We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Four - Port Douglas Holiday Rental Value

Comfortable living area
Comfortable living area
Comfortable living area
Personal 'Meet and Greet' for Guest Arrivals/Departures
Full Kitchen facilities and a Large Refrigerator
Tropical gardens Port Douglas
Master bedroom, queen sized bed
Port Douglas
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurencer...
Corte Madera, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The place isn't fancy but is quite comfortable. A short walk to restaurants & shopping; a short walk to the beach.We parked our car when we arrived and didn't use it again until we left.

We were met at the apartment by Neville, who was quite helpful. There were some snacks and a bottle of champagne awaiting us in the fridge.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JESTGB
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

After 2 early morning flights and a well connected bus we arrived at Castaways to be greeted by our host Julie. She was lovely, had everything well laid out for us and even had a bottle of bubbles and goodies in the fridge for us, which was greatly appreciated. The apt. was well equipped and was neat and tidy. It was in one of the best locations as we could walk everywhere, and it was just 2 blocks from the beach. It was also a surprise that she had free WIFI in the apartment. The pool was a bit shaded by all the trees which really sheltered the place. This is not a 'high' end luxury apartment but a very good value for money place. The bathroom sink could have been just a bit bigger and I agree with someone else who said that wicker furniture is uncomfortable,not that we sat in it too long.It was an excellent place to stay for a week to use as a base to see the Port Douglas area and not 'break' the bank.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: wicker furniture
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JDub78
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome location and time in PD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

My friend and i stayed here for 7 nights and it was the best decision! The appt is situated in a quiet block 5mins walk to the beach or main shops, so a great location, with a car port too.

Julie the owner was very helpful and welcoming, and it felt like a home away from home. the only downside was the lounge area is not made for slouching down in as they are wicker seats. But really that was so minor as we spent nearly all our time out.

The bathroom was clean with plenty of space.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Fluffymic...
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and my sister stayed there for 7 nights. We loved it there. Two bedrooms. Julie, our host made us feel welcome. Lots of food in the fridge, The apartment was only 2 mins walk to the beach and town centre. Quiet place, with lots of privacy. Will definitely stay there again. And oh, it was great value too.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Value and location
Liked least: None that I can mention
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
201Holida...
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Castaways is a great little 2 bedroom unit in a block of only 8 right in the central district of Port Douglas. All the attractions Port Douglas has to offer - 4 Mile Beach, shops, restaurants, marina and Sunday market - are all only a 5-10 minute walk away. Great for a couple wishing to holiday without young children and at a very affordable price. All the amenities listed were there and worked, including wifi. Julie, the owner ensures that this unit is clean and well presented and even includes some extra surprises for you in the fridge for when you arrive.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MimTam
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fully Equipped apartment only 2 minutes walk to beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

The apartment is well located & furnished with style. Little extras in fridge a nice surprise for guest that have travelled from afar. Highly recommended. Will stay there again on my next visit.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
exploramo...
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Had a great stay here with my younger son. Julie was such a good host she provided all the things you need while away. Scented candles , fresh milk in the fridge, oil in the cupboard. It is the small things that help while you are away. Didn't need to hire a car as it is close to the beach, restaurants and the shops. Quite a comfy place. Well stocked kitchen. It helped to have the internet at home so I could check my emails. Good value.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$107
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Julie
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing