We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sassi

Sassi
4 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
07 4099 6744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our party of 4 consisted of 2 grown up daughters and my husband and I . We had an indoor table.
We were treated by a friendly Italan waiter who explained the menu very well and pointed out the popular items on the menu and also his own personal fAvourites. He was also very helpful with the wine list and we ended up having the most beautiful Italian souave. The meals came in a timely manner and were all delicious. My oysters sassi were a delightful mix of fresh flavours with the added excitement of the texture of salmon roe. For main I had the tagliatelle Nero with prawns. It was delicious and was a superb quality home made pasta cooked and seasoned to perfection. Desserts were shared around between us and the winner was the chocolate pudding although none were a disappointment. We lingered over the last of our wine and did not feel pushed to leave. Italians really know how to do food, friends and family. Loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    83
    31
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Balgowlah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Were disappointed with the meal quality as well as the manner of presentation (ie: wine service; the waiter/manager would probably be more suited to a construction site. After pouring the wine he deftly wiped off the spout of the bottle with his sweaty forearm).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bday meal, my partner and I ordered the seafood platter. This was just amazing, vast choice of seafood and excellent quality. Beautiful wine and a cocktail to begin the evening. Perfect table and the night was ended with a bday dessert from the chef. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fabulous food, fabulous location Tony Sassi has an exceptional gift to excellent cuisine. Went back for bar snacks the next day, the home made fennel sausage served from the pan ignited with flaming
Sambuca is not only a fabulous photo opportunity but a taste sensation. It is a must when visiting Port Douglas

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Dreadful meal. Slow service. Tasteless meal. Never again. The salad was so salty, the pasta was soggy & tasteless. On the upside, the meatballs were great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di S, Owner at Sassi, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
The pasta you ordered was hand made fettuccine with spanner crab and oyster mushrooms.
The pasta, which you described to the waiter as 'overcooked', is hand made and delicate to accompany the delicate ingredients. It cannot be cooked 'al dente' as it is not a 'hard' pasta. Any less cooking and you would be eating uncooked pasta dough. The ingredients do have delicate flavour enhanced by basil and lemon zest and seasoning. It would be inappropriate to add robust flavours to every dish on the menu. There are other pasta dishes with much stronger flavours. Nor were the crab or oyster mushrooms overcooked or 'soggy' as they are cooked very quickly in the pan to order.

It is misleading to confuse personal taste with bad cooking. However, as this dish was not to your personal liking, you were not charged for it. Nor were you charged for the salad which you describe as 'salty'. Both the Head chef and Cold Larder chef disagreed - but then again it gets down to personal taste.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal but there are better ways to have your night turn out a happy one. Complaints presented politely will always get a good response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassi also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sassi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.