We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Room and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We only stayed one night but was amazed at the size of the room and the facilities. There was heaps of storage space and a kitchenette that had some cooking equipment and plates etc for four people. The places was very clean and the bed very comforable. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    56
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
147
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised at the friendliness, service and overall cleanliness, size and room comfort. Given the cost per night, it was one of the best motel type accommodation we have stayed in at a beach area in our Australia travels. We were a very short distance from the many restaurants and shopping in Port Douglas. The motel was a short walk to 4 mile beach. The location was quiet evenings. The management of this Best Western, Jim and Penny, could not be more helpful and friendly. We arrived late and Jim escorted us to our room and made sure we were happy with everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found the hosts very helpful and friendly-nothing was a pro blem. It was easy to walk to the beach and had a lovely pool as well.The kitchen and bathroom were well equipped and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the review and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I rang several times from Perth and was delighted with the friendly service I received from Jim and Penny, it is very important to me that the owners/managers are welcoming and helpful, and both Pennny and Jim were that. Three of us stayed two nights in the comfortable, spotlessly clean room with a well equipped kitchette. One of us had a sofa bed which didn't suit his back, perhaps it was his back, not the bed!
The Iinear arrangements of the rooms, carports and drive is that of an older style motel and means that there was little privacy when sitting outside and, unfortunately, the cigarette smoke from tthe adjacent unit will waft across.The swimming pool is separated from the units by the drive and looked a bit exposed.
If you rate absolute cleanliness, a pleasantly decorated room, professionalism of the managementment and value for money, characteristics I wanted, then the Lazy Lizard deserves to be classed as excellent. If privacy and proximity and surroundings of the pool are important, then I would rate it as average for this style of motel
.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to review our property and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We wanted to self cater in Port Douglas and this motel had all the facilities we needed. Penny and Jim were always friendly and helpful. The laundry facilities are a bit dodgy, but that is a minor thing. It is a little away from the centre of town, but the tariff is about half that of more central accommodation. It is a pleasant walk into town. We would stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Many thanks for deciding to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the review and for your comments, the laundry certainly gets lots of use and with the new washing machine it has made it a lot easier for guests. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Recently stayed in this establishment overnight, attending a meeting next day. Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice big room but a little dated and dark, great towels. Had the continental breakfast in room which was OK. Only downside is that all rooms face car park and you can hear people having conversations outside - a little distracting. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you completing the review. The lazy Lizard is a 3.5 star Motel which offers under cover parking very close to the rooms which guests really appreciate along with the covered terrace areas to relax. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We selected this place as a reasonably priced option for a family stay (2 adults, 2 kids 9 & 11). We booked the family room which turned out to be two huge rooms, one with two beds, one with a big double bed, the kitchen and lounge. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable and the kitchen had enough gear (pots/pans/electric cooktop/microwave etc.) to make self-catering for the 4 of us very easy.
The place was an easy 15 minute walk into town,the kids did it easily. The included breakfast was simple (toast, cereal etc.) but made up of high quality products. The rooms were cleaned daily and kept spotless.
The pool was ideal for the kids and we used the free bikes a couple of times.
Where this place stands out from the crowd is the hosts, Jim and Penny. More lovely, friendly and helpful people you will not find anywhere. They know everything there is to know about any tourist activity in the region and can organise absolutely anything you want to do.
The pool ended up being out of action for 2.5 days due to leaks. Jim and Penny organised a complimentary family day pass for us to one of the flash resorts up the road, giving us use of their lagoon complex and lunch, to make up for the inconvenience. A very generous and much appreciated gesture.
This place cost us about half as much as a stay at one of the nearby big resorts would have. It was spotless and comfortable and Jim & Penny helped make our stay in Port Douglas a very relaxing and enjoyable family holiday.

Room Tip: The family room is a great budget family option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Many thanks for deciding to stay at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the review and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per studio. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool and waterfall. Relax and enjoy the quiet setting with a barbeque beside the pool. The staff at our free tour desk can advise on tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, which ever suits your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.