We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very eco-conscious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise

Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise
Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
(61) 7 4087 2100
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$157*
and up
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very eco-conscious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Dominated by a very "green" loud American marine biologist this tour is not for those who like to swim in the tropical very picturesque "fish tank"of the Outer Reef. It's actually hard work snorkeling straight off the beach being very careful to avoid the mostly dead hard coral which in some places rises above the water. Having said that this was my first experience of seeing several turtles in the wild and close up in a very "natural"" setting only 1 hour from the Port Douglas marina. The boat used its sails going out (although the mnotors were never turned off) and the crew were very friendly. Buffet lunch was all my favorites - lots of seafood, meats and a great potato salad. Not great for underwater photos as the water is cloudy from the large crowd of unskilled snorkellers with long flippers. This was not our first choice as the smaller group tours were all booked out the week we were there (school holidays).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSCruiseService, Manager at Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Firsttimecruiser52
Thanks for travelling on Wavedancer to Low Isles and for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you were able to see turtles in a ‘natural’ setting as they are definitely a highlight of the Low Isles experience. Thanks for your kind words regarding our staff and buffet we certainly appreciate it.
Warm Regards
Rachel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    37
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely day but crowded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The boat, the crew, the food, the view - all magnificent! Unfortunately the snorkelling and beach tours were really crowded and this took away from the overall experience! We regret taking the snorkelling tour now as it was crowded and we couldnt always see the Marine Biologist or what she was showing us. We then almost ran out of time for lunch and the line up waiting for the shuttle boat to go back to the big boat was disorderly, rude and generally unpleasant as everyone jostled for position to ensure they got back for lunch! I don't blame the company entirely for this, people just generally seem rude and selfish these days but a more ordered system would help especially with small children in the pack and such a limited amount of time for lunch! A seperate beach guide would help so there could be two of each tour, splitting the group and making it more beneficial and less jostle which is bad enough on land with a bunch of tourists, add water and there is a potential disaster!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSCruiseService, Manager at Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Wandering_the_gl…
Thanks for your kind words regarding our boat, crew, food and view, which certainly means a lot to us. We are pleased that you were able to travel with Wavedancer to Low Isles and experience the Great Barrier Reef. Thanks for your feedback regarding your experience; we certainly consider all comments received both positive and not so positive.
Warm regards and thanks for travelling with us!
Rachel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great day in shocking weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm not sure the Wavedancer should have been on the water the day we went because the sea was very rough. There were a lot of people vomiting all the way to the Low Isles and I'm sure that spoilt their day. It also meant the water was very cloudy
So it was hard to see much . Having said that, we weren't sick & enjoyed the roller coaster ride. The boat was really well organised, the staff were lovely & the lunch was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSCruiseService, Manager at Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Kwaussie
We were so pleased to learn that you had a great day regardless of the rough conditions. Wavedancer does not go out in conditions that would be considered dangerous but does operate in rough seas in order to provide a service to our guests who do want to travel to the Great Barrier Reef regardless of the weather conditions. Often travellers only have a limited time in the area and do not have the luxury of waiting for the seas to be calm, as this could be anywhere from a couple of days to a couple of weeks!
Thanks for writing a review on Tripadvisor and for travelling with Quicksilver. We do hope that you are able to join us again in the future, hopefully in calmer seas.
Regards
Rachel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This trip was even better than the one we took out to Agincourt Reef, with the same company. The day we went the weather wasn't ideal but it was extremely enjoyable nevertheless. There were only about 25 people aboard which made everything easy. All ran like clockwork, but you still had the freedom to decide what you wanted to do and in what order. On this trip you can snorkel from the beach, which you can't do on the outer reef trips. If you get tired, this is a great bonus. We saw an amazing amount and variety of sea life, including turtles. The resident Marine Biologist, Erica, conducts snorkelling tours and tours around the little island, which has a lighthouse on it. Unlike the Outer Reef cruise, her tours were at no extra cost. The staff were all very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea are all provided. It's a full day or sailing, relaxing, and snorkelling. Worth every cent. Don't forget the sunscreen.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSCruiseService, Manager at Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Intrepid57
Thanks for coming out with us and for taking the time to write a review. We’re thrilled to hear that you had a great day out and appreciate you sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It would be great to welcome you aboard again in the future if you’re ever back in Tropical Far North Queensland.

Regards

Rachel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great Low Isles tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great trip to the Low Isles with helpful and experienced staff who know the reef, fish life and how to look after people feeling seasick extremely well. The island is small but the reef very diverse. The glass bottom boat is not to be missed and even trumps snorkeling. The wavedancer catamaran is clean and modern. The comfort of the trip over, beach experience and snorkeling visibility are fairly dependent on reasonably clear skies and mild wind, but the team do a great job helping guests have a great time

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSCruiseService, Manager at Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi PeteSavvides
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your day out to Low Isles on Wavedancer . At Quicksilver we make it our priority to provide an unforgettable experience rain or shine. Thanks for sharing your experience on Wavedancer with the Tripadvisor community.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you aboard again in the future.

Regards

Rachel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wavedancer Low Isles Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.