We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive early to enjoy the jaw dropping views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ospreys Port Douglas Restaurant

Ospreys Port Douglas Restaurant
Private Road | Thala Beach Nature Reserve, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4098 5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $41
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Savour the view along the scenic road to Port Douglas even longer by stopping for lunch, dinner or a coffee at Osprey's Restaurant at Thala Beach Nature Reserve. The idyllic eco resort captures the feel of the tropics in its relaxed, open-air Osprey Restaurant where modern tropical cuisine is dished up at affordable prices.Enjoy the spectacular elevated setting overlooking both the Coral Sea and the steep rainforest-clad mountains that hug the coastline to Port Douglas. Let nature take centre stage while you enjoy the likes of coconut-crusted prawns served with a kaffir lime coconut relish and a green papaw Vietnamese mint salad sprinkled with cashew nut brittle.Linger with a coffee in the elegantly casual surrounds to catch up on your emails with the free wifi, ask the friendly staff to identify the birds that share your tree-top position or indulge with sundowners at the end of a leisurely day in the tropics.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Arrive early to enjoy the jaw dropping views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived through the winding jungle driveway, the concierge and waiting staff were courteous, friendly and attentive to everyone in our group of 6 (including two children). Drinks were suggested, needs of children were anticipated, and food was good. Vegetarian options were a little disappointing (linguine with avocado and mandarin didn't work for me), but the standard main and entree dishes were very good and the general consensus was a big thumbs up. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Top food, beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You climb the staircase to the top of the jungle canopy and look out to a magnificent view. The staff were so friendly and professional and the menu made a decision quite difficult.
We chose duck lychee and quinoa broccolini salads to share for an entree between 4 of us. They were outstanding. Next we all had barramundi--2 fried and 2 grilled and each one of us just loved it.
Finally we shared the Macadamia nut meringue and the panacotta with lychee and pandan pearls. What a dreamy experience sitting there above the tree tops sipping Ray's Mai Tais.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“If the veranda bar is any indication.........woo hoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Oh what a feeling! Driving around Port Douglas and environs yesterday, a local took us to his favourite bar - talk about peace and tranquility and the most gorgeous stunning views. We just sat around in the seriously comfy chars and sofas, in the shade in beautiful surrounds gazing on nature at her most magnificent. We also spied a Monitor Lizard attempting to steal some birds eggs. Lovely beers (kosciusko) and immediate stress reduction. Oh yes, I wanted to stay rather than prepare to drive to the airport and back to Brisbane. sigh.

    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
2 reviews
“Views and Service to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I came across this restaurant via a travel mag and booked it for a celebration lunch. Fortunately it did not disappoint in any regard. The staff could not have been more helpful and kind throughout our stay; nothing was any bother to them. The views of the TNQ coast and mountains were superb, both from our table which was right by the window, and from the lounge area where we retired to for coffee. The food was very good although not the best that I have ever had, but overall Ospreys was one of the best restaurants I have visited and well worth a booking if you are in or near Port Douglas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great setting with good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Taking young children out for a celebration lunch can be a pain, but the staff made it as painless as possible. We brought our own cake so we could have had problems but the staff were really helpful. Food was good, we mainly had the twice cooked belly pork or grilled barramundi, followed by decadent puddings of chocolate fondant, the children were served first so that kept them quiet. Bottle of white wine or beers and coffees to finish for 6 adults and two children came to under 500 dollars and represented good value considering the superb setting and professional service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ospreys Port Douglas Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Ospreys Port Douglas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ospreys Port Douglas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.