the restaurant, everything was a problem or to difficult to deal with..shame. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.