We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All 4 meals were average ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of bel cibo

bel cibo
30 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4099 6330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All 4 meals were average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This restaurant looks good from the street and I had been waiting for my family to visit for an excuse to go there. When we finally did it was very average. We each got a different meal and no one was thrilled with what they got. I got a pizza which was very thin and soggy. I had to roll up each piece so that I could eat it as it wouldn't hold its form and was uncutable. My dad got veal and my partner the snapper. Both were very small portions and expensive. Won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    186
    51
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice ambience, good service, imaginative food served in realistic portions. A little more expensive than other eateries in town but worth the extra cost

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very nice. Just the two of us and we were greeted warmly even though we hadn't booked. Main servings were enormous and if we went again we would probably share. The sandcrab linguine would have fed both of us easily and it was exceptional.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better choices out there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Food was nothing special. Atmosphere was mall-like and the lighting was bad (LED harsh lighting). Service was mediocre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went to this restaurant with a large group of people recently. The waitress we had was fairly uninterested and when we asked for "a mixture of the breads for everyone at the table" we had to do the Maths and spell it out for her. The meals were average considering they're the same price as the nicer restaurants in town. The bruschetta had a stack of cheese on it which ruined it. Pasta was very rich and salty. A friends prawns were so overcooked you actually had to use a knife to saw them in half. Waiters didn't keep our waters topped up either (no bottles on the table to do ourselves). Atmosphere was nice but if you hate the heat and want to sit inside just be aware this is an open restaurant (as are lots in PD). It was a fun night but the quality of service and food didn't justify the prices unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bel cibo also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to bel cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bel cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.