We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L'Italie hôtel with Good service by thé owners.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flag Suites The Mediterranean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Flag Suites The Mediterranean to your Saves list
Flag Suites The Mediterranean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Port Douglas Rd., Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“L'Italie hôtel with Good service by thé owners.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Beautiful place to stay at 10 minutes walk from thé Town. Shuttles also available every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Place very very quiet. Pool and battus outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    4
    0
    6
See reviews for
13
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

We are last minute travelers. We were in a group of 5: 2 couples and one single.As such, we needed 3 bedrooms.

Found this hotel on Wotif, 185$ a night for 3 rooms! Very good price! But we were kinda suspicious, because it seemed so good!

So I called the hotel up, to confirm the price and to ask whether it wasn't a damp room with a highway view . And they said it wasn't, in fact it was on the last floor with a cute view.

Anyways, we arrived late and Craig was sooo nice! Gave us tips of what to do... And what regional beer to drink! ;)

Unit was very clean, beds were nice. Rooms were large. Living room an dinning room also large!

It was awesome! I would defintly say there again and recommend it.

Summary: 3 bedroom unit was large, clean, silent. Very good price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooya Beach
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed two nights in lovely, roomy suite with everything we needed. Port Douglas is within walking distance but a bit hot to walk in Summer. A local bus passes right outside the door and comes every 10-15 min. Management is really helpful and has time for a chat and can recommend some nice cafe's and restaurants in Port. We had a great time!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Very good accomodation, Rooms clean & spacious, pool good. well worth staying there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed in a beautiful studio apartment with a very comfy bed, effective air conditioning, spacious kitchen, living areas, and balcony, and best of all, a luxurious free-standing bath. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the distance from Macrossan St, which is the real centre of town. That is a criticism you could level at a great number of Port Douglas resorts, hotels, hostels and apartment blocks, so I recommend checking the map. Port Douglas Rd is the road into town, but Macrossan St is where the shops and restaurants are. I estimate around 2km from the Mediterranean. It really is too far to walk, especially considering the potential for rain in Far North Queensland. I drove into the centre of town for meals and sightseeing, and had no trouble parking, but it did pose an obstruction if I wanted to have a few drinks. There is a bus in an out of town (which I did not take but understand it's $3 each way). Basically, the Mediterranean is a lovely place to stay as long as you're happy to drive into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Absolutely brilliant and outstanding value. These are superb suites with kitchen and not a fully serviced hotel. If you want an hotel the Mediterranean may disappoint but if you don't mind making your own bed please give it a try. Extremely sociable staff. Apartment we had was superbly equipped. Checking-in set the scene for a brilliant 5 days in Port Douglas and surrounding area.

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We originally planned to stay 7 nights, but extended to 10. The Mediterranean was great: Good sized 2 bedroom apartment, private courtyard for outside dining, nice pool area and good value for money. The on site team who manage the property were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flag Suites The Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag Suites The Mediterranean

Address: 9 Port Douglas Rd., Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flag Suites The Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Flag Suites The Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Suites The Mediterranean Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flag Suites The Mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.