We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden delight - great food and lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sublime Restaurant

Sublime Restaurant
Peppers Beach Club | 20 - 22 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden delight - great food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A dinner at Sublime Restaurant during a visit to Port Douglas is a must! The setting overlooking the pool at night is amazing. The pricing was quite reasonable and the quality was excellent, as was the service. Definitely save some room for dessert, the most amazing profiteroles I have ever tasted!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and food, inexperienced staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a beautiful dinner in this lovely sunken restaurant overlooking the Peppers Resort pool last Saturday night. The pork belly salad and duck main were delicious and the service was mostly very good. One of the waitresses, however was clearly a newbie and we cringed at constantly hearing her ask "Can I get youse anything?". She placed the cutlery and the side plates in the wrong position which didn't fit with the class of the restaurant but we'd return and recommend it nonetheless. There's no signage out the front to tell you it's there so one could say it's a hidden gem. Don't hide your light under a bushel, Sublime, more Port Douglas visitors (and Cairns locals like us) need to know about you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent. Staff very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We went for dinner and everything was excellent from the atmosphere to service to the food. Every course was to die for. We walked in off the street to book in casual clothes the day before and the staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. From our experience staff in other 5 star establishments look down their nose at you but not here. I would highly recommend this restaurant

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Experience at Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found this delightful restaurant by accident on the first Monday of our holiday. The menu is limited but there is still something for everyone and the T-Bone steak was not only delicious and perfectly cooked but reasonably priced as well. The atmosphere was relaxing and the staff very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed it so much we dined there more than once and would recommend it to anyone as an ideal restaurant. The unusual poolside positioning of Sublime makes it a special dining occasion also.

The only small issue we had was when ordering a port to finish the evening off - we were told the restaurant had no port glasses and were given our mouthful of port in a wine glass - not quite in keeping with the rest of our dining experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, NSW, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The name matches the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This little gem of a restaurant is hidden within Peppers Resort at Port Douglas. We visited twice during the same week because the food and atmosphere were stand outs and supreme to anything else we found in Port Douglas. Unlike other local restaurants, the food and drink prices were reasonable. The ambience created by the restaurant setting beside the pool is lovely and romantic. The service was efficient without being "full on". The shining star was the perfectly cooked local produce which was extraordinarily good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sublime Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sublime Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sublime Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.