We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite impressed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked in at Ramada after being disappointed with another hotel. The grounds are quite large so there is a bit of walking to do. Would suggest you ask to be on top floor so you don't have children running up & down halls above your room. Parents were also very heavy on their feet! We were woken up several times. Pool area is fantastic for everyone. Food was great and service very good. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Bus service to town is really good. Value for money - great.

Room Tip: Ask if you would like to be closer to reception or restaurant. Also specify if you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MareeF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, rooms really nice! No wi fi tho, only in bar and that closed at 10pm, staff friendly, pool looked lovely but didn't get a chance to use it! Have to drive or get bus into town but it's on main road in!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from three nights at the newly renovated family rooms at the Ramada Resort and could not fault it. The rooms have been re-configured from three adjoining rooms to make one huge apartment with two bathrooms and fully equiped kitchen with all new fixtures and fittings etc. There was ample room for our twin teenagers to spread out in a room of their own overlooking the pool and our youngest to have his double bed sofa pull out in the living area and our huge king bed in the main room with ensuite all overlooking the pool with sliding door access, room 136 D block. The restauraunt was excellent value for money and the huge buffet breakfast was part of the great accommodation rate (which turned out to be cheapest booked direct, also a handy hint learnt in that we came home a day earlier than expected due to flooding forecasts for our return journey and because we booked directly a refund was available)The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble even a bottle of complimentary bubbles on arrival as we were celebrating a wedding anniversary. Despite pouring rain the resort looked beautiful and the gorgeous rainforest setting is a welcome change from the white concrete and stainless steel resorts. The shuttle bus into town runs all the time for small change and even caught the cane train home on the Sunday from across the road. A renovation well done Ramada you are to be congratulated!

Room Tip: If travelling with children, D block ground floor is ideal as it looks directly onto the pool with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed from the 9th January till the 15th January 2013 in a refurbished 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms. Huge rooms and very comfortable, this is my second time to stay here and nothing has changed ( great location with resort situated in a rain forest setting, large pool, swim up bar, large out door bistro under cover ). The staff are very friendly and are only to pleased to assist with your needs.
Breakfast meals are buffet style with plenty of variety, usually the evening meals have a special theme meal as well as full menu. Meals are good value.

The resort is only a short walk to 4 mile beach, but unfortunately unable to swim at this time of year due to the stingers.

Would definitely recommend this resort, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in C block and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had travelled up with friends from Sydney after a short stay in Cairns. We had managed to book 3 nights via Scoopon which provided us with some great vouchers to use during our stay. The rooms were immaculate, crisply finished and clean. The pool, swim up bar, spa and restaurant were also to a similar standard with the majority of staff within each department being more then helpful and friendly.
The only points to mention where the hotel of this standard lets itself down is the restricted access to Wifi only located in the bar and pool area and not within any of the rooms. Also if you know that you will be having a private party which was located poolside specifically for private owners then why not provide extra staff to deal instead of using core staff who were dealing with PAYING hotel guests. These guests were then having to wait to be served drinks/food due to the staff dealing with the private owners, something which could easily have been avoided if more staff had been provided. Also maybe separate shower facilities for guests to use after they have checked out instead of squeezing into 1 located in the ladies toilet near reception, just a thought.
Special thanks go to the restaurant manager Michael where nothing was a problem. Also to Shauna behind the bar who was always busy but still managed to crack a smile and serve amazing cocktails. To the english chap in training whom we didn't get his name, thank you. The reception team were always on hand to help. Our only other concern was Stevie in the restaurant, everything was a problem or to difficult to deal with..shame. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel has just been renovated and our room was excellent. The pool is just amazing weaving its way around existing trees. Staff are friendly and willing to assist with anything. We also eat in the restaurant and again had wonderful service. The menu also catered for gluten free eaters as well.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicalfoodie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just needed a relaxing weekend away, and thats exactly what we got, The Reception had a lovely welcoming atmosphere, lots of places to just sit and relax. My son and I stayed in the newly renovated 1 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor in the C block, the room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, our room was only a short walk to the swimming pool and Restaurant.The Restaurant had a great choice of food and the prices were very reasonable.The beach is only a 10 minute walk from the Resort. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definately be back.

Room Tip: BLOCKS D AND B are closer to the pool and Restaurant, and 3rd floor offers more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#24 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#2 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing