We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place for a family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a great place for a family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We selected this place as a reasonably priced option for a family stay (2 adults, 2 kids 9 & 11). We booked the family room which turned out to be two huge rooms, one with two beds, one with a big double bed, the kitchen and lounge. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable and the kitchen had enough gear (pots/pans/electric cooktop/microwave etc.) to make self-catering for the 4 of us very easy.
The place was an easy 15 minute walk into town,the kids did it easily. The included breakfast was simple (toast, cereal etc.) but made up of high quality products. The rooms were cleaned daily and kept spotless.
The pool was ideal for the kids and we used the free bikes a couple of times.
Where this place stands out from the crowd is the hosts, Jim and Penny. More lovely, friendly and helpful people you will not find anywhere. They know everything there is to know about any tourist activity in the region and can organise absolutely anything you want to do.
The pool ended up being out of action for 2.5 days due to leaks. Jim and Penny organised a complimentary family day pass for us to one of the flash resorts up the road, giving us use of their lagoon complex and lunch, to make up for the inconvenience. A very generous and much appreciated gesture.
This place cost us about half as much as a stay at one of the nearby big resorts would have. It was spotless and comfortable and Jim & Penny helped make our stay in Port Douglas a very relaxing and enjoyable family holiday.

Room Tip: The family room is a great budget family option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Many thanks for deciding to stay at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the review and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    51
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
127
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Arrived here after long drive from up half way up Cape York. We hadn't booked on advance, so it was sheer luck. The studio was extremely roomy and faultlessly clean and prepared. Plenty of parking for our big (2.3 more high) 4x4. Service very friendly, especially as we were pretty grubby and covered in red dust. Loved the bath! Very quiet. Good value for money and a most welcome stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We appreciate you staying with us at the Lazy Lizard and for making the time to complete the survey. Thank you also for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed here with my parents and it was truly remarkable! Jim and Penny (the owners) are very helpful and accommodating. They booked tours for us and recommended heaps of other stuff to us. And the facilities are great- We made great use of the BBQ! Pool area is beautiful! And our room came equipped with a Kitchenette which came in handy for breakfast and some dinners!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you finding the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just stayed one night after a trip to Cape Tribulation and Port Douglas is close enough to Cairns airport to use as a base before flying. We were glad of the laundry facilities and put on a large wash as soon as we arrived. Owners were friendly and helpful. The kitchenette would have been an asset if we were staying more than one night. The walk along the beach into town is pleasant. It is about 15-20 minutes to walk into the main drag. A good clean reasonably priced place to stay in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very clean, but don't come for the amenities. I chose this hotel because it was in the middle of a long family vacation and I was looking forward to having fun in Port Douglas as well as knocking out our laundry. The laundry closed at 8 pm (last load needed to be prior to 7 pm because the "dryer doesn't work very well") at I did not have enough time to do dive trips and get laundry done. The people were nice and the location was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the review. The laundry opens at 8am and is closed at 8pm in consideration of other guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

There is little to fault with the Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, but we were only there for a few hours as we arrived late and checked out early.

As such we didn't check out the facilities of the establishment and these comments are on the room only.

The room was clean. It is average sized for a triple share, as it was with our group. Little to fault.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you finding the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a little different than what you might expect of a Best Western hotel. It is a small, one-storey building along a covered car-port parking but with trees and shrubs around. There's a small pool and BBQ area. Rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. What is especially helpful are kitchenettes with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, electric frying pan and kettle, etc. With restaurant prices so high in Australia, it is helpful to be able to prepare ones own breakfast or lunch - even dinner. The hotel is quite a walk from the main shopping street of Port Douglas so having a car is really needed. The owners, Jim and Penny, are very friendly and helpful, indicating places of interest to visit and booking Great Barrier Reef tours, if requested.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJE007, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comprehensive comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per studio. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool and waterfall. Relax and enjoy the quiet setting with a barbeque beside the pool. The staff at our free tour desk can advise on tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, which ever suits your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.