We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fettucini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sassi

Sassi
4 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
07 4099 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Fettucini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First time here, our waiter was fantastic, food sensational. Pricey but worth every cent we paid. My Fettucini was the best I have ever tried. We walked in early but suggest you book. Seating outside was perfect. Loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    73
    28
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went here after we couldn't get a table at Salsa (which is always great) and had heard this was a fabulous venue.... We weren't disappointed! The service was professional and friendly, the meals were all divine (there were four of us, I had the slow cooked goat, another the seafood pasta and the other 2 steak - all cooked to perfection) and the setting outside had a real holiday feel. The wine was also great and as everything was so good we had dessert too. Home made ice cream with cream brulee topped an impeccable experience. The only downer was I decided to have an espresso at the end (as I had to drive back to Cairns and was feeling a little tired after a large meal) as it was undrinkable. No crema and stale but so many restaurants take great care with everything but ignore the coffee. Still, I would not hesitate in recommending this Sassi's to anyone (just don't have a coffee...) provided you didn't have a budget - it wasn't cheap but worth every cent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stopped off for a lovely lunch with my Mum who was visiting from Scotland. Food superb and fantastic service. Lovely young waiter from New Zealand.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Place Worth a Visit for a Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first time at Sassi and we enjoyed our lunch so much that in our 10 day stay we ate 3 lunches at this restaurant. The meals were light and very tasty. The seafood pasta had more seafood than pasta which was a welcome change. The prawn, avocado and papaya salad was delicious. Pricing is a little on the higher side but then the meal was in-line with the pricing. They don't open until 11 - 11:30 so an early morning coffee is not an option. If you don't want to eat there they do have a bar and a bar menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went in a group of 4. Service unexceptional .harsh female maître de . Food portions small and relatively expensive . Not a joyful experience .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassi also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sassi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.