We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood dinner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of bel cibo

bel cibo
30 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4099 6330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great seafood dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived around 8:30 for dinner last night, desperately seeking air-conditioned escape from the humidity. This was our 2nd attempt (we wanted Italian) and it looked like we were out of luck. However, the staff very quickly offered us a table on the balcony directly under fans and brought chilled water straight away, making us feel not too demanding and very welcome. Maybe because it was later and not that busy but we had excellent service. Timing of meals and drinks and the bill was just right. We had very nicely-cooked king prawns in a delicious lemony-garlic sauce, and linguini with mussels, fish, clams and calamari. All seafood seemed very fresh and local. The drinks list was great - cocktails and nice wines by the glass. And the tiramisu with unreal dark chocolate gelato was delish! A quality restaurant and good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    186
    51
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Italian north of Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was recommended, and we ended up there 4 nights out ofthe week, great everything! Best Pizzas in Port!
Good staff, no trouble egetting a table, great ambience, and a front table over the street is faboulous.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“excellent food & great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

my partner and i recently ate at this restaurant and were very happy the pasta with duck was good and my other half had moreton bay bug risotto which she loved. a couple nights later we had pizzas also great the staff were very friendly but a couple of times it took a fair while to get a drink or the bill that would be my only complaint with bel cibo.. would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food and the flavors of the meals were Excellent ! Unfortunately the service at this restaurant was very poor !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite meal in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just happened to stop in Bel Cibo for dinner our first night in Port Douglas. I have to eat Gluten Free so I am very skeptical about Italian restaurants. I ordered the gluten free chicken dish and It was absolutely delicious. It was so good we returned to the restaurant again before we returned home (US). My husband ordered the fish and It was great also. They also have a very good wine list, the friendly staff and service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bel cibo also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to bel cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bel cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.