We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - a must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skysafari

Skysafari
Captain Cook Highway, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
0740993666
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skysafari is a Personalised Air Touring business designed for you by people passionate about serving you. Our reputation is gratefully reflected by our Mission Statement “To ensure a tour of a lifetime, EVERYTIME!”Our team enjoy the greatest job in the world – while indulging in Tropical North Queensland’s Reef, Rainforest & Outback; undeniably the most contrasting of all environments in Australia & all within your choice of Skysafari. We proudly maintain a 100% incident free safety record. Throughout your experience, you’re served by people who care about you & exceeding your expectations in every detail. With vast local knowledge & a range of incredible locations & activities to offer, talk to us & allow us to put it together for you. Live it, love it, fly it!
Melbourne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience - a must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only booked a half hour flight over the Low Isles and nearby waterfalls as we had a three year old with us, and weren't sure how he'd go in a helicopter. The experience is first rate, excellent visibility through the front and sides, they were very accommodating to kids. Would definitiely go back - Next time we'll book a longer trip though!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from Port Douglas for the second time. We have done a lot of different day trips including the obligatory day-trip to the reef to snorkel. This time instead, we decided to get a 'birds-eye view' and booked a 60 minute scenic flight over the rainforest and reef.
Our pilot, Ryan was wonderful! I cannot speak more highly of him. I don't like flying and was really nervous about going up in a helicopter. Ryan kept checking in on me throughout the whole flight to make sure I was ok.
While not something everyone may be able to afford, it is certainly a great experience if you can! We saw all sorts of marine life while flying over the reef and Ryan gave us interesting commentary about the sights as we flew past.
An amazing and memorable experience!!
Next time, we visit, we plan to do a flight to a sandy cay and spend a bit more time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helicopter Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

During our recent holiday in Port Douglas my Son and I decided on a SkySafari flight out over the Low Isles and Batt Reef. Our arrival at the SkySafari office met us with a very friendly greeting by our Pilot who, after a brief friendly chat, took us out to the helicopter for our safety talk and then off we went out over the waters of the Great Barrier Reef towards the Low Isles. Our Pilot gave us very interesting and informative commentary about the area all the way. We then headed out to the Batt Reef and hovered over the reef at 500 feet which enabled us to see lots of different marine life, once again receiving very interesting and informative commentary from our Pilot. If anyone wants a different perspective of the Great Barrier Reef I can highly recommend considering SkySafari Helicopter flights, it is well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute must do Port Douglas experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have enjoyed the Sky Safari helicopters on a few different tours. Every time in all directions provides the most spectacular sights and access to the most remote area's from a sand cay on the Great Barrier Reef to the hidden gems found in the Daintree Rainforest. Places no other tours can access including romantic stops, with landings in places you never would expect to see. As owners of Dreamcatcher Beach-side Apartments in Port Douglas we recommend this tour to all our guests. Everything you read from other guests reviews is absolutely spot on and correct in every way and we can never recommend them enough for the experiences they provide. A once in a lifetime opportunity to see the wonders and marvels that nature in Tropical North Queensland has to offer and a fantastic way to learn an appreciation for the beauty our planet can offer when unspoilt by the "progress" of the human race.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I treated myself and Mum, visiting from China, to the 45 minute Reef and Rainforest flight. What an amazing trip - the reef was stunning, saw loads of turtles, a stingray and even a pod of dolphins. The views over the rainforest are breathtaking and a wonderful way to see it after having been walking through it a few days before! The pilot was a wealth of information and really looked after us. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skysafari also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Skysafari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skysafari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.