We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Told this was a must have!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mocka's Pies

Mocka's Pies
Shop 34 | 9 Grant Street, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Re-opening of an iconic Port Douglas pie shop which closed for some years recently. Was possibly the best known pie shop in Australia due to the unique meat pie filling recipe. Now re-opened by Nigel Quinn using the original and still secret pie filling recipe formulated by Mocka Cheyne and his mother Belle Cheyne. Phone Nigel for more history on 617 4099 5295 or email on nigel_66@bigpond.com
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Told this was a must have!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was instructed to have one of these 'fantastic pies' when in PD - so I did. They are a good pie and I thoroughly enjoyed my green curry and crocodile laksa but ran out of time to have the good old fashioned meat pie. Dont go expecting an amazing venue or decor, its outdoor seating with a bakery feel. You must have one to just say that you had a Mocka's pie from PD!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    68
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Still Very tasty pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My father recommended these pies from 25 years ago....they are still good. They have an amazing pie selection, with tastes such as, crocodile laksa, Kangaroo meat, chicken, fish, vegetarian! They also have a great pastry range. The pies tasted great and were worth the price, although I wouldn't say they are expensive, as I've tasted more expensive pies in capital cities that didn't match up for taste. Also watch out for the crowd, as it's a small store and it fills up really quickly, with a line outside indicating the shop's popularity.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Was expecting great things from this place after it having being recommended to us and the number of awards on the wall but unfortunately have to admit to being disappointed. The cakes looked lovely but we didn't sample them because we'd been hanging out for a pie. While the pastry was lovely the actual pie filling was sloppy and nothing to write home about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Pies and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The pies here are okay as is the service. This place probably survives as, like me, people get sick of high end restaurant food whilst on holiday and head there for some everyday grub ;)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but not THAT good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a supreme pie from there whilst on holidays. Pie was good but not the best I've had, a lot of gelatine or something in there. Kinda though it'd be better. Kiwi's do the best pies tho. Good old chunky steak and cheese is the best.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mocka's Pies also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Mocka's Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mocka's Pies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.